Jasonjst 3rd Gear June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 Hi all , Will you consider retiring in JB even though it is not as safe ? Regards ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Horsee Clutched June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 No country is free from Crime. It depends on how adaptive and caution one can be. For me, the std of living in Sing is ever increasing. To retire comfortably but not far from home, the choice is clear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 Nothing is as comfortable as home, but when the going get tough, have to adapt and change. If JB deveplop well, may not be a bad idea, only afraid the policy always change and criminal target old folks from Singland. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 On 6/7/2010 at 2:07 PM, GoodCar said: Nothing is as comfortable as home, but when the going get tough, have to adapt and change. If JB deveplop well, may not be a bad idea, only afraid the policy always change and criminal target old folks from Singland. the key to live in JB...stay super low profile.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dicktamby Neutral Newbie June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 Have been working in JB for over a year now and staying in a rented terrace house in Kulai. So far things are going well and have not encounted any unfortunate incidents.Am seriously getting a house in horizon hills next year. So for me wont wait for retirement age to come. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ichibawa 5th Gear June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 Malaysia rumoured to go bankrupt in 2019 if things still doesn't change/improve. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 i do hear people commenting that, after retirement; migrate to somewhere else. but think hard. places like Europe countries will incur higher medical fees. places like our neighbouring countries, what do you think of their medical advancement today as compared to SG? when you retired, you already aged. so what do you need thereafter? come to think of it, it will be wiser to migrate while you are young and not the other way round. just my view point.~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 On 6/7/2010 at 2:45 PM, Ichibawa said: Malaysia rumoured to go bankrupt in 2019 if things still doesn't change/improve. They wanted to be a developed country by 2020 right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 What goes up must come down. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ichibawa 5th Gear June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 On 6/7/2010 at 2:54 PM, Ladykillerz said: i do hear people commenting that, after retirement; migrate to somewhere else. but think hard. places like Europe countries will incur higher medical fees. places like our neighbouring countries, what do you think of their medical advancement today as compared to SG? when you retired, you already aged. so what do you need thereafter? come to think of it, it will be wiser to migrate while you are young and not the other way round. just my view point.~ Its not as easy as you think unless you have tens of million of dollars at your disposal. Otherwise if age catch up you won't be able to migrate. Aussie will not accept anyone who is 40 years or above as a skilled migrant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeleburacer Neutral Newbie June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 It happaned couple of month back in KL Subang Saujana area condominium, a resident was kidnapped by a fake uniform police in the morning when he fetching his car at the carpark. He was brought to ATM to withdrawn cash, seriuoly puched by kidnapper and car was taken eventually. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear June 7, 2010 Author Share June 7, 2010 On 6/7/2010 at 2:54 PM, Ladykillerz said: i do hear people commenting that, after retirement; migrate to somewhere else. but think hard. places like Europe countries will incur higher medical fees. places like our neighbouring countries, what do you think of their medical advancement today as compared to SG? when you retired, you already aged. so what do you need thereafter? come to think of it, it will be wiser to migrate while you are young and not the other way round. just my view point.~ The good thing is JB is only an hour from SG , we can always seek medical needs in SG right ? Retiring in JB mean you can be back in SG quite often as needed to be with friends , children , relative. My idea is working in SG and save enough , maybe you can retire at 50 or 55 in JB ? or You would perfer to work until maybe 65 or 75 in SG ? Off cause , I am talking about the middle class people, where you got not enough money to retire in Australia , European country . Old folks in SG needs maybe $2000/= a mth to survive. Assuming you retire at 55 , and die at 75 , you need at least $ 500,000 /= . If you factor in inflation and medical , maybe you need 800K ? Can an average person save that amount ? Maybe to TT Durian , it is peanut. Hence retiring in SG is just a dream for most , as I see lot of people just Korr off before they even retire , some even before reaching 60s ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear June 8, 2010 Share June 8, 2010 how can you think of retiring when our MM is still so active? leading by example.. we have to work till 112 yrs... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear June 8, 2010 Share June 8, 2010 On 6/8/2010 at 12:30 AM, Chrispie said: how can you think of retiring when our MM is still so active? leading by example.. we have to work till 112 yrs... Active so what? Kenna voted out whole team 'super active' also moot point. Sinkies are dud...so say someone. ...can't agree more.....why need to go round circles to find places better than your own to retire.....start anew...vote them out...then your standard of living will definitely drop! Isn't that what ppl here want? Or you are unsure ar? Then don't talk cxck and post such rubbish lah...stay...be contended...face your rising cost with courage...so say someone...again! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chewbacca 1st Gear June 8, 2010 Share June 8, 2010 On 6/7/2010 at 11:28 PM, Jasonjst said: The good thing is JB is only an hour from SG , we can always seek medical needs in SG right ? Retiring in JB mean you can be back in SG quite often as needed to be with friends , children , relative. My idea is working in SG and save enough , maybe you can retire at 50 or 55 in JB ? or You would perfer to work until maybe 65 or 75 in SG ? Off cause , I am talking about the middle class people, where you got not enough money to retire in Australia , European country . Old folks in SG needs maybe $2000/= a mth to survive. Assuming you retire at 55 , and die at 75 , you need at least $ 500,000 /= . If you factor in inflation and medical , maybe you need 800K ? Can an average person save that amount ? Maybe to TT Durian , it is peanut. Hence retiring in SG is just a dream for most , as I see lot of people just Korr off before they even retire , some even before reaching 60s ! Do you guys really need $2K a month? And only to survive? What do you need so much for? I mean, I'm going to guess that you're debt free at this point in time. So....what do you use this for? I mean, when you retire, you really need to change your lifestyle, anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear June 8, 2010 Author Share June 8, 2010 On 6/8/2010 at 1:34 AM, Chewbacca said: Do you guys really need $2K a month? And only to survive? What do you need so much for? I mean, I'm going to guess that you're debt free at this point in time. So....what do you use this for? I mean, when you retire, you really need to change your lifestyle, anyway. Hmm ... 2k is on the safe side , what happen if you kena stay at old folk home or nursing home , cost around $1500/= at currently rate . 10 - 20 year from now , maybe should be 3k leh ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear June 8, 2010 Author Share June 8, 2010 On 6/8/2010 at 1:22 AM, Gearoil said: Active so what? Kenna voted out whole team 'super active' also moot point. Sinkies are dud...so say someone. ...can't agree more.....why need to go round circles to find places better than your own to retire.....start anew...vote them out...then your standard of living will definitely drop! Isn't that what ppl here want? Or you are unsure ar? Then don't talk cxck and post such rubbish lah...stay...be contended...face your rising cost with courage...so say someone...again! My estate always walk-over leh , how to vote . Before they are out , i am in the next world lao ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrlau Clutched June 8, 2010 Share June 8, 2010 On 6/8/2010 at 1:34 AM, Chewbacca said: Do you guys really need $2K a month? And only to survive? What do you need so much for? I mean, I'm going to guess that you're debt free at this point in time. So....what do you use this for? I mean, when you retire, you really need to change your lifestyle, anyway. What change lifestyle ? No car better die... $1500-$2000 to maintain a car, so $2000 confirm not enough..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...