New 318i - Not too bad ?

Hungee

On 6/7/2010 at 1:25 PM, Maroon5 said:

haha now wheres my young scientist badge?? [laugh]

eh.. how come my time don't have?

even Russell in Up! is going around looking to add a new badge..

On 6/7/2010 at 2:33 PM, Ikennyg said:

Elviskoh is right. The new 318i is underpower. My friend have brought the 318i last year and regard too. Can't even catch up with suzuki swift 1.6 according to him. He said his previous old E46 318i ride is rated 149bhp and response is better than the currently model. The last batch of e46 318i ended at the end of feb 05 and the new 3 series E90 is launch from year 05 till now. But still using the same N46 valvetronics engine from E46.Just that the ecu is tune to lower hosepower to have a better fuel comsumption.The old bimmer is more lasting than the new model due to made in germany. Now some series is made in south africa and China which cater for asia market.

As for audi my personnal view is the car too overprice.

must see the omv before can say overprice. but audi made in germany?

On 6/7/2010 at 2:33 PM, Ikennyg said:

Elviskoh is right. The new 318i is underpower. My friend have brought the 318i last year and regard too. Can't even catch up with suzuki swift 1.6 according to him. He said his previous old E46 318i ride is rated 149bhp and response is better than the currently model. The last batch of e46 318i ended at the end of feb 05 and the new 3 series E90 is launch from year 05 till now. But still using the same N46 valvetronics engine from E46.Just that the ecu is tune to lower hosepower to have a better fuel comsumption.The old bimmer is more lasting than the new model due to made in germany. Now some series is made in south africa and China which cater for asia market.

As for audi my personnal view is the car too overprice.

E90 are made in South Africa except 318 made in Munich (as the only mkt in Asia).

On 6/7/2010 at 8:05 AM, Felipe said:

my pet peeve would be performance. lower powered engine is quite difficult to accept at this price. is the a4 1.8T price similar? if then, i think that's a better deal compared to 318

haha my fren feels even if the 318 were to be able to match A4 or C180 in terms of performance but still there is no electric seats and no auto aircon, he won't buy also. in his words, he say it feels very cheapskate to buy a luxury car without such standard features..I long time never follow the price of the luxury market..not too sure what is the price difference between the A4 1.8T and the 318....if I'm not wrong, the A4 should be at least 10k more expensive than the 318. but still more worth it imo to pay if it is higher by about 10k...

On 6/7/2010 at 3:41 PM, Ladykillerz said:

my opinion, not worth it unless you are a badge whore.

furthermore, 318i is a detuned 2L engine. >_<;;;

for a 3-series, i will go for 323i.

For 2.5L block, i would only consider 325.

On 6/7/2010 at 3:46 PM, Davidtch said:

For 2.5L block, i would only consider 325.

I'm sure there will be people coming in to up it by taking about 330 or 335.. m3 anyone?

On 6/7/2010 at 3:49 PM, Sony said:

I'm sure there will be people coming in to up it by taking about 330 or 335.. m3 anyone?

That's different league lah. 2.5L block definitely 325. 3L block definitely 335. 4L block definitely 4.4L turbo on X5/X6 ///M [laugh]

On 6/7/2010 at 4:06 PM, Davidtch said:

That's different league lah. 2.5L block definitely 325. 3L block definitely 335. 4L block definitely 4.4L turbo on X5/X6 ///M [laugh]

that's the key wordL different league

people looking at 318 will not look at A4 or C class, otherwise, they would have gotten the 320 which cost 12-15k difference...

On 6/7/2010 at 4:23 PM, Sony said:

people looking at 318 will not look at A4 or C class, otherwise, they would have gotten the 320 which cost 12-15k difference...

From price point, u r rite.

From petrol head point, nothing less than 320. It is nvr how fast u can drive. It is how fast u can reach legal speed.

diao....

you accelerate fast just to reach legal speeds???

what's the fun of driving liddat???

just drive appropriately in the given conditions lah....

in Singapore, don't bother chionging....take the easy and relax way out....

but on NS highway, don't be a kuku and stick to the 110kph speed limit lah....

can pia abit....don't worry....

but don't forget to buy radar speed traps detectors....then can detect hidden speed traps, then you slow down, the polis there can't catch you lor....

haha....

On 6/7/2010 at 3:37 PM, Davidtch said:

E90 are made in South Africa except 318 made in Munich (as the only mkt in Asia).

huh??? are you sure all the 3-Series we have here are made in South Africa???

i thought only the 318i and 320i....

cos they have totally different engines from the Euro models....

our 318i has 136bhp and 320i 156bhp....

but those in the European countries are getting 145bhp for the 318i and 170bhp for the 320i....

the rest of the models have the same output though....

On 6/7/2010 at 4:23 PM, Sony said:

i agree with you on this one....

people who look at 318i are those who want a car to start off their BMW dream....

affordable and good car to start with....

frankly, these people just want the badge....

good place to start with a brand-new BMW lah....

On 6/7/2010 at 3:41 PM, Damienic said:

haha my fren feels even if the 318 were to be able to match A4 or C180 in terms of performance but still there is no electric seats and no auto aircon, he won't buy also. in his words, he say it feels very cheapskate to buy a luxury car without such standard features..I long time never follow the price of the luxury market..not too sure what is the price difference between the A4 1.8T and the 318....if I'm not wrong, the A4 should be at least 10k more expensive than the 318. but still more worth it imo to pay if it is higher by about 10k...

the 318i now nett price is around $126k

Audi A4 1.8TSI nett is $150k....

difference of a whopping $24k leh....

i don't think 318i buyers would want to spend such needless money, for they can already get a brand-new (though basic spec) BMW....

BMW 318i good enough for them to kick-start their BMW ownership....

Cheers!!!

  On 6/7/2010 at 12:23 PM, Icyfreakass said:

Mmm. Who says IS250 got no memory seats? Even have aircon and heated seats. On luxury though.

Basic version doesn't. However it does have driver/front passenger seat cooler (fan in the seats). Luxury version has xenon lights/memory seats, but was told not existing stock, must indent, which takes 3 months.

even the Teana 250XV have cooling seats in the front, with the front passenger having a reclining legrest leh....

that's what i call a luxury car,

a pity though, because the Teana has lesser rear legroom compared to the i45...

hmmm....

is it really difficult to put rear legrest in luxury cars???

  On 6/7/2010 at 10:30 PM, Ferraricalifornia said:

the 318i now nett price is around $126k

Audi A4 1.8TSI nett is $150k....

difference of a whopping $24k leh....

i don't think 318i buyers would want to spend such needless money, for they can already get a brand-new (though basic spec) BMW....

BMW 318i good enough for them to kick-start their BMW ownership....

Cheers!!!

I was offered $130,800 leh. How to get $126k ? For regulars only ? Or vary from SE to SE ? We were initially assigned a lady SE, but she snob all they way when friend tested the 523. So I changed SE when I wanna view/test the 318i [:p]

around that price lah....ok, take it at $130k....

even so, it's still $20k cheaper than the A4 1.8TSI 7CVT (Multitronic)....

brand new 3-Series for $130k leh....

very tempting....

but if it were me, i'd get a 2nd hand 325i....