New 318i - Not too bad ?

Hungee

just curious...have u even driven a 335 before?

if he drove FD2R, the only logical upgrade is 335i. i cannot see why he went for 318i... i know if i were him, i cannot bring myself to drive a 318 after FD2R.. i'd rather take taxi...

530d can keep up with pagani zonda???

round track or drag?

on the highway...and yes its a open and clear highway...

if he drove FD2R, the only logical upgrade is 335i. i cannot see why he went for 318i... i know if i were him, i cannot bring myself to drive a 318 after FD2R.. i'd rather take taxi...

He already says that he is a badge whore. Ppl look up to him for driving 318. I thought of telling to buy 116. Cheaper & brand new. Also got blue propeller in front & back.

luckily merc stopped using the "kompressor" name... otherwise people really think it is made in malaysia [laugh] english = compressor. bahasa melayu = kompressor [laugh]

kompressor is german for supercharger... any car buff should know [laugh]

I do see sour grape people in this society.

I fully agree that BMW buyers are badge whores and i proud to say i'm one of it and was the lowest grade ; a second hand 318 :)

For a start, I can say that everybody have dreams and goals in their lifes. Working towards it and rewards will come naturally......

I ditched my 2 yr old FD2R (my dream car since I'm 18) for a used BMW for that reason. Not for the power and speed (220 bhp vs 138 Bhp) but for image and status. Let's all face it that if you drive up a BMW against other japan or korea make car to a non-car novice, you will expect different kind of reactions from them. So what if you are drving an high end Accord, Carmy or Tenna that have double the horse power and luxury equipments? Layman term is, people will still say you are driving a japanese car only.

Be it a 318, 320, 323, 325 or 335, people will still say "wow that a BMW" and not "wow that a BMW 3** with ***BHP and top speed of 2**km/h". Do the Valet care to park according to car model ? maybe apart from 335 i guess. Let's not lie to ourself that in this practical Singapore where almost all the people are chasing their dreams, their 5Cs or even looking to upgrade their lifestyle, we can never run away for brands assocated with it. If not why is Brand worths a million dollar tag?

Perhaps for me, I came to realise that the objective of making the switch lie in the facts that in Singapore, there is no point getting higher end models as you might reach the destination 5 sec earlier that me (if you drive 335), paying more premium upfront and losing more later for higher models and those chicks on the streets do not know you are driving a BMW with rear aircon; yes, people surfing the forum will know only. For me,mostly importantly, is that I'm are driving a BMW. (The self shiokness that only driver can feel)

To end all these arguments, perhaps the TS can do a survey on the men on the street on their choices if they had a choice. A BMW 318 or a 3.5 Accord or a 3.5 Terna. It's better then posting here and get bash upside down ? [:p]

Let's hope that forummers will not keep bashing people who drive a low entry BMW cars like me. "We are all given a choice and let's respect that"

PS: I'm speaking of my thoughs and not aim at pointing anyone's reply.

I am TS :) and I fully agreed with your words about wanting to upgrade to that status ... Reason for my post is after testing the 318i, surprised to see there is sunroof & side mirror can fold. So it may not be as bad, though my views are shallow & own opinion. Here trying to say for $130K, one can get a 318i that has some features (like sunroof & memory seats) but losing others (detuned engine, rear a/c etc).

Some people rather pay full for a 1.6L Jap cars, while others take loan for a better car. To each of it's own. All cars are supposingly good to begin with not until AD inflat the price and when compared with others. Eg. for abt the same price, a Passat is within reached. But again some may say VW in Europe is like Toyota in Asia only blar blar blar ... no end to comparison, but perhap also injected more fun in discussing which good/bad/worse/etc ...

Edited by Hungee

I am TS :) and I fully agreed with your words about wanting to upgrade to that status ... Reason for my post is after testing the 318i, surprised to see there is sunroof & side mirror can fold. So it may not be as bad, though my views are shallow & own opinion. Here trying to say for $130K, one can get a 318i that has some features (like sunroof & memory seats) but losing others (detuned engine, rear a/c etc).

Some people rather pay full for a 1.6L Jap cars, while others take loan for a better car. To each of it's own. All cars are supposingly good to begin with not until AD inflat the price and when compared with others. Eg. for abt the same price, a Passat is within reached. But again some may say VW in Europe is like Toyota in Asia only blar blar blar ... no end to comparison, but perhap also injected more fun in discussing which good/bad/worse/etc ...

As long as u r happy. Can lor. But hor, don't later come back & ask:

1. Why the car feel laggy?

Ans: Because it is detuned 2L

2. Why FC so high?

Ans: Because of Runflat & detuned 2L

3. What mod to increase pwr?

Ans: Nothing. For butt feel, change to lighter rim & throw away Runflat.

4. Cannot throwaway runflat. Puncture how?

Ans: Call AAS or tow truck operator

2. Why FC so high?

Run-flat tyres increase FC ? I din know that :)

Yes...

The 5 series Malaysian model are being assembled in Malaysia....

Its semi-CKD where almost everything has been built but left some minor parts which just need to assemble only.

Malaysia has this because this is to avoid too hefty taxes( not saying NO Tax).....

As a result, the cars are being sold at a lower price.

These cars are not meant for export but mainly for domestic market.

Just like domestic market models for China.

Edited by Mike1234

Yes...

The 5 series Malaysian model are being assembled in Malaysia....

Its semi-CKD where almost everything has been built but left some minor parts which just need to assemble only.

Malaysia has this because this is to avoid too hefty taxes( not saying NO Tax).....

As a result, the cars are being sold at a lower price.

These cars are not meant for export but mainly for domestic market.

Just like domestic market models for China.

I know about SKD lah. Only the young kid keep on asking the same question. Check out the following link:

Visit My Website

2. Why FC so high?

not forgetting this QN...

5. why my roadtax is the same as 2L?

ans: cos its a detuned 2L [:p]

I do see sour grape people in this society.

I fully agree that BMW buyers are badge whores and i proud to say i'm one of it and was the lowest grade ; a second hand 318 :)

For a start, I can say that everybody have dreams and goals in their lifes. Working towards it and rewards will come naturally......

I ditched my 2 yr old FD2R (my dream car since I'm 18) for a used BMW for that reason. Not for the power and speed (220 bhp vs 138 Bhp) but for image and status. Let's all face it that if you drive up a BMW against other japan or korea make car to a non-car novice, you will expect different kind of reactions from them. So what if you are drving an high end Accord, Carmy or Tenna that have double the horse power and luxury equipments? Layman term is, people will still say you are driving a japanese car only.

Be it a 318, 320, 323, 325 or 335, people will still say "wow that a BMW" and not "wow that a BMW 3** with ***BHP and top speed of 2**km/h". Do the Valet care to park according to car model ? maybe apart from 335 i guess. Let's not lie to ourself that in this practical Singapore where almost all the people are chasing their dreams, their 5Cs or even looking to upgrade their lifestyle, we can never run away for brands assocated with it. If not why is Brand worths a million dollar tag?

Perhaps for me, I came to realise that the objective of making the switch lie in the facts that in Singapore, there is no point getting higher end models as you might reach the destination 5 sec earlier that me (if you drive 335), paying more premium upfront and losing more later for higher models and those chicks on the streets do not know you are driving a BMW with rear aircon; yes, people surfing the forum will know only. For me,mostly importantly, is that I'm are driving a BMW. (The self shiokness that only driver can feel)

To end all these arguments, perhaps the TS can do a survey on the men on the street on their choices if they had a choice. A BMW 318 or a 3.5 Accord or a 3.5 Terna. It's better then posting here and get bash upside down ? [:p]

Let's hope that forummers will not keep bashing people who drive a low entry BMW cars like me. "We are all given a choice and let's respect that"

PS: I'm speaking of my thoughs and not aim at pointing anyone's reply.

shallow hal....

BMW don't make commercials like that anymore (ala The Hire Series anyone?).

Wait... they don't make cars like that anymore either.

Sighz.