Hungee Neutral Newbie June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 Hi All, I know there has been a long thread that talks about if 318i is worth its price tag. Yesterday checked the car, was surprised to find some features were included as standard. Price - $130,800 OMV - $27,000 to $30,000 BHP - 130+ (?) Have: 1. Sunroof (IS250 & C180 don't have) 2. Elec folding side mirror (was surprised to see them fold when I accidentally pressed a button. To conform again, I pressed the 2nd time ) 3. Elec adjusting driver/passenger seats with driver memory seats (IS250 & C180 dun have memory seat) 4. Portable Garmin GPS (docked at dash, not integrated) 5. Keyless entry & press-start feature (is that standard for all BMW?) Don't Have (vs 320i): 1. Rear a/c - it's the only lux car that comes without this. Even Jap models like Camry Accord has 2. No Xenon lights 3. No headlamp washer 4. No dual zone a/c 5. No auto a/c 6. rear view mirror (dunno what feature) There could be some other differences as compare to the 320i, but other than the missing rear a/c which I was sore about, I thought 318i almost has them all of what a common lux car should have. So for the price tag, is it worth buying the BMW badge ? P/S - comparison car models mentioned are solely for comparison purpose, don't mean to dis-credit them. Also the above are just my shallow views, no flaming please. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 Power wise, city driving is sufficient. And honestly I don't see the need for climatic artic freeze, kryptonite laser headlights, keyless rocket launchers, transforming side mirrors into hellfire rockets, electric chairs for death row, etc no rear a/c? turn full blast on the a/c lah no headlamp washer? drive over puddles on a rainy day lah no rear view mirror.... wah this one.... i'm sure u meant other things :) So long as I like the car, willing to pay for it, and does not compromise my lifestyle, I'll go ahead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Miles 4th Gear June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 i think for $130,800 you can buy C180CGI. The OMV for 318 is really very very low for the price they are selling ...... PML's margin is really high. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 i think for $130,800 you can buy C180CGI. The OMV for 318 is really very very low for the price they are selling ...... PML's margin is really high. All conti cars are very ex, but with this price tag, I would rather spend a little bit more for VW Passat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hungee Neutral Newbie June 7, 2010 Author Share June 7, 2010 i think for $130,800 you can buy C180CGI. The OMV for 318 is really very very low for the price they are selling ...... PML's margin is really high. C180 CGI is $154,888 with $4,000 servicing credit. OMV not sure, but Sgcarmart mentioned $38k. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 Not worth buying because ppl will complain bad FC. Not forgeting that it is a detuned 2L. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windchoco 1st Gear June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 no rear view mirror.... wah this one.... i'm sure u meant other things :) [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 i think for $130,800 you can buy C180CGI. The OMV for 318 is really very very low for the price they are selling ...... PML's margin is really high. cannot get bro.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 i thk u r referring to the dimming rear view mirror..act quite useful altho not life n death necessary...my only complaint is the size is abit small tho... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 i think for $130,800 you can buy C180CGI. The OMV for 318 is really very very low for the price they are selling ...... PML's margin is really high. cant get bro C180 is 320i price Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 Power wise, city driving is sufficient. And honestly I don't see the need for climatic artic freeze, kryptonite laser headlights, keyless rocket launchers, transforming side mirrors into hellfire rockets, electric chairs for death row, etc no rear a/c? turn full blast on the a/c lah no headlamp washer? drive over puddles on a rainy day lah no rear view mirror.... wah this one.... i'm sure u meant other things :) So long as I like the car, willing to pay for it, and does not compromise my lifestyle, I'll go ahead. a friend told me it is damn spastic to get a luxury car which comes without electric driver seat and without auto aircon as these are standard features that can be found in almost all entry level luxury cars. this is his pet peeve about the basic model of 318 and 320. haha.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hungee Neutral Newbie June 7, 2010 Author Share June 7, 2010 i thk u r referring to the dimming rear view mirror..act quite useful altho not life n death necessary...my only complaint is the size is abit small tho... Yes .. that dim dim thing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 humm....my comments Have: 1. Sunroof (IS250 & C180 don't have) to create some opening for bird s--t to get through while cruising down the expressway??? 2. Elec folding side mirror (was surprised to see them fold when I accidentally pressed a button. To conform again, I pressed the 2nd time ) when it drop...it is time for a new car...no need to purposely protected it....unless it is a approach to convenient others... 3. Elec adjusting driver/passenger seats with driver memory seats (IS250 & C180 dun have memory seat) if you always have different driver and passenger taking or driving the same car...ok lar...but then won't it better to use that money to buy two hyundai avante...so solve the problem of share share... 4. Portable Garmin GPS (docked at dash, not integrated) har ?? then don't have also nevermind mah...3.5" now maybe SGD150 can get 1 liao... 5. Keyless entry & press-start feature (is that standard for all BMW?) humm...need this technology meh ??? ha ha....i don't have money for a BMW lar...if I had...maybe I would get 1 as well lar... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Busker888 1st Gear June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 cant get bro C180 is 320i price Just drop in C&C and be amazes at what u can bargain for...with the present free upgrade from B200 to C180 it is close to BMW318i pricing @ $130K. Btw, 130K for the 318i can still knock down by a few K...so it's $126K to 128K Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 (edited) Well, its not that bad.. But if got that budget....I rather choose A4 1.8TFSI than 318i/320i... I personally preferred A4 looks and the performance... Edited June 7, 2010 by Mike1234 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 not the A4 1.8TSI lah.... if one get the A4, must opt for the 2.0TSI model.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 I think the 318 is a good buy. Unless you are very rich and have money to burn, to me 318 is good enough and no need to buy 320. For me 318 also I cannot afford, so if I have a 318 I wont even think about 320 :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear June 7, 2010 Share June 7, 2010 if only PML brought in the 316d.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...