Anakin Clutched December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 yeah, it can be quite disturbing ... i used to record a similar event by the car in front of me ... dun feel good for a while after that. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 On 11/9/2010 at 3:07 PM, Jtay said: you can try using this video editing software called "Any Video Converter". Works well for me and has all the functions I need (e.g. can snip videos, mute video, crop the frame, fast converting) http://download.cnet.com/Any-Video-Convert...4-10661456.html Hi bro, Great advise & I have downloaded/installed the software. Have played around with it but cannot seem to mute the video leh. I tried to mute the speaker button before conversion but the converted file still got sound. Is that the way? Can advise how? Tks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 i sama sama. cant mute the sound too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 On 12/3/2010 at 3:01 AM, Erkme73 said: I just posted another video of the GS600 on YouTube. It's disturbing... I just ran over a dog this evening. It's ok, but the video is difficult to watch. I'm only posting it so you can see the tremendous lag between when my vehicle stops and when the GPS actually starts to decellerate. I think that is completely unacceptable. To know what happened with the dog, read the video comment. that's kind of sad... but it's heartening to know that you took the effort to rescue the dog after the accident. Is the dog ok after the surgery? Has the owner has abandoned it (guessing from the disinterested conversation you reported)? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Erkme73 Neutral Newbie December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 The dog hasn't had surgery - yet. As expected, the loser owners relinquished ownership, abandoning the dog. But, because it bit my wife while it was in shock, they had to file a 'dog bite' report. That forces the veterinary to quarantine the animal for 10 days. It's mandatory, and keeps us from transferring her to our local vet - who has agreed to nurse the dog back to health at no charge. The dogs name, believe it or not, is Toughy (Tuffy). They think she's < 2 years old. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear December 3, 2010 Share December 3, 2010 Wow.. but looks like the US really has some protection built in for both humans and pets, what with the "dog bite" and quarantine laws, etc. And it's great the local vet is willing to help out at no charge. Sad to say, the most like scenario in Singapore, if such an accident had happened, would have been for the driver to have driven on, oblivious to the dog or cat he'd had run over. And the next few vehicles after that would have continued on in a similar vein, and the hapless animal would have died as roadkill. It's a cold-blooded world here in Singapore. Most likely, even if the driver had been humane enough to rescue the dog, with the amount of red tape he'd face after that,and the tremendous cost of veterinary care - he'd most probably chooe the euthanasia option. Sounds very cynical, but more ofthen than not, it's the reality here. Excuse the pun, but it's a "dog-eat-dog" world here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Erkme73 Neutral Newbie December 4, 2010 Share December 4, 2010 No doubt. Did you notice the lag on the GPS though? It has to be more than 15 seconds, it was still not at zero - up at 30+ KPH. That has to be a very big bug. I sent a link of the video to Gloria by Skype... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear December 4, 2010 Share December 4, 2010 On 12/4/2010 at 12:31 AM, Erkme73 said: No doubt. Did you notice the lag on the GPS though? It has to be more than 15 seconds, it was still not at zero - up at 30+ KPH. That has to be a very big bug. I sent a link of the video to Gloria by Skype... yeah.. it'll be very difficult to convince the cops if pulled over.... "but officer, I was only doing sixty ... " when the GPS is still counting down from 90...88...86... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear December 4, 2010 Share December 4, 2010 By the way - did you hook up your GS600 to a dashboard LCD display - so you can view what you are recording whilst on the move? Or do you only review the GS600 clips after you get home from a trip? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Erkme73 Neutral Newbie December 4, 2010 Share December 4, 2010 Both... I have the LCD on to aim and playback - but the playback is anything but easy. I'm not at all happy with how the 1 minute segments are not easily viewed as a large video - or that the IR receiver for the remote is facing out the front windshield. You cannot use the remote with out putting it between the windshield and the camera. Picture someone with palsy... So, in this case I waited till I got home. I was shaking too badly to work the remote anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear December 4, 2010 Share December 4, 2010 oh... the remote has got to be pointing at the front of the camera? Just proximity is not enough? That sucks. And it takes only 1 min clips? Can't we adjust to, say, 10mins like the F500? Seems like the only advantage of the GS600 is that it is tiny, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Erkme73 Neutral Newbie December 4, 2010 Share December 4, 2010 Agreed. I think this unit is still slightly unpolished. I suspect Dodtec will continue to make the suggested improvements - and hopefully issue a firmware update or patch. We'll see... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear December 4, 2010 Share December 4, 2010 On another topic, I think discussed a few times already, quite a number of people have feedback regarding the issue where when the car is started in 2 steps - ie. to ACC firts, and then to ON, in 2 distinct steps - the camera starts recording (in the case of F500/F880/F900, etc) at ACC, and then stops once it goes to ON. I think you have mentioned before in one of your own reviews, if I remember correctly. I sent an email to Gloria asking clarification - still waiting for a reply. Is this a system design fault - that can be rectified, you think? I usually start the car at one go, but there seem to be quite a few people who use the the 2 stage method, and encounter this problem. Seems that this does not happen with other camera brands for eg, from Korea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Erkme73 Neutral Newbie December 4, 2010 Share December 4, 2010 Both the F500HD and the HD720P units have this same affect. I think they can't tell if power is being applied, or taken away. They can only tell a change in power. So if you turn the key on, but don't crank, they come alive. If you then crank the engine, the momentary loss of power causes them to shut off. If the camera is in the process of shutting down and the power comes back on (after cranking is complete), it does not recognize that power is on, and they stay off. I noticed this right away. The simple fix is to immediately crank - i.e. do not pause with the accessory power on. I sometimes find myself at a drive through where I turn the engine off, but leave the accessory power on (to keep the radio going, for example). The cameras stay running, until I crank - then they go off and stay off. To avoid this, just before I crank, I turn the accessory power off for about 2-3 seconds - or until I hear the cameras shut down completely. Then I crank, and they come on and stay on. It's really just a matter of getting used to the methodology. The new GS600 definitely can tell whether power is on or off. It is unaffected by cranking or pauses. When there's 12V on it, it's recording. If it drops, it shuts off. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear December 4, 2010 Share December 4, 2010 So.. if it does not happen with the GS600, I guess they should be able to fix it for the other cams - if it's a known issue, I wonder why they have not addressed it yet. Actually I crank right off, and I could not understand why others don't. But since many people do pause in the cranking, it's better to address the issue in the camera design, rather than try and convince a multitude of drivers to change their habits. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sky_vinz Clutched December 5, 2010 Share December 5, 2010 Erkme73: Hi, so actually with the GS600, I can actually turn on accessory, wait for engine check light, then crank engine on. And the GS600 will still be running? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Erkme73 Neutral Newbie December 5, 2010 Share December 5, 2010 @sky That is correct. I have tried it every possible way and I can't get it to not work. It simply knows then there's 12v applied and when there isn't. Unlike the other DOD cams. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Erkme73 Neutral Newbie December 5, 2010 Share December 5, 2010 (edited) @sky That is correct. I have tried it every possible way and I can't get it to not work. It simply knows then there's 12v applied and when there isn't. Unlike the other DOD cams. Edited December 5, 2010 by Erkme73 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...