Mini-itx Clutched June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?autoco...mp;product=4361 Even the oil filter element is so expensive!! Wow!! I wonder how much does a Porsche bolt or nut cost? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dunno Neutral Newbie June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 You car cost $50k, filter element cost $10. The Porsche costs $300k, filter element should cost 6 times more. So $48 considered very cheap lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 48 bucks for oil filter is expensive? What you compare to? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched June 4, 2010 Author Share June 4, 2010 48 bucks for oil filter is expensive? What you compare to? Mine is only $6.... cheapo..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 Bro, You buy toyota....You get "toyota" price... Buy Porsche....Of cos "Porsche " price la...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 Mine is only $6.... cheapo..... what car you drive? OEM parts? cheaper loh. branded one cost more. and also depends which brand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YellowFlash Clutched June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?autoco...mp;product=4361 Even the oil filter element is so expensive!! Wow!! I wonder how much does a Porsche bolt or nut cost? 48 dollar is not very expensive for a porsche.... some performance oil filter cost 20-30 dollars for normal cars.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 Mine is only $6.... cheapo..... Wa lau! I thought few hundred dollars. KNN only $48 for a $0.5m car. What's the big deal? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched June 4, 2010 Author Share June 4, 2010 Bro, You buy toyota....You get "toyota" price... Buy Porsche....Of cos "Porsche " price la...... I understand lar. Thats why I said Porsche is really Porsche. Wonder what kind of EO Porsche uses....Perhaps some sort of super duper ultra oil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 Looking at the filter, I don't think its expensive to be honest. Anyway, oil filter is not one thing you change often right. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Circuit Clutched June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 Looking at the filter, I don't think its expensive to be honest. Anyway, oil filter is not one thing you change often right. depends how u see it. some like me change engine oil and filter together. so every 5k i change oil and filter... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 depends how u see it. some like me change engine oil and filter together. so every 5k i change oil and filter... A little kia su leh, but its your preference lah. I normally only change oil. Rest of stuff, I just change base on recommended interval, or I sense they need replacement. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zangetsu77 Clutched June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 Looking at the filter, I don't think its expensive to be honest. Anyway, oil filter is not one thing you change often right. Yes i think you are right. A lot of parts used in cars are actually OEM parts, with a common manufacturing source but subsequently "rebranded" by the car manufacturer or other car part distributors, and consequently costing a premium. Like the turbochargers (typically Garrett), twin clutch transmissions (either Gertrag or the other German company) etc. So the premium is really for the brand, bcos at it's core it's essentially the same OEM product. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rb26dett Clutched June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 I understand lar. Thats why I said Porsche is really Porsche. Wonder what kind of EO Porsche uses....Perhaps some sort of super duper ultra oil. i ever kena once around this price also. ask fpr power enterprise oil filter . dunno how much it cost when bill comes out filteris 49! and i am driving a japanese rite . KNN. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched June 5, 2010 Author Share June 5, 2010 depends how u see it. some like me change engine oil and filter together. so every 5k i change oil and filter... I also do that. Everytime change oil confirm change filter as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched June 5, 2010 Author Share June 5, 2010 http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?autoco...mp;product=4319 Btw, $700 for a new set of brake pads. Impressive! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 5, 2010 Share June 5, 2010 http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?autoco...mp;product=4319 Btw, $700 for a new set of brake pads. Impressive! probably ceramics. buy any decent performance brake pads could also cost easily $500 a set. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic June 5, 2010 Share June 5, 2010 Wa lau! I thought few hundred dollars. KNN only $48 for a $0.5m car. What's the big deal? Yeah $48 doesnt sound too much although it is more than usual. Even motorcycle Oil Filters cost about $25 - $35 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...