Shanhz 3rd Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 My car batt just went total flat yesterday evening when I urgently wanna go out :( No one help. Luckily my sis didn;t use her car, drove out, bought a jumper cable and jump start it. Immediately full charged... I realised I forget to switch off the small cabin lamp 2 days ago after changing the road tax disc Many time I forget to off that little light after placing parking coupon Anyway, time to source for battery liao, cos this one already 2 yrs old $135 for a 65AH cheap or ex ah? That guy didn't tell me what brand well the trick is not to switch on that light, but link it to the auto-on door mode. when u need light, just push out your door slightly for the light to come on.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 DON'T OVER GENERALISE. Amaran may not know how then, but they knew now. R U trying to say that external factor overule inherant built quality of battery. so just buy any battery will do, if cheapest better still? Anything manufactured have design life. Going back to even more basic on portable storage power we use everyday--- dry cell non AA size 1.5v battery. There are different types from the zinc carbon, alkaline or lithium. Different materials used will affect operating life of batteries. Environmental factors will also affect performance of batteries. But lets keep them aside as there are too much variable factors. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 Btw, I am also thinking of replacing my car batt as its already 3yrs old. Wouldn't want to wait till it really die on me then change. Don't need some super duper brands. Aurora is ok with me since I am using it previously. But wonder where to find cheap one? Try Filtec, check out their Hyundai Enercell. You can get some for below $100. http://www.shipserv.com/supplier/profile/s...G&spsrc=286 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 As for claims of battery still going strong for 3-4-5 yrs, I tend to treat such comments with circumspect... everyone hides behind their computer and says whatever they want knowing full well the chances of being scrutinized is as good as zero. So how to truly believe? Take it with a pinch of salt, there could be more variables involved. Some maybe lying about their true change out period, some could be charging their batteries regularly, some may fit a much more larger battery than stock, some may add electrolyte to cells to ensure minimal water loss.... variables are many. What you said here is pretty insulting to some people here. You are implying that we are lying then. The Amaron in my Toyota Hilux is indeed 2 years 4 mths and still running well. The Varta in my Caddy is 2 years 10 mths and still going. You want to see picture? So when you are ALWAYS promoting about nanopulser, we should take it with a pinch of salt too I suppose? Going by your line of reasoning, how do we even know that paying $160 for that nanopulser really increase battery life? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 I think it is fine to upsize one grade higher. But not over size too much. For example 55Ah replaced with 60Ah or something. Going higher may not get the battery to full charge and load up alternator. many years ago I had astra 1.4. being KS, I load in the biggest possible battery----- italian FIA_M 100AH. One year later battery KO, dun know exact cause. But I think battery not properly charged over time...maybe... No need to get so big lah. After engine start, it's alternator that provide power, not battery. So KS a little, I think it's fine. But not over KS. Check CCA? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mugen85 1st Gear June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 i bought $85 2 months ago at some other place issit Amaron Hi-life 55B24LS NS60? If it is u got yrself a good deal. Do PM me the place too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smhomie Clutched June 3, 2010 Share June 3, 2010 DON'T OVER GENERALISE. Amaran may not know how then, but they knew now. R U trying to say that external factor overule inherant built quality of battery. so just buy any battery will do, if cheapest better still? Anything manufactured have design life. Going back to even more basic on portable storage power we use everyday--- dry cell non AA size 1.5v battery. There are different types from the zinc carbon, alkaline or lithium. Different materials used will affect operating life of batteries. Environmental factors will also affect performance of batteries. But lets keep them aside as there are too much variable factors. I am generalizing LEAD-ACID batteries in the broad sense. Parasitic loss from car accessories are external factors, direct exposure to engine heat is also external factor. I am saying that external conditions do influence the LEAD ACID batteries' lifespan. "Anything manufactured have a design life" is very broad, we are addressing LEAD-ACID battery here as how thread starter began the topic. Yes, built quality do influence longevity to a certain extent but does not determine the cost benefits to one who is looking for a balance between lifespan and dollar mileage. I have friends who bought $490-580 OPTIMA RED TOP & YELLOW TOP (AGM) and the battery died after 8-13 months. How do you explain? Was it internal quality or external factors that contribute to their dead battery? OPTIMA is manufactured by Johnson Controls USA direct. So what is the design life of amaron? what is the design life of other brands? Does it say 2 years or 4 years or 10 years? Don't see it on their website though... Will external factors affect the battery in your car? How do you gauge one brand from another in terms of product superiority? We are all here discussing about LEAD-ACID battery used in the motor car and you talk about AA, AAA dry cells Totally irrelevant to the topic at hand. Why don't you mention Lithium Polymer as well? Do you fill your AA battery with distilled water or do you intend to use 100 pcs of lithium polymer battery packs to replace your amaron in your car I quote your earlier response : "AMARON batteries is reasonable and quality is GOOD. Dont look down on this made in India stuff. They have fair bit of high tech stuff in it. Owned by Johnson controls- US companies. If still dont trust this brand and got $$$ to buy piece of mind- use Hoppeckie- from Germany. But Din size, provided got space to fit in. FYI they even made military spec batteries for tanks. Personally I tried both, AMARON is really cheaper and better. Used for 3 years, still no sign of weakening." I am correcting your misconceptions about amaron's origin. Even Hoppecke sold here don't come from Germany anymore, mostly from china and indonesia plant. Most china battery plants also manufacture military spec batteries, problem is whether they are reliable in the long run because of interweld quality between cells. Before you rebutt next time, I suggest you study and read more on battery before blabbering on incessantly. Readers can tell the difference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 Hello.wake up. This trend is asking for recommendations on car battery. Not factors that affect battery life. Read in context. If you have so negative attitude against batteris, stay away from it. This is driver's world. we just want to make our dollars worth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wreckwrx 1st Gear June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 u go check around, i think all 'MF' battery got 2 type, calcium type, and higher end, silver calcium . i using this wulu brand, very seldom see outside, BOLIDEN SILVER CALCIUM . Yo.... I'm also using Boliden..... Ya... very ulu coz hardly heard anyone talking about it....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 Yo.... I'm also using Boliden..... Ya... very ulu coz hardly heard anyone talking about it....... that time b4 i buy, i look at quiet a few brands mention by our bro/sis, then i came across 1 shop selling this, i was attracted by the 'SILVER' lol, and when they unpack the battery i was impress, very well pack, ( factory pack and seal) not like some places, when u buy a battery they still need to charge it b4 they install into your car . mine , they just unpack and install, new and fully charge , Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smhomie Clutched June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 Hello.wake up. This trend is asking for recommendations on car battery. Not factors that affect battery life. Read in context. If you have so negative attitude against batteris, stay away from it. This is driver's world. we just want to make our dollars worth. I was never negative about batteries. It started with brand recommendations then followed by comments about users experiences with different brands. I gave my personal opinions thereafter about batteries in general as considerations to both posters and readers so that they would weigh price and worth in future when they purchase their next battery. A more expensive battery does not necessarily mean longer life or better power, depends on a host of variables as well. Some are not within our control. Your answer seem very agitated and defensive just because I pointed out your earlier mistake about Johnson Control's involvement in Amaron. I think you are the one who is negative. You are avoiding facing up to your blunder. The thread evolved after page one, please read carefully. How about the poster who talked about a freelance battery seller who can provide battery service? Why don't you slam him for straying out of the context as you say? Maybe he didn't point out your mistake I guess... Let me pre-empt you further, you will soon post another comment again to argue you are right I started my personal opinions, don't like it you can ignore my thread. You started this pissing match when you typed in big caps "DON'T OVER GENERALISE" and I responded. Please go back to sleep, you need the rest apparently. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 (edited) Errr, I don't think this is your thread lor. It's not even started by you. And please stop plugging shamelessly about your nanopulser in other threads. Want to advertise, please be a sponsor and not a cheapo. Edited June 4, 2010 by Fcw75 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shanhz 3rd Gear June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 that time b4 i buy, i look at quiet a few brands mention by our bro/sis, then i came across 1 shop selling this, i was attracted by the 'SILVER' lol, and when they unpack the battery i was impress, very well pack, ( factory pack and seal) not like some places, when u buy a battery they still need to charge it b4 they install into your car . mine , they just unpack and install, new and fully charge , if i'm not wrong, charging it b4 installation (full charge) is a good practice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 yes definitely.... nice colour too. =============== Hahaha. Like that the shop paint very colourful those China cheepo lousy battery also u wil buy???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 AMARON batteries is reasonable and quality is GOOD. Dont look down on this made in India stuff. They have fair bit of high tech stuff in it. Owned by Johnson controls- US companies. If still dont trust this brand and got $$$ to buy piece of mind- use Hoppeckie- from Germany. But Din size, provided got space to fit in. FYI they even made military spec batteries for tanks. Personally I tried both, AMARON is really cheaper and better. Used for 3 years, still no sign of weakening. =============== I know Amaron was very popular a couple of years back. I even bought a 60amh best grade model for $160 but only used for about 3 months then sold car. Pity I wasted my $$$ & also never had a chance to test the quality of the Amaron. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 Osaka MF 60ah for around $90. Saw it the other day at Ubi there. =============== Made where??? China or Msia or those 3rd world country? I bought the Global MF battery also for $90 but its cfm made in Korea. South not north Korea hor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 (edited) =============== I know Amaron was very popular a couple of years back. I even bought a 60amh best grade model for $160 but only used for about 3 months then sold car. Pity I wasted my $$$ & also never had a chance to test the quality of the Amaron. I am testing it now to see how good they are. Edited June 4, 2010 by Yuan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 I am testing it now to see how good they are. =================== Good. So we r waiting for your FR on it then. But Im sure its good. Afterall I did buy 1 b4. Unfortunately I didnt have a chance to test it properly. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...