Carer 2nd Gear May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 KPE max speed of 70km/h. but i have seen people travelling up to 80 - 90km/hr even. I do not understand why drivers in KPE like to road hog the 1st lane. expressway legal limit 90km/h. but if someone is travelling faster, pls give way. don need to worry if they kena fine or not. as for KPE, same! pls give way! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beyondaction Neutral Newbie May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 Speed limit is 70. Got speed camera here and there. Those cars from lane one oso cannot switch to middle lane for those speedsters to overtake. I hate it most when I can't give way and the car behind manage to overtake somehow and then deliberately road hog in front of me..... This 70 km/h is too slow to be called an expressway.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 True, people should not hog on to lane 1. They should always stick to lane 2 and 3. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forexter 2nd Gear May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 Speed limit is 70. Got speed camera here and there. Those cars from lane one oso cannot switch to middle lane for those speedsters to overtake. I hate it most when I can't give way and the car behind manage to overtake somehow and then deliberately road hog in front of me..... This 70 km/h is too slow to be called an expressway.... Even when 170km/hr limit, we will face the same problem because this is SINGAPORE. There will still be roadhoggers. He overtake and roadhog u to "force" you to the second lane. Please learn to keep left when not overtaking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 whenever faster car behind = move left for them to pass... simple no space to move left? indicate left to signal your intentions until u have space to move... duhz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tansrb Neutral Newbie May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 aiya best is to avoid right lane la. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fooblack Supercharged May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 Speed limit is 70. Got speed camera here and there. Those cars from lane one oso cannot switch to middle lane for those speedsters to overtake. I hate it most when I can't give way and the car behind manage to overtake somehow and then deliberately road hog in front of me..... This 70 km/h is too slow to be called an expressway.... think an over-taking car can understand if the car infront is optionless to filter out to give way. they can probably see for themselves. maybe the car infront should pick up slight speed and filter out? It is a different story if the hogging car in front refuse to give way even if it is free to do so. no wonder the KPE is getting so congested recently... some cautious hoggers are travelling at sub-70km/h on the right lane and refusing to give way... sigh... I have long given up expecting the hoggers to give way. Will just find a a way to overtake them from the left. These hoggers think they have a right to keep to the over-taking lane so long they are at 70km/h and wont get flashed by the camera.. .these cameras are not everywhere throughout the tunnels ok... even if slightly above 70km, wont get flashed... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Frenzzsg Clutched May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 Though it seldom happens as i always feel that motorbikers are generally better "mannered" on road when it comes to road-hogging...but this morning, a bike just simply refuse to move into the 2nd lane and kept hovering at lane 1 at the speed of 50-60kph!!! although it's not on expressway, it was on the straight road from sengkang to hougang to amk...passing by the amk industrial area...haiz... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lwteyu Neutral Newbie May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 KPE max speed of 70km/h. but i have seen people travelling up to 80 - 90km/hr even. I do not understand why drivers in KPE like to road hog the 1st lane. expressway legal limit 90km/h. but if someone is travelling faster, pls give way. don need to worry if they kena fine or not. as for KPE, same! pls give way! So if the driver in lane 1 and is travelling at 10Km above the speed limit is he considering Hogging in lane 1? Or whoever is behind him/her (rush of time for whatever reason) that need to overtake considered SPEEDING instead? What is everyone opinion in this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 It is not OK to road hog anywhere. If people want to speed and kena caught by camera, let them be lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamstart 1st Gear May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 So if the driver in lane 1 and is travelling at 10Km above the speed limit is he considering Hogging in lane 1? Or whoever is behind him/her (rush of time for whatever reason) that need to overtake considered SPEEDING instead? What is everyone opinion in this? Share I say that lane one is for overtaking only? If you are not overtaking any car, then keep lane one clear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Euphony Neutral Newbie May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 there is a catch 22 in KPE. Lane 2 sometimes get horrendously clogged up for long stretches especially with sliproads merging into it. I overtake in anticipation when seeing the pileup in front. So in essence, I'm up to about 75-80 overtaking many cars because that's my intention and then suddenly a gan jiong spider appears behind wants to go even faster. Sometimes its difficult to cut back into lane 2 because the speed is slower and I have to slow down to filter in, that's if other motorists will slow down to let me filter in which can take more than a fair bit of time not to mention creating a tailback on lane 1. So I proceed ahead instead until I find a comfortable gap to slot in safely going the highest speed I can go legally +10 to minimize tailback. I think not everyone wants to roadhog all the time with the pressure of being tailgated. You have to judge the on-road situation and there should be a flexibility between the 2 rather than defining the situation into all road hogs die camp or all speedsters arse camp. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carer 2nd Gear May 31, 2010 Author Share May 31, 2010 i have been using the KPE since it opened. i find that the number of road hoggers in the KPE definitely outweighs the numbers on other expressway. it seems to me that these drivers naturally feel 'right' to road hog in KPE due to the cameras. but why? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 i have been using the KPE since it opened. i find that the number of road hoggers in the KPE definitely outweighs the numbers on other expressway. it seems to me that these drivers naturally feel 'right' to road hog in KPE due to the cameras. but why? You mean they need a reason?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 So if the driver in lane 1 and is travelling at 10Km above the speed limit is he considering Hogging in lane 1? Or whoever is behind him/her (rush of time for whatever reason) that need to overtake considered SPEEDING instead? What is everyone opinion in this? Why is it one or the other? How about an even more radical idea - that both are pricks of the first degree? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 i am a road hogger...why?? I got the lorries moving on left...I got the R&R car travelling 70km to 80km on the middle...I prefer 90km to 100km so I got to use the right...however when there isn't R&R driver...I usually stay on the middle...Most of the time should there is speed demon whom tailgate me...I would think that if I could filter to let you cross...Probably you could easily overtake me as well...No point I filter left...Let you cross and filter right again and follow you behind because you are block again by the next car in line...overtaking lane in Singapore....oh...if we really have it...I think ERP will be up again...because we are going to be 1 lane short on the expressway. We can't even drive safely on straight road...if we got to constantly filter left and right because we are too fast for the middle and right is for overtaking...oh....I cannot imagine what will happened...more dead motorist??? I am always impressed with indonesian...they tailgate and yet accident are rare... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 agree very much with your opinion.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear May 31, 2010 Share May 31, 2010 (edited) We should will be giving way to the other speeding party. He/she might be in a emergency. Edited May 31, 2010 by Hiphiphoray ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...