DOHC and SOHC

Gohsj89

what's so different?

I test drive Honda City last month when I send my Toyota Vios to Borneo Motor.

Seems that Honda City (SOHC) outbeats my Toyota Vios (DOHC).

Is it the power of iVTEC or higher HP?

it's the difference in tuning of engines lah....

so i guess it's the power of i-VTEC....

VVT-i is more for fuel economy (though it's not much better than its competitors), thus giving a duller drive.

i-VTEC on the other hand, gives both fuel economy and performance.

what's so different?

I test drive Honda City last month when I send my Toyota Vios to Borneo Motor.

Seems that Honda City (SOHC) outbeats my Toyota Vios (DOHC).

Is it the power of iVTEC or higher HP?

Its the higher HP but its iVTEC which provides that extra power. The VVTi on your Vios is tuned for economy rather than power.

You can google around for how VTEC works. Its basically having 2 sets of CAM lobs. One set for low RPM and another set for high RPM.

If you want extra power for your Vios, you can change your cams and retune the ECU. However, more aggressive cams will cause your low end to suffer and hence FC suffers as well.

Its the higher HP but its iVTEC which provides that extra power. The VVTi on your Vios is tuned for economy rather than power.

You can google around for how VTEC works. Its basically having 2 sets of CAM lobs. One set for low RPM and another set for high RPM.

If you want extra power for your Vios, you can change your cams and retune the ECU. However, more aggressive cams will cause your low end to suffer and hence FC suffers as well.

For bread & butter car, it is "fuel economy cam" & "hi output cam".

the ivtec doesn't have 2 sets of cams...i think you shouldn't confuse him.

it's the difference in tuning of engines lah....

so i guess it's the power of i-VTEC....

VVT-i is more for fuel economy (though it's not much better than its competitors), thus giving a duller drive.

i-VTEC on the other hand, gives both fuel economy and performance.

My Civic's FC rather jialat leh ... 9.5 to 10 km/litre.

Sianz! [:(]

the ivtec doesn't have 2 sets of cams...i think you shouldn't confuse him.

No, I mentioned 2 sets of cam lobes (wrong spelling with lobes), not 2 sets of cams.

dun anyhow smoke la.. the proper VTEC works differently from the SOHC i-vtec in the City la [laugh]

Perhaps you could explain on how SOHC i-vtec works in City and whats the difference? I am sure it will enlighten people here as well as myself.

VTEC has wild cams. I-Vtec has nothing to kui which most people are confused about.

Thats not entirely correct. I-VTEC still uses the same principle as VTEC i.e. using seperate sets of cam lobes. Thus the "kui" still occurs when engine changes to different cam lobes.

Perhaps you could explain on how SOHC i-vtec works in City and whats the difference? I am sure it will enlighten people here as well as myself.

Sorry, I don't do spoonfeeding. Go google it yourself. You can start off by googling Temple of VTEC.

whoa very very chim!

Why do you need to care? You are just the end user, you dun need to know any of these to help you drive.