Tweakmax2 Neutral Newbie May 26, 2010 Share May 26, 2010 How come ppl still buy this old car? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear May 26, 2010 Share May 26, 2010 How come ppl still buy this old car? old meh? ever wondered why ppl still buying Nissan sunny (on sale now is still 2004 model)... Proton Wira? (on sale now is more than 10years old model)... Lancer MR??... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shanhz 3rd Gear May 26, 2010 Share May 26, 2010 (edited) one of the few cars in that class got keyless go, CVT and good FC. yet large room space. nearest i can think of is allion, but that's PI and price also different Edited May 26, 2010 by Shanhz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nf0rc3r 1st Gear May 26, 2010 Share May 26, 2010 nissan sunny good FC mei? I keep seeing ppl complain sunny FC very lousy lols.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear May 26, 2010 Share May 26, 2010 nissan sunny good FC mei? I keep seeing ppl complain sunny FC very lousy lols.. that happened on the N16 model engine..i believe electronics throttle does help to improve the FC in later facelift Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shanhz 3rd Gear May 26, 2010 Share May 26, 2010 one of the few cars in that class got keyless go, CVT and good FC. yet large room space. nearest i can think of is allion, but that's PI and price also different sorry i was referring to latio Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear May 26, 2010 Share May 26, 2010 trust me.. more than half the car populaton in SG are old by owners who drive because they need to... bread and butter car... usual service, pump petrol and go... thats it... only change parts when breaks down... to them, a car's just a car... just my thoughts... lets assume... just examples... Proton (Boleh Land) Wira 1.5 brand new - $55k.... no promo... Fiat (Italian) punto/Bravo 1.4 brand new - $58k... free insurance 1yr... free road tax 6months... special choice of sport rims... 1st installment free... which will you buy and drive... most will choose the Fiat... lets say you bought the fiat and i bought the wira... both our side mirrors kanna smashed... i replace in JB $20 ringgit... you find like mad no shop in Sg or Jb has it... so no choice order from AD... $80 a piece... same goes for bumpers, spare parts, services etc... so thats why many ppl will still buy an old model... besides thinking its very good and reliable cause frds/relatives using... familiar... got problem easier to solve... i actually almost got a Gen2 a few yrs back... cause i always go n Malaysia and proton used to have a 24hrs service recovery for proton cars all over the country... until i heard it stopped.. so i didnt get a proton... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear May 26, 2010 Share May 26, 2010 nissan sunny good FC mei? I keep seeing ppl complain sunny FC very lousy lols.. all those who complain sunny FC lousy is not wrong... cause the present N16 engine is DOHC most cars now are SOHC... sunny fuel tank is small compared to other cars of its range... sunny auto is seriously under powered so drivers will mostly floor the pedal... this will of course bring the FC up... sunny N16 model in SG is designed to run on 91octane... pumping 98 is throwing $ in the drain... if got 6 speed auto gear box like the colt, jazz/fit... FC 100% surely better... but i have no problem with my Manual Sunny FC its pretty good... full tank till light comes up 500km no problem.... no joke... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melvinyuen 2nd Gear May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 all those who complain sunny FC lousy is not wrong... cause the present N16 engine is DOHC most cars now are SOHC... sunny fuel tank is small compared to other cars of its range... sunny auto is seriously under powered so drivers will mostly floor the pedal... this will of course bring the FC up... sunny N16 model in SG is designed to run on 91octane... pumping 98 is throwing $ in the drain... if got 6 speed auto gear box like the colt, jazz/fit... FC 100% surely better... but i have no problem with my Manual Sunny FC its pretty good... full tank till light comes up 500km no problem.... no joke... Bro I agree with you on the manual Sunny is good. I used to have one and I managed to have an average of 11.3 to 11.5 for the FC! ultimately depends on how you drive your machine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shanhz 3rd Gear May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 Bro I agree with you on the manual Sunny is good. I used to have one and I managed to have an average of 11.3 to 11.5 for the FC! ultimately depends on how you drive your machine haha, bro, not jesting at you but is this a testimony of how lousy is the sunny FC? teana 2.0L CVT i could do 12km/L easily. :) average over one tank ok, not instantaneous FC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyislost Neutral Newbie May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 Bro I agree with you on the manual Sunny is good. I used to have one and I managed to have an average of 11.3 to 11.5 for the FC! ultimately depends on how you drive your machine yup yup.. my previous sunny can hit 550km / full tank... but it was about 80% HW.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metblue Neutral Newbie May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 Bro I agree with you on the manual Sunny is good. I used to have one and I managed to have an average of 11.3 to 11.5 for the FC! ultimately depends on how you drive your machine No offence, FC of 11.3 - 11.5 km/l for a 1.6M car is [shakehead] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 Wonder how much is the price diff between Latio & Sylphy? Find Sylphy much more attractive...I believe the diff has reduced quite a bit since it was first launched a while back > 10K... That's the reason for see more Sylphy than Latio on the road these days?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saycheese78 Clutched May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 Latio --> Very Roomy + high Roof, very quiet, Reasonable Tan Chong Servicing, Keyless Entry, CVT (You love it or hate it) Latio vs Sylphy: Same engine but different Weight. when I drive latio with 4 adults, need to ram to 3-3.5krpm to accelerate. 5 adults, gone case. You should get similar effect with Sylphy with 2-3 adults cos of extra weight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 No offence, FC of 11.3 - 11.5 km/l for a 1.6M car is [shakehead] 1st its DOHC... more powerful than most 1.6 saloons... 2nd... these scan guage or those that comes with the car that reads FC... is not even accurate to begin with... but ultimately... the latest sunny on sale now in SG is a 2004 model... so probably technology on FC not as good as present cars.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 haha, bro, not jesting at you but is this a testimony of how lousy is the sunny FC? teana 2.0L CVT i could do 12km/L easily. :) average over one tank ok, not instantaneous FC i guess newer cars in the market have better FC technology... but... It seems obvious but a lot of people just don't know how to measure their average gas mileage. Fuel economy is a total mystery to them. So bear with me - I realise to a lot of you this is the age-old adage of teaching you to suck eggs. So - a lot of cars nowadays have an mpg readout that you can select from their onboard computer. Whilst these are useful, they do tend to be a bit optimistic. I've found over the past 6 to 8 years that on-board mpg displays tend to over-read by about 7%. Not much but enough to give you a skewed view of reality. Read more: http://www.carbibles.com/gasmileage.html#ixzz0p6skyc50 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 i guess newer cars in the market have better FC technology... but... It seems obvious but a lot of people just don't know how to measure their average gas mileage. Fuel economy is a total mystery to them. So bear with me - I realise to a lot of you this is the age-old adage of teaching you to suck eggs. So - a lot of cars nowadays have an mpg readout that you can select from their onboard computer. Whilst these are useful, they do tend to be a bit optimistic. I've found over the past 6 to 8 years that on-board mpg displays tend to over-read by about 7%. Not much but enough to give you a skewed view of reality. Read more: http://www.carbibles.com/gasmileage.html#ixzz0p6skyc50 i think this is a safety feature.... even the 'Distance-to-empty' reading is much sooner than actual.... this is to prevent motorists from using the reserve tank.... by then, it may be too late for many, especially those who use the long highways everyday to get to work or back.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 maybe i guess... just want people to know... whenever a car manufacturer states a car model with certain FC figures... we need to understand that the test the car manufactureres did was... *without acessories... *without ice... *perfect tyre pressure... *very good quality fuel... *ONE driver only... *and god knows the location maybe a track? wind tunnel? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...