Mini-itx Clutched May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 I feel LTA should make exhaust rules more "relax". They should allow practically any exhaust out there (aftermarket, even custom ones etc). However, LTA can more stringent on emissions and noise. This means you can have any exhaust you want, but you have to pass the emission and noise test to keep it on your car and you probably need annual inspection to ensure it stays within the limits. This will at least give people more freedom in their exhaust choices. Else the market is very limited right now in terms of exhaust. Sometimes, finding LTA approved exhaust is simply not possible due to age of the car. Btw, this is not something new. Many countries have even more stringent emission tests compared to SG (I know US has CO and SMOG tests and cars with a failed cat can fail the test). But they do not exactly restrict what aftermarket exhaust people use. Another is exhaust manifolds or extractors. Its also illegal. I don't see how it can affect emissions other than not have a cat (most stock ones have their cat attached to the manifold). If you can get the emissions to stay the same, does it really matter what manifold you use? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speedy2780 Neutral Newbie May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 lol u go be zeng hu then abolish all these laws lah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 On 5/25/2010 at 1:54 AM, Mini-itx said: I feel LTA should make exhaust rules more "relax". They should allow practically any exhaust out there (aftermarket, even custom ones etc). However, LTA can more stringent on emissions and noise. This means you can have any exhaust you want, but you have to pass the emission and noise test to keep it on your car and you probably need annual inspection to ensure it stays within the limits. This will at least give people more freedom in their exhaust choices. Else the market is very limited right now in terms of exhaust. Sometimes, finding LTA approved exhaust is simply not possible due to age of the car. Btw, this is not something new. Many countries have even more stringent emission tests compared to SG (I know US has CO and SMOG tests and cars with a failed cat can fail the test). But they do not exactly restrict what aftermarket exhaust people use. Another is exhaust manifolds or extractors. Its also illegal. I don't see how it can affect emissions other than not have a cat (most stock ones have their cat attached to the manifold). If you can get the emissions to stay the same, does it really matter what manifold you use? misleading title leh............ where got LTA to relax exhaust rules... is you wish LTA will relax exhaust rules.... make me happy for nothing nia.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 yea lor.... i thot for realz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 On 5/25/2010 at 2:05 AM, Galantspeedz said: misleading title leh............ where got LTA to relax exhaust rules... is you wish LTA will relax exhaust rules.... make me happy for nothing nia.... Ya, I also though LTA relax exhaust rules already. The title should be ' LTA should relax......' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icyfreakass 1st Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 bloody hell. i thought i can finally change my headers. no legal ones ... change title please. if govt do this they will surely loe income. $_$ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melvinyuen 2nd Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 Aiyooooo.......... Alot of noisy cars around already lah.... I hope they keep the rules and be more stringent on the noise pollution. [bigcry] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gl240 Neutral Newbie May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 On 5/25/2010 at 2:05 AM, Galantspeedz said: misleading title leh............ where got LTA to relax exhaust rules... is you wish LTA will relax exhaust rules.... make me happy for nothing nia.... hahaha...sama sama Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 changed your misleading title. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched May 25, 2010 Author Share May 25, 2010 On 5/25/2010 at 2:26 AM, Osiris said: changed your misleading title. Oh OK. Thanks boss! To everyone: Sorry for the misleading title. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 They will claim that workshops can get exhausts approved, depending on noise, emissions, and maybe car performance. So only those that are approved can be used --- back to square one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 yea...relax rules so that they test based on emissions or noise levels... not cert or no cert... sheesh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beehive3783 Turbocharged May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 Why you like to talk so much here? Write email to LTA la.. then you post their reply here. Stop whining and start doing something. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched May 25, 2010 Author Share May 25, 2010 On 5/25/2010 at 2:51 AM, Thedream said: They will claim that workshops can get exhausts approved, depending on noise, emissions, and maybe car performance. So only those that are approved can be used --- back to square one But that does not cover custom exhaust and many aftermarket exhaust thats not in the list. New cars maybe can find exhausts easily. But how abt old cars? My car don't even have any more aftermarket exhausts locally........ Want to buy also cannot. Want to order oversea but its not LTA approved one..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icyfreakass 1st Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 anywhere do legal headers? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bandotcom Neutral Newbie May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 Our sport car ferari, lambo, gtr, rex, evo etc... all come with noisy exhaust. What is the dB (decibell) required by LTA to pass the noise test. Double standard.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 (edited) LTA rule is simple... You can use any exhaust you want. JUST DUN GET CAUGHT !! [laugh] Edited May 25, 2010 by Ghostrider Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 On 5/25/2010 at 3:41 AM, Bandotcom said: Our sport car ferari, lambo, gtr, rex, evo etc... all come with noisy exhaust. What is the dB (decibell) required by LTA to pass the noise test. Double standard.. Stock REX exhaust is quite quiet. Approved exhaust are also not that noisy...its those that operate the box or using non approved (in SG but perfectly ok in Japan) exhaust like Trust Ti... Dun compare these kinda cars lah...the loudness is nothing compared to a Harley.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...