Ladykillerz 4th Gear May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 Sure you want to trust the bank? They tell you to put money where they earn the most revenue out of you (without you knowing of course)! then how? i rather consult a banker and earn lesser than consult the unknown and my principal amount is gone. or, there are better ways to deal with? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 Invest? If I got cash and the rest invested. I will walk into an MRT train. I will open a picnic basket and pour myself a glass of champagne. Then proceed to spread caviar on my toast that was just pengkang until right with my LPG cylinder powered barbeque rack. Then finally, smoke a big fat cigar to wait for the authorities to come. remember to keep two $1,000 notes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Billyone Neutral Newbie May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 Invest? If I got cash and the rest invested. I will walk into an MRT train. I will open a picnic basket and pour myself a glass of champagne. Then proceed to spread caviar on my toast that was just pengkang until right with my LPG cylinder powered barbeque rack. Then finally, smoke a big fat cigar to wait for the authorities to come. genie47 tell me when i will be watching you from the next carriage while waiting for the authorities to come can I partly help myself to the picnic basket too thanks in advance i recently got burnt by aussie dollar d a m n sing dollar got to appreciate at a time like this want to s c r e w me also not like that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 Help yourself. Money is like manure. It's filthy in your hands but if you throw it around. Something grows out of it. Burn is one thing. Missed opportunity is another. The USD went up and up and up and away. Was a lowly 1.37 weeks back. Now 1.41. All these flights to safety. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 The real version pertains to killing a fish. I can't remember it was related by a cook. Something about careful holding down while your cleaver separates its head from the body with a spurt of blood. Something like that. Then "I sit exhausted on the chair, lit a cigarette and waited for the fish cops to bust down the door." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 Invest? If I got cash and the rest invested. I will walk into an MRT train. I will open a picnic basket and pour myself a glass of champagne. Then proceed to spread caviar on my toast that was just pengkang until right with my LPG cylinder powered barbeque rack. Then finally, smoke a big fat cigar to wait for the authorities to come. did i hear cigar???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 Good sites for info in Singapore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 (edited) yeah rite!by then u be left with SGD1.50/- and when u ask to borrow money from these 10 family members,they would have forgotten about the tours u "boh" them and ask u why u need the money for. there goes your memories....... Not in my case. Have already brought my family (about 10 ppl each time) to BKK, Hong Kong, Japan. We chartered mini bus to bring us around, but rented two MPV's in Japan instead (chartering a bus in Japan is super troublesome and bloody expensive). Of course I dont pay for everything; I pay for the air tix and maybe transport and some meals. Somebody else pays for something else, etc etc. Then I will draw up the itinerary and we discuss. Up till now we are still talking about how much fun we had and where we are going next. That frees my mind from work for the entire week, recharges me over the weekend (we meet every sunday to wash and wax cars, and dinner), and readies me for another week of hectic work. In that way I perform better at work and in a way, it's a form of investment and returns. Invest in your family; it is always worth it. Never had to borrow money from any of my family members - even paid for my own wedding, house, car, all out of my own pocket (and my wife's lah, of course). Borrow money to buy $3 chicken rice because ran out of cash counted or not ah? Edited May 25, 2010 by Yattokame Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 Btw 500k can buy wat property? 2 room condo in sengkang area? Hdb cannot have 2 also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agentwilson 1st Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 (edited) What would you do if you happen to have spare cash amounting to SGD400k/- SGD500k/- lying around? Banks are offering good fixed deposit rates for foreign currencies,is it any good? no pt la, put 1 yr, earn 2%(max) Should you invest in a few properties in Msia and rent it out? msia properties unlike sg, melaka condo rent out, now wan to sell also tink bo lai. sian Buy a small size condo near town and rent it out? sounds good??? Seriously,im thinking of low risk investments here wan low risk, go buy any big cap in sti, now all v low, keep 1yr, sure rise Edited May 25, 2010 by Agentwilson Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tedlhw 5th Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 My take, buy some S$ perpetuals of the major local banks. S$500,000 is just short of 2 lots. S$250,000 nominal per lot. Of course, if DBS, UOB or OCBC goes bankrupt, your money disappears too. Alternatively buy property. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pyramid_sg Clutched May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 Invest? If I got cash and the rest invested. I will walk into an MRT train. I will open a picnic basket and pour myself a glass of champagne. Then proceed to spread caviar on my toast that was just pengkang until right with my LPG cylinder powered barbeque rack. Then finally, smoke a big fat cigar to wait for the authorities to come. When they come, they might hand you a monopoly card. "Go to jail, do not pass go and do not collect $200" kidding Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 What would you do if you happen to have spare cash amounting to SGD400k/- SGD500k/- lying around? Banks are offering good fixed deposit rates for foreign currencies,is it any good? Should you invest in a few properties in Msia and rent it out? Buy a small size condo near town and rent it out? Seriously,im thinking of low risk investments here Invest on properties? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fourth 2nd Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 property is the safest IMO. during bad times, still can hold and collect rental. Seen situations where owners cannot cannot rent out yet have to continue to service bank loan? And also cannot sell because the value became negative? Those with no holding power will suffer when that happens. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 Seen situations where owners cannot cannot rent out yet have to continue to service bank loan? And also cannot sell because the value became negative? Those with no holding power will suffer when that happens. of course must have holding power. no holding power equals to invest with nothing. no diff from gambling. if still can service loan with no problems, that pce of property is technically still under yr name. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 For very low risk, you can try our own Sgp Gov bonds. Pays slightly higher rates than fixed deposit. Buying from Fundsupermart allows you to take bite sizes rather than the $250 to $500K blocks from the banks. (But taking those blocks gives slightly higher rates) http://www.fundsupermart.com/main/sgs/SGShome.tpl Or you can go for NCPS from our local banks. Yields are better at about 3 to 6% depending on which you buy. For eg, the OCBC NCPS 4.2% is at $1.00 now. It gives you 4.2% of coupon per year (bi-yearly at 2.1%). These are slightly higher risk as the ncps prices do fluctuate with the market, but with much lesser volatility. Then of course, there's the blue chips or higher dividend counters, some that pay about 5 to 7% based on current market prices. They have higher volatility vs ncps... but also give room for upside/downside, depending on how well the company does going forth. (eg. SP Ausnet, UOB-KH, REITS, etc) Diversify to spread your risks........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 Buy Apple. Every time you see someone using an Iphone, money is going to come into your pocket. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metblue Neutral Newbie May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 remember to keep two $1,000 notes. Two $1k notes are not enough as this is worse than the IMH cheating case you stated. Eat caviar and drink champagne on board (Fine: $500) Bring LPG cylinder powered barbeque rack and use on board (Fine: $5000) Smoke a big fat cigar on board (Fine: $1000) (Total Fine: $6500) Getting your face on the front page of The Straits Times and be the talk of the town for 1 whole week (Priceless) Genie47 Boss, thank you in advance for your contribution to nation building and a good laugh. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...