Nf0rc3r 1st Gear May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 Not necessary for modern engines.. usually i just wait until engine rpm drop to normal idle speeds den can move off already cos that means ECU detect engine has been fully lubricated thus no need to keep high RPM to prevent stalling, but will still keep RPMs below 2.5k when driving until hit normal temps. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 Talking about AC, I do turn off the compressor but keep the blower on for a short while. Purpose is to heat up the cooling coil and dry it. The no.1 reason for aircon coil leakage is corrosion. Thus I would want to prolong the lifespan of the coil by making it dry after use. A wet coil also promotes mold to grow. ============= Yup thats exactly the same as what I do too & for the same reasons. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 Singapore weather very forgiving, therefore not necessary to purposely let the engine idle to warm up. Waste fuel and pollute the environment only. Just start up and go easy on the throttle. Only go on wild rev when your engine have warm up. But if your engine is non conventional like turbo charge etc., than please read your manual or consult your agent ============== Turbo & supercharge is the same. Just dont whack till the engine has warmed up properly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 i am too impatient to wait 1 or 2 mins before driving off. i smoke, but i dun have habit to do it before driving off. i take care of my 3-year-old honda civic 1.8 engine. i change (redline 5w20) engine oil every 5,000 km. i've adopted the following practice (cos my butt tells me it is good) regardless of weather, air temperature: put in key, wait 2 secs for electronics to init, crank. get in, on air-con, on radio, take out h/phone, adjust door mirror, move off. total 30 secs or so. after 5 mins or so, i will reach a long stretch of road with no car (even in morning peak hour), i will accelerate up to 5k rpm (in 5 secs) at 2nd gear, hold for another 5 to 10 secs, before braking for a red light. after this, my engine feels damn smooth, whereas if i dun drag to 5k rpm, it will feel "normal". ============== Maybe u sud wait till engine has warmed up b4 u whack till 5K RPM. Even on AC wil put extra load on the cold engine. Just drive slow & steady till the water temp has reached near the 1/2 mark. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 Despite experts' advice stating stationery warm up for modern cars have no benefit & is a waste of fuel (since car is consuming fuel & not moving), there will still be some drivers who will stick to their beliefs that warming up is good. ============== Old habits die hard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wuga98 Neutral Newbie May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 i think not necessary lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 Not necessary for modern engines.. usually i just wait until engine rpm drop to normal idle speeds den can move off already cos that means ECU detect engine has been fully lubricated thus no need to keep high RPM to prevent stalling, but will still keep RPMs below 2.5k when driving until hit normal temps. =============== Modern engines with ECU wont stall even with a cold engine cos the ECU is feeding a rich air/fuel mix to give sufficient power & higher heat to warm up the engine quicker. Only older cars with manual choke(obsolete for >20 years) u need to pull the choke to adjust the air/fuel mix a little rich manually so the engine wont die & u have enough power to move off without jerking. Carb cars with auto choke(provided its working) also dont need to adjust anything. Just start & move off. Now all cars with electronic injection & ECU, its all done for u by the car electronics. If a modern car jerks or stalls with a cold engine, something is wrong & u sud get it checked. Cud even b your fuel mix is too lean & u might burn your piston/valves if u high rev too long. Most likely your lambda or oxygen sensors need attention. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zangetsu77 Clutched May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 My car is particularly troublesome in this respect. Firstly, a 3-step start up sequence, pressing the start button twice, allowing for the multifunctional display to fully load before finally starting the engine => meant to preserve the steering wheel lock lifespan by minimizing electrical surges. Secondly, as the car is tuned and running quite lean, an auto-revving function with timer has been programmed in, which results in the car automatically rev-ving and holding 2,000 rpm until the engine warms up, before the revs slowly fall off to 900 rpm. Practically, i need a good 3-minutes to start the car engine and drive off despite loads of Japanese technology packed in... One of the little ironies of life Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 ============= Yup thats exactly the same as what I do too & for the same reasons. I do the same things too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 My car is particularly troublesome in this respect. Firstly, a 3-step start up sequence, pressing the start button twice, allowing for the multifunctional display to fully load before finally starting the engine => meant to preserve the steering wheel lock lifespan by minimizing electrical surges. Secondly, as the car is tuned and running quite lean, an auto-revving function with timer has been programmed in, which results in the car automatically rev-ving and holding 2,000 rpm until the engine warms up, before the revs slowly fall off to 900 rpm. Practically, i need a good 3-minutes to start the car engine and drive off despite loads of Japanese technology packed in... One of the little ironies of life ==================== You driving an F1 car issit????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sianzationzz Neutral Newbie May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 My car is particularly troublesome in this respect. Firstly, a 3-step start up sequence, pressing the start button twice, allowing for the multifunctional display to fully load before finally starting the engine => meant to preserve the steering wheel lock lifespan by minimizing electrical surges. Secondly, as the car is tuned and running quite lean, an auto-revving function with timer has been programmed in, which results in the car automatically rev-ving and holding 2,000 rpm until the engine warms up, before the revs slowly fall off to 900 rpm. Practically, i need a good 3-minutes to start the car engine and drive off despite loads of Japanese technology packed in... One of the little ironies of life Really is complicated bro!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 My car is particularly troublesome in this respect. Firstly, a 3-step start up sequence, pressing the start button twice, allowing for the multifunctional display to fully load before finally starting the engine => meant to preserve the steering wheel lock lifespan by minimizing electrical surges. Secondly, as the car is tuned and running quite lean, an auto-revving function with timer has been programmed in, which results in the car automatically rev-ving and holding 2,000 rpm until the engine warms up, before the revs slowly fall off to 900 rpm. Practically, i need a good 3-minutes to start the car engine and drive off despite loads of Japanese technology packed in... One of the little ironies of life u driving the nissan gtr right? i wouldnt be surprised if you had to do such things for such a finely tuned engineering marvel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legendary Clutched May 24, 2010 Share May 24, 2010 (edited) My instruction manual says DO NOT warm up the car... just start and go... serious... Edited May 24, 2010 by Legendary Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched May 25, 2010 Author Share May 25, 2010 My instruction manual says DO NOT warm up the car... just start and go... serious... Actually, I don't think new cars need to warm up. Its old cars then need. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 I always treat cars as human being..starting engine in morning is akin to human being just woke up in the morning, mind and reflexes are slower. Takes some time to warm up too. If juz woke up then go run 5KM long run sure jia lut. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 (edited) My old bike, carb 4-cylinder engine will become 3 piston engine when left to idle too long during start up. Normally, I will just wait for 30 seconds to 1 minute for the engine to warm up and move off. So, for NA EFI engine car, you can quite safely move off once the engine is crank started and all warning lights are off. The act of moving off at crawling speed out from carpark is already "warm up" exercise for the car liao. Edited May 25, 2010 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron_soh80 1st Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 Warm up to prevent CVT lagging as well.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 Yea, i still do that. My dad advised me to. And i also feel some differences when driving immediately without warming up and warming up. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...