Who Still Practice Warming Up of Engines Before Moving Off?

Mini-itx

Well, I am still one of them. I will let engine warm up for around 30s or so before moving off. Purpose is to ensure that the oil has flow thru entire engine and properly lubricate all moving parts. I believe 30s is more than sufficient already.

Then just drive normally but don't rev the engine to high RPM (I think anything below 2.5K is ok) till its properly warmed up.

Do you guys still have this practice?

Well, I am still one of them. I will let engine warm up for around 30s or so before moving off. Purpose is to ensure that the oil has flow thru entire engine and properly lubricate all moving parts. I believe 30s is more than sufficient already.

Then just drive normally but don't rev the engine to high RPM (I think anything below 2.5K is ok) till its properly warmed up.

Depends , if i am on a hurry then i heck care just turn on engine and start moving , if i have plenty of time i will give the engine warm up about 1minute :)

Seldom. Used to let it run for 5 minutes, since my 17 year old car's engine is distinctly more rough when first started up. Then after a couple of days when I had to move off immediately due to being later than usual, found that the engine is just as smooth after a gentle drive out of the multi-storey carpark.

Well, when i am free i will let my 19 yr old car warm up while i have a cig. but most early mornings, i just start, on ac n drive off. but i dont rev beyond 3k rpm till temp hit abt 70+ degrees. been doing that for abt a year. no prob. anyway, the manual says not to waste fuel warming up at idle. just start n drive. so i follow it.

We dun have cold weather here in sgp. Dun really see the point of doing so. Running on a light load will also circulate the lubricants. With fuel injected engines nowadays they are very efficient and engine warms up pretty quickly. No need to waste petrol to idle the engine just so to warm up.

My friend told me the FC improve if he warm the car for 3 mins in the morning.

But warming up is absolutely need in colder weather. I heard is common in Russia to spend...wait for it....2 hours to warm up the cars before moving off in the cold winter.

Personally, the longest I warm up my car was think 30-40 mins, but drove off not because the car is properly warmed up (but it probably was) but I sabei tulan liao, & running late for work. That & the fact that I didn't want to look like mountain tortoise in front of the locals.

Never mind I see s--t with the windows covered in sheet ice & frozen snow so thick, the wiper can't even moved, & window can't wind down. But at least I have the common sense of running a few circle in the car park, & amazing, the ice seems to melt faster. I went to office like no big deal, & didn't even mention why I was late, as if it happen often in Singapore as well. & that was still mid Autumn, I can only imagine the hassle in the winter.

Anyway, I usually start engine, took my time to put on seat belt & wait for water temp to reach at least 40 deg ( 30 sec in total maybe) before moving off. I also to drive slowly & didn't rev hard for at least 1-2 min nowadays. In fact, I hardly go above 3k to begin with. No problem so far.

I think most modern cars these day do not need to warm up (in our climate). I only do it (& only just), as my car has a blown engine & hence the extra care.

erm... i remember i read from somewhere.

it stated that nearly all new models already enhanced with fast warm up.

moreover, our SG weather is hot enough to speed up the process.

the article mentioned that there is no need to wait for warm up, just move off slowly till the temperature pin goes up then drive as per normal.

this article is somehow related to "how to improve FC" kinda stuff.

My normal practise is to start engine...on aircon...go out smoke 1 stick... Zoom Zoom

Everything sound reasonable except the "1 stick". I notice alot of smokers like to do this also. Maybe driver also need to warm up. hehe

I leave it on for 10-30secs to play safe, few seconds of fuel doesn't really make a different in fuel bills.

Although many brands boast fast warm-up, but with the current trend of "want fast, want cheap" mentality in manufacturing, the quality and claim doesn't seem to tally in some cases.

According to Toyota owners manual, one should start the engine and wait until the coolant temp needle touches at least the first mark before driving off. To help shorten this timeline, most modern car go fast idle at start up to help speed up engine oil circulation and warm up. This is regardless of ambient temps. To immediate drive off fast/slow would not allow adequate lubrication to the upper cylinders and camshafts.

Hope the info helps ^_^

================

I think modern engines dont really need to warm-up cos injection all have auto-choke & even older carb has it.

I just start & by the time I sit comfortably & put on seat belt & check all warning lights have gone off, the oil has already started to flow around all moving parts.

I just drive slowly for about 5 mins to warm up the oil & autobox ATF & then drive normal but never whack immediately. Driving slowly warms up the engine faster than letting engine idle.

Excessive warm-up wasts petrol.

But its up to individual lah. If u feel comfortable to wait 30 seconds to warm up a little, then its also no harm. But even for me, by the time I do all the pre-drive checks & put on seatbelt, almost 30 seconds have passed. [:)]

Well, when i am free i will let my 19 yr old car warm up while i have a cig. but most early mornings, i just start, on ac n drive off. but i dont rev beyond 3k rpm till temp hit abt 70+ degrees. been doing that for abt a year. no prob. anyway, the manual says not to waste fuel warming up at idle. just start n drive. so i follow it.

===============

I dont on the ac till only after about 5 mins of slow driving to let the engine warm-up sufficiently b4 putting the extra load of the AC on the engine.

If the weather is hot, I open the windows to let the hot air escape from the car & let it cool sufficiently so as not to overload the AC to have to cool the hot interior.

The car gets cooler faster too. [nod]

According to Toyota owners manual, one should start the engine and wait until the coolant temp needle touches at least the first mark before driving off. To help shorten this timeline, most modern car go fast idle at start up to help speed up engine oil circulation and warm up. This is regardless of ambient temps. To immediate drive off fast/slow would not allow adequate lubrication to the upper cylinders and camshafts.

Hope the info helps ^_^

==================

The "fast idle" is the auto-choke working to give a rich air/fuel mix to give the cold engine more power & a faster warm-up.

It cancels the need to do the usual "warm-up" as in older cars without auto-choke.