Acieed 1st Gear May 20, 2010 Share May 20, 2010 Used to just put combat ration pack on M113 engine to "microwave" :) I am a NS men and during reservist got more time to eat while in the field. Few of us sibei xiao-on type..not the chiong sua type but siao on in field cooking. I must say those rations taste good when its hot ! Add some water into the mass tin with the pasta and let it stew for awhile. Best ! especially we are drenched in the rain for the whole day. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikethm Clutched May 20, 2010 Share May 20, 2010 You are lucky that never try the old combat ratio mention by Dwoon in a earlier post... Maybe only old soldiers that had already MR for sometimes taste it... Ya they damned lucky. After my ns days, I never buy any cadbury chocolate anymore coz I was sick of the taste after eating 5 bars issued everyday when outfield. It's either that, instant noodles or open cans which is too troublesome. To eat the maggie mee or sardines or mutton or pork have to use mess tin to cook... dog tack was well... for the dogs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear May 20, 2010 Share May 20, 2010 Used to just put combat ration pack on M113 engine to "microwave" :) Yup! M113 will serve as a Microwaved Armoured Personal Cooker . LOL Well, this Nov will get to taste combat rations again at Gedong ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear May 20, 2010 Share May 20, 2010 Now Gedong so nice....... when I was there, it was a mud track going into 46..... some more no street lighting at all..... night booking in must bring own torchlights to see the path. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear May 21, 2010 Share May 21, 2010 anyone tried US mre? looks much better now. improved. wonder where can buy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tankee531 1st Gear May 21, 2010 Share May 21, 2010 Yup! M113 will serve as a Microwaved Armoured Personal Cooker . LOL Well, this Nov will get to taste combat rations again at Gedong ! land rover also can Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agentwilson 1st Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 i tink u should be after my batch. coz my time, no pasta ration. i believe pasta is a relatively new menu in ration. Hahaha...no man...I really liked the pasta rations...that was good. Maybe it's pretty obvious I wasn't from a combat unit so I didn't get a chance to be sick of the rations...hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Agentwilson 1st Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 aiseh, bro u seepeh knowledgeable man. where u get this info man? long time ago combat ration is not controlled. then some smart guys brought them into Malaysia to consume during the Mount Ophir trip. Threw the empty cans (yes tin can) and wrappers on the hill side. The Malaysia park rangers found the rubbish and reported upwards. Malaysian Govnt made a big ho-ha over it, claiming SAF secretly sent its soldiers into Mount Ophir for operation or training. After that incident, combat ration become controlled items. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 i tink u should be after my batch. coz my time, no pasta ration. i believe pasta is a relatively new menu in ration. trust me... you should avoid the sambal minced chicken pasta... seriously.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weiming 1st Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 Haha...I agree :) Ate just a few mouthfuls of this and disposed of the leftovers discretely when outfield. Had a bad sore throat the next day! trust me... you should avoid the sambal minced chicken pasta... seriously.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 Haha...I agree :) Ate just a few mouthfuls of this and disposed of the leftovers discretely when outfield. Had a bad sore throat the next day! keke the sambal tastes like wtf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aeromania 1st Gear May 25, 2010 Share May 25, 2010 Hey guys...I was just wondering. Is it possible to still get SAF's combat rations after leaving the army? I really miss the pasta rations we used to get...*yum yum* The apricot snack bars were bloody damn good too...hahaha Sign on... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jawsbiteu Neutral Newbie June 4, 2010 Share June 4, 2010 few years never eat liao combat rations..still remember the chicken poncho or something..totally erm.."unique taste". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyx Neutral Newbie July 4, 2010 Share July 4, 2010 is the combat rations now nicer? I used to throw away all those wet rations and relied only on biscuits thru out the 3-5 days outfield.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icyfreakass 1st Gear July 4, 2010 Share July 4, 2010 The rations are edible.. But it just turns me off that its coming from a packet which is preserved.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whisper_2000 Clutched July 4, 2010 Share July 4, 2010 Wah lau.... what apricot snacks and pasta.... I only had canned sardines, canned chicken, dog biscuits, choco bar and beans nia...... Hahaha, same here bro. Guess we're older batches. After trying both, i still find those canned ones are better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged July 4, 2010 Share July 4, 2010 Hahaha, same here bro. Guess we're older batches. After trying both, i still find those canned ones are better. although we were issued the above when we went for field camp in tekong during BMT .... we never actually consumed them in the field. we just brought them along was dead weight but we had meals dlvd by the CQ in 3-tonners so we can have "fresh" food - but in a mess tin. all the combat rations will then be brought back and then we will cook and eat it in the bunks !! except the chocolate bars which we will whack first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheetod Neutral Newbie July 4, 2010 Share July 4, 2010 P U I~~~~!!! hahahhaa.......how could u miss smt as bad as that? hahaha......the best in your ration pack should be either the maggie, the can food, the can drink or the snack packs hahahaha.... ration is a no no man hahaha..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...