Porkerlover Neutral Newbie May 17, 2010 Share May 17, 2010 Hey guys...I was just wondering. Is it possible to still get SAF's combat rations after leaving the army? I really miss the pasta rations we used to get...*yum yum* The apricot snack bars were bloody damn good too...hahaha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Backera Neutral Newbie May 18, 2010 Share May 18, 2010 Errrr....did u make this post in jest? hahahah, the only thing i remembered about the meals were the awful smell of preservatives! urgh...the only thing edible was the dessert man... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear May 18, 2010 Share May 18, 2010 Apricot snack bars should be similar to the Uncle Toby's you get in supermarket. Didn't recall fond memories of the combat ration, except maybe the Pulut Hitam. Remember giving away some combat ration to kids in Thailand, after they open it, they just throw away. Seems its not good enough for them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porkerlover Neutral Newbie May 18, 2010 Author Share May 18, 2010 Hey guys...I was just wondering. Is it possible to still get SAF's combat rations after leaving the army? I really miss the pasta rations we used to get...*yum yum* The apricot snack bars were bloody damn good too...hahaha Hahaha...no man...I really liked the pasta rations...that was good. Maybe it's pretty obvious I wasn't from a combat unit so I didn't get a chance to be sick of the rations...hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porkerlover Neutral Newbie May 18, 2010 Author Share May 18, 2010 Apricot snack bars should be similar to the Uncle Toby's you get in supermarket. Didn't recall fond memories of the combat ration, except maybe the Pulut Hitam. Remember giving away some combat ration to kids in Thailand, after they open it, they just throw away. Seems its not good enough for them. No dude...the apricot snack bars are different. They're soft like pastry. Not like the Uncle Toby ones that have too much nuts. Really? I thought some of the rations weren't too bad...especially the pastas....haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear May 18, 2010 Share May 18, 2010 Wah lau.... what apricot snacks and pasta.... I only had canned sardines, canned chicken, dog biscuits, choco bar and beans nia...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear May 18, 2010 Share May 18, 2010 Wah lau.... what apricot snacks and pasta.... I only had canned sardines, canned chicken, dog biscuits, choco bar and beans nia...... you must be an old uncle already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear May 18, 2010 Share May 18, 2010 controlled items leh bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tankee531 1st Gear May 18, 2010 Share May 18, 2010 long time ago combat ration is not controlled. then some smart guys brought them into Malaysia to consume during the Mount Ophir trip. Threw the empty cans (yes tin can) and wrappers on the hill side. The Malaysia park rangers found the rubbish and reported upwards. Malaysian Govnt made a big ho-ha over it, claiming SAF secretly sent its soldiers into Mount Ophir for operation or training. After that incident, combat ration become controlled items. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tankee531 1st Gear May 18, 2010 Share May 18, 2010 Errrr....did u make this post in jest? hahahah, the only thing i remembered about the meals were the awful smell of preservatives! urgh...the only thing edible was the dessert man... got smell of preservatives meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nojoke123 1st Gear May 18, 2010 Share May 18, 2010 lol...go and sign on lor...u can eat until lau sai.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic May 19, 2010 Share May 19, 2010 Wah lau.... what apricot snacks and pasta.... I only had canned sardines, canned chicken, dog biscuits, choco bar and beans nia...... The canned sardines was so fishes in smell Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rollagt 5th Gear May 19, 2010 Share May 19, 2010 I am a NS men and during reservist got more time to eat while in the field. Few of us sibei xiao-on type..not the chiong sua type but siao on in field cooking. I must say those rations taste good when its hot ! Add some water into the mass tin with the pasta and let it stew for awhile. Best ! especially we are drenched in the rain for the whole day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic May 19, 2010 Share May 19, 2010 You are lucky that never try the old combat ratio mention by Dwoon in a earlier post... Maybe only old soldiers that had already MR for sometimes taste it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear May 19, 2010 Share May 19, 2010 Beach road can buy MREs ^^ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sianzationzz Neutral Newbie May 19, 2010 Share May 19, 2010 hahaha ts you must be crazy.. combat rations are the worst food ever!! but i must agree that the pasta are not bad and to burbur teringu. others cannot eat one!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear May 19, 2010 Share May 19, 2010 i think the red bean the best Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged May 20, 2010 Share May 20, 2010 Hey guys...I was just wondering. Is it possible to still get SAF's combat rations after leaving the army? I really miss the pasta rations we used to get...*yum yum* The apricot snack bars were bloody damn good too...hahaha wow....nowadays so good ah...i still remember last time, donkey yrs ago the combat rations sibei pai jiak except for the chocolate bars ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...