Perodua Club Singapore

Cunnosieur

hi all

started this new thread for perodua owners in s'pore.

can share tips on modi, spare parts n accessories, etc.

Just had 20,000km servicing done. Now top up full tank Octane 95 and intend to monitor FC hypermiling over regular routes

Do feel free to share if you are into hypermiling, too

Hi Colin

hope you can join the club.

i have written my short review of the car which you can search in the earlier pages. my viva in terms of fuel efficiency is not as good as some of the brothers myvi as mention due to the 1.0 engine the need to ram the car for pickup is higher. i guess its how you drive.

on nsh when i go around msia i get better fuel efficiency but city drivin i find that my viva is not as good as kelisa or myvi cos i work in shenton way and i get into jams everyday. my milage about 13.7km/litres on average. recently i tried a new technique and i get about 15km/litres. so might stick to it. oh i must mention that i drive pple in my car always so maybe that explains the not so good fuel efficency compare to my kelisa friend who is small size and drive alone. hope this helps

yeah maybe after this long weekend we can arrange one evening meet up and lim kopi. if kelisa peep got meeting will let you all know k... cheers

Just had 20,000km servicing done. Now top up full tank Octane 95 and intend to monitor FC hypermiling over regular routes

Do feel free to share if you are into hypermiling, too

i was.. my viva works well with fuel save 95 and vpower as well as esso 5000. now i stick to esso cos the rewards and discount are best for me... for caltex and spc i find bad consumptio and a lack in power for spc on my car. i have pump all petrol on a basis of 5 tanks and monitor except for spc 95 and 98 i used 3 tanks the rest were 5. never tried 92 before but ladt month pumped esso 2000, straight away regret..

i got some problems with my Perodua Kenari and wan to know if i can solve myself?

1) dscn0584.jpg

white paint chip off on spoiler

2) dscn0583y.jpg

high beam not appearing when turn high beam

3) Missing hood brace

thanks in advance

Hi brother,

SOrry to hear about your car's problem.

1) You might want to get a touch up paint to cover it up. Open your bonnet, right inside in the centre you will find a sticker, it has your paint code, take down the paint coat and go to places like autobacs etc to get a touch up paint. Black easier to find than mine, red, which red has soooo many different shades sigh...

2. You might need to go to a work shop to get it fix.

3. Hood brace is the metal stick inside the bonnet? Its missing? That can be replaced by the agent.

For 2 and 3, you might wanna check out Msia. Go after Hari Raya please, cos I think its a major PH and major jam too... :)

For 2 and 3 should be quite cheap to do if you do it in msia.

Anyrthing else, please check out the Kelisa Club forum. All the Viva, Myvi, Kelisa and Kenari are there.

See you :)

i got some problems with my Perodua Kenari and wan to know if i can solve myself?

1)

2)

3) Missing hood brace

thanks in advance

Edited by Meganut

i was.. my viva works well with fuel save 95 and vpower as well as esso 5000. now i stick to esso cos the rewards and discount are best for me... for caltex and spc i find bad consumptio and a lack in power for spc on my car. i have pump all petrol on a basis of 5 tanks and monitor except for spc 95 and 98 i used 3 tanks the rest were 5. never tried 92 before but ladt month pumped esso 2000, straight away regret..

Good idea. I found SPC Octane92 comes with piston slap when accelerating uphill at the 70km/h threshold speed (Clementi towards Ghim moh). So now monitoring Shell Octane95 (Shell Octane92 used to give 50km more mileage per tankful with Suzuki 800 compared with Mobil)

Intend to monitor with other brands for comparison as I drive, with same Octane95

Many shops try to sell wider 185/65R14 tire (higher tyre wear and FC) than the 175/65R14 stock size. I am looking for 165/65R14 (can save tyre wear and fuel with the lighter tyre)

Edited by Good-Carbuyer

1)

2)

3) Missing hood brace

thanks in advance

I hope you can claim warranty for 2 & 3. Not sure if paint chipped off can claim, but try claiming

the warranty by local agent is as good as dun have. dun keep your hopes up. my friend's IU on the 12th month uplorry local agent dun want to honour. make alotttttttttt of noise then they replace but 50-50.. my friend's clutch got problem keep insisting dun have then went to service the clutch became so high like driving lorry, no kidding. another guy had some retarded brakes, local agent didnt want to honour. we all drive and we agree the brakes are retarded straight away pack his car to jb, 3 hours later solve and indeed there was a hose problem so changed to steel hose... dun put hope in local agent.. btw the braking problem was 1 week after collect car and the lorry clutch was after 1k servicing...

can try asking local agent to help replace, but dun hope for it.. i dun think shld claim from insurance.. your excess is not worth paying to claim anyway... then ncd zero and premium goes up...

i dunno how many of you still going to local agent for servicing.

Do you know that the engine oil they used is 10w50?

check your reciept or ask them give you the bottle. my car full tank 28 litres i get 296.5-298.4km for full tank with caltex platinum. its premium petrol btw... so angry.. for vpower i get 340km btw... my car super lag and super horrible. when i went to msia service i get 350km per full tank with caltex and 401km for vpower... do note that caltex is good for cleaning engine. shell and mobil better for mileage...

try 5 tanks of esso 5000. you will find its worth the money and esso you get 13% disc with dbs esso card (dun use dividend), i tried all the petrol companies in sg cos i got all the credit cards, esso is best cos 13% discount plus every 300 smile points get $10 petrol vouchers, or keep till 750 points get $30 voucher. i pump for 13 months, i got 1600 points to date... very easy to get somemore i opc leh. i pump once a week...

thats the most worth while petrol company to pump.. oh btw 2000, 5000, 8000 doesnt matter cos 1 litre =1 point but do note that esso 2000 and spc 92 abit shitty for our car in the starting.. u will find it lagging and retarded... my friend's kelisa took 6 tanks of 2000 to get used to it and now his car is the fastest stock auto kelisa, 500km per full tank :) base on 33 litres of petrol

Edited by Meganut

the warranty by local agent is as good as dun have. dun keep your hopes up. my friend's IU on the 12th month uplorry local agent dun want to honour. make alotttttttttt of noise then they replace but 50-50.. my friend's clutch got problem keep insisting dun have then went to service the clutch became so high like driving lorry, no kidding. another guy had some retarded brakes, local agent didnt want to honour. we all drive and we agree the brakes are retarded straight away pack his car to jb, 3 hours later solve and indeed there was a hose problem so changed to steel hose... dun put hope in local agent.. btw the braking problem was 1 week after collect car and the lorry clutch was after 1k servicing...

can try asking local agent to help replace, but dun hope for it.. i dun think shld claim from insurance.. your excess is not worth paying to claim anyway... then ncd zero and premium goes up...

i dunno how many of you still going to local agent for servicing.

Do you know that the engine oil they used is 10w50?

check your reciept or ask them give you the bottle. my car full tank 28 litres i get 296.5-298.4km for full tank with caltex platinum. its premium petrol btw... so angry.. for vpower i get 340km btw... my car super lag and super horrible. when i went to msia service i get 350km per full tank with caltex and 401km for vpower... do note that caltex is good for cleaning engine. shell and mobil better for mileage...

try 5 tanks of esso 5000. you will find its worth the money and esso you get 13% disc with dbs esso card (dun use dividend), i tried all the petrol companies in sg cos i got all the credit cards, esso is best cos 13% discount plus every 300 smile points get $10 petrol vouchers, or keep till 750 points get $30 voucher. i pump for 13 months, i got 1600 points to date... very easy to get somemore i opc leh. i pump once a week...

thats the most worth while petrol company to pump.. oh btw 2000, 5000, 8000 doesnt matter cos 1 litre =1 point but do note that esso 2000 and spc 92 abit shitty for our car in the starting.. u will find it lagging and retarded... my friend's kelisa took 6 tanks of 2000 to get used to it and now his car is the fastest stock auto kelisa, 500km per full tank :) base on 33 litres of petrol

According to Perocom, they use 15W-40 engine oil for servicing. But you can pay more for 'TOTAL' 5W-40 synthetic engine oil (this makes the engine quiet and powerful)

My previous Kelisa use to be around 18km/L (tankful for at least 600km, without the reserve 5L). But must clean brake drum often and inflate tire a little more than recommended to do it

yours is manual kelisa?

our friend's auto, kelisa 40 litres tank :)

reg the servicing...thats really good to know... maybe now they have changed the oil... we got the reciept and a left behind bottle of oil somewhere that says 10w50 given by them.. super thick oil.. may want to check your reciept and ask for the remaining oil. we made a complain anyway. the boss know us very well haha... next servicing you go, ask them for the left over oil.. their servicing area is somewhere up dunno where, what exactly they do no one knows.. many of us swore never to let them service again hahaha

yours is manual kelisa?

our friend's auto, kelisa 40 litres tank :)

reg the servicing...thats really good to know... maybe now they have changed the oil... we got the reciept and a left behind bottle of oil somewhere that says 10w50 given by them.. super thick oil.. may want to check your reciept and ask for the remaining oil. we made a complain anyway. the boss know us very well haha... next servicing you go, ask them for the left over oil.. their servicing area is somewhere up dunno where, what exactly they do no one knows.. many of us swore never to let them service again hahaha

Usually manual transmission give better FC if you drive with care

I believe Perocom prices for engine oil, oil filter, spark plugs, more than double the price from auto parts shop elsewhere

Driving outstation for holidays, so expect more wear and tear (in case needs to make warranty claims)

Otherwise not keen to let them do servicing at all (quoted two hours to do servicing, but took more than two and a half hours, as the only Mechanic has to attend to three others already there)

Now twice a month they open workshop on Saturdays

Travelled 474.8 km with 1st 30.01L petrol (just below 16km/L) 20,000km after servicing with 5W-40 synthetic engine oil according to invoice.

Below 12km/L when I first bought this Myvi from Used Car Dealer in April 2010

Avoid/detour around traffic jams: 2km/L difference in FC or 16% difference in FC

Inflate +50kpa each tire: 1km/L or 8% difference in FC

Before/after servicing with 5W-40 synthetic engine oil: 1km/L or 8% difference in FC

Total: about 33% FC improvement (petrol about same cost as diesel?)

Welcome...to the club.hahah:P hope do u gud....:P haha when ur car ready?:P i still waiting my viva..hey sms mi 90221854 david..we can meet at the showroom if ur car ready ahahha:P

cheers

David