Why is traffic enforcement so sneaky?

Ahtong

Alternatively you could ponder another root principle - would a driver violate the law openly knowing that a law enforcer is in the open?

Precisely.

Suppose you believe in a God who can see everything that you do, you will try hard not to commit a sin.

Same principle here. If you are worried that the TPs are everywhere and hiding/camouflaged, it's best to follow the traffic rules just in case.

Surely keeping the TP out in the open will "force" drivers to brake to slow down if speeding. This will definitely cause more accidents.

obviously they wan to catch pple who commit it

and not stand there waiting for people to commit it...

like u say...who will violate it..

Actually I wanted to say they(the law enforcer) respect our intelligence hence they hide.

do you feel that LTA is insulting your intelligence when you see warning signs regarding the presence speed camera ahead? :D[:p]

[laugh] Actually...i think ur reply is good enough :D

no mah someone ask what is not sneaky...so i joked:

on overhead bridge A put police 100m ahead big big sign

on overhead bridge B put police 50m ahead big big sign

on overhead bridge C put police 10m ahead big big sign

[laugh][laugh][laugh]:D[laugh]

Errr....actually Australian highway really have these type of signs. "Warning..Speed cam xxx metres ahead. Slow down now."

Alternatively you could ponder another root principle - would a driver violate the law openly knowing that a law enforcer is in the open?

My question is why do they need someone to violate the law inthe first place? Prevention is better than cure is it not?

People never get caught once..so will do twice,so must kantong them etc etc

if everywhere is deployed by police just to prevent it..kinda funny also..

then shopping centre,hawker etc etc..every corner deploy 1 police to prevent different cases to happen?then singapore is full of police everywhere..open door to sleep at nite also no nid to worry

Edited by Freestylers09

POLICE SPEED CAMERA 100M AHEAD!!!!!

POLICE SPEED CAMERA 50M AHEAD!!!!!!

POLICE SPEED CAMERA 10M AHEAD!!!!!!

YOU TIO PAWNED!!!!! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

What if the driver happens to be colour blind and/or short sighted? [laugh]

then will tio PAWNED without knowing, and wonder why everyone slow down and give way to him, the come MCF post geely beat lambo on expressway

then 2 weeks later [bigcry] [bigcry] after opening mailbox

People never get caught once..so will do twice,so must kantong them etc etc

if everywhere is deployed by police just to prevent it..kinda funny also..

then shopping centre,hawker etc etc..every corner deploy 1 police to prevent different cases to happen?then singapore is full of police everywhere..open door to sleep at nite also no nid to worry

That is a rather dim view of humanity right? That everyone from 18 to 60 needs to be punished in order to behave. Like that might as well issue all people who pass TP with $120 fine and 3 demerit points for the offence they are about to commit.

If the idea is we need to deploy police everywhere in order for people to behave, then I think this country have no hope already. Education level is high high buy social responsibility on par with Zimbabwe.

Actually I am quite interested in how speed limits are set. How come some roads are so straight, long and wide but the speed limit only 60kmh?

That is a rather dim view of humanity right? That everyone from 18 to 60 needs to be punished in order to behave. Like that might as well issue all people who pass TP with $120 fine and 3 demerit points for the offence they are about to commit.

If the idea is we need to deploy police everywhere in order for people to behave, then I think this country have no hope already. Education level is high high buy social responsibility on par with Zimbabwe.

Actually I am quite interested in how speed limits are set. How come some roads are so straight, long and wide but the speed limit only 60kmh?

u see..thats the problem with human or Singaporean

when get caught..say show proof..when there to take proof..people make noise say so eng..stand there catch pple earn more $ issit.....when hid..pple also make noise..say why openly etc

whatever it is..also cannot suits them

but they didnt even bother to think who is wrong in first place...or rather all are angels guai guai driving? when no sign board..they wil lsay ur never put signboard to warn us..etc etc..never ending..

if not..for eg..ur thread title shows good example of what i say IMO [;)]

Edited by Freestylers09

don worry, we install super birght LED sign boards [laugh][laugh] confirm can see [laugh][laugh]

if further assistance is required, we will get jippon bu to hold up those sign boards [laugh][laugh]

If the warden is conspicuous enough and I persisted in violating, then I must be stupid. Sorry if I gave you the wrong meaning.

hey no worries lah , only pulling your leg, joking nia

[laugh]:D

Why is it the officers catching bus lane violaters need to hide behind a tree?

Why is it officers with speed cams must ambush from overhead bridges?

Now there are even reports of TP in plain clothes.

Why can't people doing 官 work be 光明正大 and announce their pressence?

I ask this question because I am pondering the root principle behind traffic enforcement. Is it to prevent accidents or to make money? Is the sneaky method employed because the govt thinks we are very childish?

The Moral path to good human behaviour says:

1) If you are not breaking any traffic rules or intent to break any, then why are you troubled by this?

2) If you are leading your life right and cleanly, why are you so troubled by rules and laws?

3) If you are so concerned about root principle, are you sure you are HAVING the right principle to start off with?

4) Only sneaky people, feel that others are just as sneaky.

5) if you are so 'kuan ming' as so declared by you, you should not even be bothered by people you feel are sneaky.

6) TP need not only be in plain clothes, civilain motorist can also have you 'booked' if you so break a traffic law.

So little grasshopper, are you sure you have a proper footing in life?

don worry, we install super birght LED sign boards [laugh][laugh] confirm can see [laugh][laugh]

if further assistance is required, we will get jippon bu to hold up those sign boards [laugh][laugh]

Then forget about those lights la....Get the jippon bu(s) can liao....Haha!

Edited by Yuan

u see..thats the problem with human or Singaporean

when get caught..say show proof..when there to take proof..people make noise say so eng..stand there catch pple earn more $ issit.....when hid..pple also make noise..say why openly etc

whatever it is..also cannot suits them

but they didnt even bother to think who is wrong in first place...or rather all are angels guai guai driving? when no sign board..they wil lsay ur never put signboard to warn us..etc etc..never ending..

if not..for eg..ur thread title shows good example of what i say IMO [;)]

I am asking why TP choose their current method of law enforcement. What is their primary objective and does the current method suit their purpose? If they are collecting money for the national investment fund, I think the current method is good. If the plan is to promote road safety, then there is some room for debate over what is the "best" method.

Nitty gritty over show proof, who is right who is wrong is not really my interest here.