Former Deputy PM Goh Keng Swee dies

Wish1719

SINGAPORE: Former Deputy Prime Minister Goh Keng Swee died early Friday morning after battling a long illness.

Dr Goh, who was also a former Finance Minister, was 91.

He is survived by his wife, son, daughter-in-law, two grandsons and three great grandchildren.

Dr Goh came to Singapore at the age of two, and was later educated at Anglo Chinese School before going on to study economics at Raffles College.

He worked as a civil servant till the Japanese Occupation of Singapore during the Second World War.

After the war a scholarship took him to the London School of Economics.

It was in the UK that he met Lee Kuan Yew and Toh Chin Chye who went on to found the People

SINGAPORE: Former Deputy Prime Minister Goh Keng Swee died early Friday morning after battling a long illness.

Dr Goh, who was also a former Finance Minister, was 91.

He is survived by his wife, son, daughter-in-law, two grandsons and three great grandchildren.

Dr Goh came to Singapore at the age of two, and was later educated at Anglo Chinese School before going on to study economics at Raffles College.

He worked as a civil servant till the Japanese Occupation of Singapore during the Second World War.

After the war a scholarship took him to the London School of Economics.

It was in the UK that he met Lee Kuan Yew and Toh Chin Chye who went on to found the People

RIP. One by one surrender IC..... will he be scare? [lipsrsealed]

They getting ready table to play mahjong below together.....for him [laugh][laugh] ..when need kaki he will be summoned

then the dollar note with his chop 1 value will go up bo ??? i think my mother last time got gave me one piece SGD1 for me to keep since I got habit of keeping a whole set of SGD note........

dont think we will be what we are today without this man

rip

Yup....... those Jurong Industrial projects and created jobs for Singaporean..... [smash][smash]

then the dollar note with his chop 1 value will go up bo ??? i think my mother last time got gave me one piece SGD1 for me to keep since I got habit of keeping a whole set of SGD note........

provided u sell off lor...u collector ah..i hav ethe whole set incl the $1000 bill from those days nia....wan to sell also sim tia [laugh][laugh]

his signature on the notes are alway slightly more valued..... [:)]

the back of the notes have 4 hands holding each other..... [cool]

Edited by Picnic06

Few ppl when they go, we respect they were

Toh Chin Chye (When he goes)

GKS

Richard Hu(when he goes)

President Ong

the rest, well...see lah

Few ppl when they go, we respect they were

Toh Chin Chye (When he goes)

GKS

Richard Hu(when he goes)

President Ong

the rest, well...see lah

Oei..... one more

S Rajaratnam [smash]

Oei..... one more

S Rajaratnam [smash]

[laugh][laugh][thumbsup] Ya..solii forgot...the HDB man also... Lim Kim San

Edited by RadX

dont think we will be what we are today without this man

rip

u mean national service?

me no collector lar....just keep to pass down to the future generation to see see the real thing rather from the books or looking through the glass box...ha ha ha...but my collection only up to SGD100 lar...ha ha ha...bigger than that....i no money to keep....ha ha ha :D:D

Edited by Seaweed

long long time ago got those old aunty selling notes/phone card etc at market....i think those time is something like SGD 7 or 8 for one piece of SGD1 with Mr Goh chop...