Chucky2007 Turbocharged May 14, 2010 Share May 14, 2010 i dun like to patronise those petrol stations that have tp pay upfront, be it using cah or credit card. Avoid these stations ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamjammer Neutral Newbie May 14, 2010 Share May 14, 2010 Havent CSI how can stop? Lion Spa is it? hehehe I mean stop as in stop getting out of point in this thread lah, happeningg how to stop, very addictive...hahaha...lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged May 14, 2010 Share May 14, 2010 i dun like to patronise those petrol stations that have tp pay upfront, be it using cah or credit card. Avoid these stations actually i go JB so many times... i have never experienced must pay first.... even when i pump at 4-5am in the morning and the store inside the light is off and the cashier sleeping.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zhiwei933 Neutral Newbie May 14, 2010 Share May 14, 2010 Perhaps next time you can try to paid by cash rather then credit card as you are not in singapore its very hard and it may took days, weeks or even month to solve the matter. Anyway from my experience I usually will ask the staff to press the panel and I paid them with cash :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zhiwei933 Neutral Newbie May 14, 2010 Share May 14, 2010 Since when need to pay upfront ? Usually is after eveything then will make the payment. Just wonder are u really pump your petrol in malaysia or only just heard from friends Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged May 14, 2010 Share May 14, 2010 i only know the SHELL right after the custom required to pay upfront. I visited other SHELL and Caltex dont need to pay up front. Galantspeed is right....during odd hours 2-4am, the cashier is sleeping and not a single soul around Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hammerhammer 1st Gear May 14, 2010 Author Share May 14, 2010 Actually pay credit card exchange rate better. You see from my transaction the exchange rate is 1SGD=RM2.45++ If you change at money changer is only 1SGD=RM2.3 nia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hwt Neutral Newbie May 14, 2010 Share May 14, 2010 (edited) Mikepitt already gave an explanation of the reason. Gas stations allow people to pump fuel without assistance. In fact, most gas stations in Malaysia do not have pump attendants. Drivers park there cars beside pumps, insert their cards, pump fuel, get receipts and leave. Because of this, there is a need to ask the bank of a driver to guarantee that the driver has sufficient money in his/her account before fuel is pumped. Based on the price of fuel and the usual size of a fuel tank, gas companies these days ask for a guarantee of 200 MYR. While the request for the bank to provide the guarantee goes to the bank immediately upon the insertion of the card at the pump, the actual amount used may not reach the bank immediately after the completion of the pumping process. In most cases, the actual amount does reach the bank very soon, may be within a few seconds. However, the credit/debit card systems of Visa and MasterCard through which the requests travel, and possibly also the bank, do not handle that actual amount so quickly. They are slow, probably because they want to allow reversals that can happen in the same batch. Some banks have web-based systems that no longer rely on batches, but the non-web-based traditional channel still uses it. A batch may close at the end of the day, or sometimes a few days later, depending on how the station and the gas company work. The un-used portion of the guaranteed amount is usually released to the driver after the receipt by the bank the actual amount, when the batch closes, or may be even later if the bank does things very slowly. However, it should not take more than a few days, and definitely not weeks, as far as I know, because I monitor the credit balance of my credit card account on the web very often. By the way, for your own sake, I think you should ask your bank (POSBank in this case, I guess) to indicate what that 200 MYR payment is. The bank should know it is a pre-authorized amount, not the actual amount used. In my opinion, it should at least add a code behind the transaction description, for example, "HELD", to let you know it is merely an amount held. Of course, an amount held cannot be used by you until it is released, but by doing this, a lot of unnecessary anxiety and mis-understanding can be avoided. This hold-release mechanism is the same in both credit and debit card systems. Edited May 14, 2010 by Hwt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear May 14, 2010 Share May 14, 2010 Actually pay credit card exchange rate better. You see from my transaction the exchange rate is 1SGD=RM2.45++ If you change at money changer is only 1SGD=RM2.3 nia may i know the brand of your calculator? Coz my scientific abacus give me a result of 2.27 when you equate 87.8 with 200 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nemo6089 1st Gear May 14, 2010 Share May 14, 2010 Next time use MayBank credit card with micro chip, no need to go to cashier to pay, just pump and go. You are lucky the cashier did not clone your credit card, RM 200 is a cheap lesson to learn,count yourself lucky this time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear May 14, 2010 Share May 14, 2010 sharing my petrol pumping in JB... i have pumped petrol in JB for years.... lately much less often... to me most important is speed of transtraction... i NEVER pump at pumps that you have to pay 1st... stupid... walk here walk there 2times... siao... i used to pump always at caltex just before the old customs... 99% of the time cash becuase the side pumps got no crdit card facilities and the guy there accepts cash only... card must go pay at other pumps... so cash is fastest... but since new customs open and caltex closed.. i have switched to Esso further down, have been paying by credit card at cashier until the dumb 20 liter rule came out i now pay at pump... i Always use my credit card (wif chip)... swipe my esso loyality card 1st, then credit card, take out pump, put back and receipt comes out... if no reciept i will go cashier ask them print... if too rush i will just forget it... no problem so far from my crdit card bill... amount always been correct, exchange rate is fine with me... never used a debit card before overseas.... anything instantly charged will be troublesome to rebuke... also never knew pumps in MY or only shell does a charge of RM200 first? now must open my eyes bigger and check all reciepts and bills cause sometimes i just pay without throughly checking... and hammerhammer... all i can say is you damn suay sia.... but good that all is ok now... get a credit card lah... rewards better than debit cards... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear May 14, 2010 Share May 14, 2010 bro. this is not a matter of LLST other bros are correct. let the bank settle for you. last time hotel in kl also chut stunt on me charging me for extra bed i specifically told them not to put. i gave them black and white and told them to settle the problem for me. i dont care because the rest im not paying. assert your rights Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged May 14, 2010 Share May 14, 2010 Next time use MayBank credit card with micro chip, no need to go to cashier to pay, just pump and go. You are lucky the cashier did not clone your credit card, RM 200 is a cheap lesson to learn,count yourself lucky this time. my maybank family and friends card dont come with micro chip, everytime when i used it at tesco, the cashier will signalled to the manager to come over and check my card. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear May 14, 2010 Share May 14, 2010 i specifically emailed them not to give me the extra bed and their reservation's dept girl acknowledged my request. end up i go there their invoice still show extra bed. i told the girl at the reception that i already requested for no extra bed. they say need black and white. i buay tahan take my own laptop go their business centre print out the chain of emails. they charged me for computer usage and printing but nvm. so i bring it down to them and they tell me a third party company handles the reservation and all so there's some gap. i told the girl straight "this is ridiculous. i dont care whether you have 3rd party 4th party or whatever. i am not paying a single cent more" just let them handle Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear May 14, 2010 Share May 14, 2010 Actually pay credit card exchange rate better. You see from my transaction the exchange rate is 1SGD=RM2.45++ If you change at money changer is only 1SGD=RM2.3 nia where got bank will give better rate than $ changer?........ you 1st time to Malaysia ah? but the fact is i am not bothered by the difference... its not much really... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear May 14, 2010 Share May 14, 2010 (edited) wah bro... not only you a fierce driver (SC MERC)... you also a fierce hotel guest sia... "I AM NOT PAYING FOR THE FREAKING EXTRA BED.... I DONT CARE.... YOUUUUUU SETTLE IT...." guest from hell... wahahahaha... Edited May 14, 2010 by Ken4555 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear May 14, 2010 Share May 14, 2010 wah bro... not only you a fierce driver (SC MERC)... you also a fierce hotel guest sia... "I AM NOT PAYING FOR THE FREAKING EXTRA BED.... I DONT CARE.... YOUUUUUU SETTLE IT...." guest from hell... wahahahaha... kekeke customer rights okay?? ang moh buay song sue liaos lo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cerano 1st Gear May 14, 2010 Share May 14, 2010 (edited) wah bro... not only you a fierce driver (SC MERC)... you also a fierce hotel guest sia... "I AM NOT PAYING FOR THE FREAKING EXTRA BED.... I DONT CARE.... YOUUUUUU SETTLE IT...." guest from hell... wahahahaha... but actually la i was more of like *picture at the counter of a 5 star hotel KL* "This is ridiculous (Slam the granite top with strength)" "I emailed your reservations department regarding this. They told me no problem whatsoever and now when i am here you tell me this? This is ridiculous." "Sir, many apologies but the reservation is handled by a 3rd party" "This here is black and white. I don't care how you are going to do it. But I hope I am making myself very clear here. I am not paying for the extra bed which does not even exist in my room in the first place. Do you think I am so free to be able to email your colleagues for fun? I did not email your reservations department for fun. I dont care if you have 3rd party, 4th party or whatever. You settle it" Edited May 14, 2010 by Cerano ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...