Jman888 Moderator May 11, 2010 Share May 11, 2010 Very tiring if every one I meet must greed.. If board the bus, I have to greet at least 30 times. Board MRT lagi worst, greet a hundred times.. that is what a plastic smile was for.... greet with smile not need to say hi everytime ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtravagant Clutched May 11, 2010 Share May 11, 2010 they see ghost of course run away lah. agreed on this. . . . [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear May 11, 2010 Share May 11, 2010 (edited) Let me quote an incident a few years back, in Tokyo My wife, myself and two japanese friends (ladies) were shopping at Blue label along harajuku. As we were inquiring the staff about some colours of the bags, a group of our fellow countrymen came into the store, loud and "appearing high class". Just planted themselves onto the sofa like some big shots, demanded (yes, demanded) to change the colour of a bag they bought yesterday. The poor salesgirl was so traumatized as she could not really speak english. The way the group of Singaporeans acted was seriously nothing less than uncivilized. My nice japanese friend went to the rescue of the sale assistant. They subsequently told her the other shop is in Ginza as they do not have the colour she wants here. "Har? Where is ginza? Is it near Eunos (yes, the auntie said EUNOS)? Can go by MRT?" (I later figured she meant Ueno -- wu-eh-no) Still refusing to budge, she kicked up a fuss and complained in her most broken english etc etc and how she flew by SQ here from Singapore etc etc. My japanese friend then pointed out we were from Singapore too, and the auntie loudly proclaim "oh, we flew by SQ you know?" After they left, I kept apologising to the badly traumatized sales staff on duty. Edited May 11, 2010 by Yattokame Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear May 11, 2010 Share May 11, 2010 (edited) That was just one of the very bad experience with my fellow countrymen while in Japan. Most of the time (really quite a few times per week) I offer a hand to Singaporeans who look lost, especially on the metro/JR. Some are polite, some just stare at me with the corner of their eye as though I am some cheat. can't really blame them; but they should be more understanding and less egoistic as we are in other people's country; and be more respectful and mindful of their culture. Edited May 11, 2010 by Yattokame Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 11, 2010 Share May 11, 2010 I keep quite, kana many a times, ask me to "tompang" their excess luggage, going and coming back. There is always a "What if" question if you do help, they bag contains contrabands, and you're going to be IT. Taiwan airport, fat lady and kids, all overweight on baggage, see same passport, "Hey, you SIngaporean ah, can helps me, my baggage overweight leh, can tompang you, since you very little luggage one? Can lah hor, if no use also wasted one" Yeah sure. I have notice this issue for very very long time. Until now I don't understand why. Many Ang Mos, they can strike out a conversation with anyone, esp their own kin. Sporeans, very unlikely will chat up other Sporeans when Overseas. I tried a few times but many Sporeans I tried to speak to, are very unfriendly, snobbish, arrogant, reserved, cocky etc. Its the women that are very Stuck-up to you as a stranger than the AMTKs. It is very easy to identify Sporeans in overseas public places - Singlish. Some force an artificial accent...The other reasons are above... It also seems that they are ashame to identify with Sporeans and try hard NOT to be Sporeans. Our passports are the most welcomed one in the World. I readily say I'm a Sporean and not Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 11, 2010 Share May 11, 2010 Good description of yourself. [laugh] dun go far.....go into the lift with ppl and all looking down looking for $$$.... wan to chat also the face kuai lan face how to tok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 11, 2010 Share May 11, 2010 I keep quite, kana many a times, ask me to "tompang" their excess luggage, going and coming back. There is always a "What if" question if you do help, they bag contains contrabands, and you're going to be IT. Taiwan airport, fat lady and kids, all overweight on baggage, see same passport, "Hey, you SIngaporean ah, can helps me, my baggage overweight leh, can tompang you, since you very little luggage one? Can lah hor, if no use also wasted one" Yeah sure. you never ask "your parents never teach you don't talk to strangers or help them?" [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 11, 2010 Share May 11, 2010 I still waiting fo ryou to walk with me sexy. :wub: depends lah...not say don't hv.... when i was in Bkk, somehow must be my accent that identify me as a fellow citizen. this true blue Singaporean who got lost along Sukhumvit came up & asked me for directions. the poor fella 1st time there to meet up with a business associate & don't how to go to a certain Soi. thus ended up walked with him to his destination. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 11, 2010 Share May 11, 2010 Si Lang Bin. haha. . . i think they see you as the death angel. . . thats why they scared. . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 11, 2010 Share May 11, 2010 Same here, I only talk to Polar Bears. Singaporeans don't greet each other becoz they are pompous ar$eholes. That's why I dun talk to any Singaporeans when I am abroad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 11, 2010 Share May 11, 2010 Hard to understand what the fark they saying with their mouth full of cookies. [laugh] I can talk with anyone....ang mo...indian....chinese....malay...hummm....everyone except "cockie monster"... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 11, 2010 Share May 11, 2010 A lot of these so called "HDB Tai Tais" act like this when overseas. Sad, they flew SQ, I flew in by Nippon Airways. BIG DEAL! Let me quote an incident a few years back, in Tokyo My wife, myself and two japanese friends (ladies) were shopping at Blue label along harajuku. As we were inquiring the staff about some colours of the bags, a group of our fellow countrymen came into the store, loud and "appearing high class". Just planted themselves onto the sofa like some big shots, demanded (yes, demanded) to change the colour of a bag they bought yesterday. The poor salesgirl was so traumatized as she could not really speak english. The way the group of Singaporeans acted was seriously nothing less than uncivilized. My nice japanese friend went to the rescue of the sale assistant. They subsequently told her the other shop is in Ginza as they do not have the colour she wants here. "Har? Where is ginza? Is it near Eunos (yes, the auntie said EUNOS)? Can go by MRT?" (I later figured she meant Ueno -- wu-eh-no) Still refusing to budge, she kicked up a fuss and complained in her most broken english etc etc and how she flew by SQ here from Singapore etc etc. My japanese friend then pointed out we were from Singapore too, and the auntie loudly proclaim "oh, we flew by SQ you know?" After they left, I kept apologising to the badly traumatized sales staff on duty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arowana1 1st Gear May 11, 2010 Share May 11, 2010 I have notice this issue for very very long time. Until now I don't understand why. Many Ang Mos, they can strike out a conversation with anyone, esp their own kin. Sporeans, very unlikely will chat up other Sporeans when Overseas. I tried a few times but many Sporeans I tried to speak to, are very unfriendly, snobbish, arrogant, reserved, cocky etc. Its the women that are very Stuck-up to you as a stranger than the AMTKs. It is very easy to identify Sporeans in overseas public places - Singlish. Some force an artificial accent...The other reasons are above... It also seems that they are ashame to identify with Sporeans and try hard NOT to be Sporeans. Our passports are the most welcomed one in the World. I readily say I'm a Sporean and not maybe some are like me... man of few words and i like my peace. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator May 11, 2010 Share May 11, 2010 When we said "Sorry, cannot" she jumped up and down, kpkb, like we owe her a living. Well, two can play at that game, I fark her upside down, and tell her I would not hesitate to whack the sheet out of her, so don't come and yaya here. Call police, call, no problems, overseas, which law? Singapore Law also cannot touch hor, make police report lor. Sometimes is not say don't want to help, some of these people so damn ATAS, you help one time, think you have to be their tour guide and servant! you never ask "your parents never teach you don't talk to strangers or help them?" [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator May 11, 2010 Share May 11, 2010 A lot of these so called "HDB Tai Tais" act like this when overseas. Sad, they flew SQ, I flew in by Nippon Airways. BIG DEAL! Nippon airway got nippon kawaii mei mei or mamasan? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged May 11, 2010 Share May 11, 2010 you never ask "your parents never teach you don't talk to strangers or help them?" [laugh] the answer is always no and I dun even need to explain or justify. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged May 11, 2010 Share May 11, 2010 Nippon airway got nippon kawaii mei mei or mamasan? IMO, better than SQ. At least their fake smile is more genuine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1l0v3you Clutched May 11, 2010 Share May 11, 2010 XD He just wants to get in your pants! i feel that he was sincerely helpful. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...