Leopard tank operator

Vega

come to think of it..i tot we bery good riend with US..how come this time round buy german MBTs? why not M1 Abrams??

M1 was considered with a few other tanks...but not selected...like others said, due to the weight and fuel type.

Other US tanks considered earlier during the 1G or 2G era is the stingray light tank and the sheridan light tank.....but both also not selected.

The Leopards we have is the older "pre-facelift" A4 version.....the latest is already A6 version....I bet to my last dollar SAF going to mod the tank until meet or exceed A6 spec liao....like what they did to the M113 APCs last time..

come to think of it..i tot we bery good riend with US..how come this time round buy german MBTs? why not M1 Abrams??

From what I saw on TV the M1 Abrams uses airplane fuel becos they put an aircraft engine into the tank. No joke. If you do a search you will find out M1 uses turbine engines. Extremely thirsty and very expensive fuel. German MBTs uses turbo diesel engines which is more practical. One of the traits is that this German MBT is amphibious aka can do river crossing. Saw this on Discovery also.

I dunno whether the M1 can cross river or not but this tank can withstand a biological weapon's attack and protect its crew. The seal between the turret and the tank's body is classified. For the M1 I know it's definitely fully air-conditioned inside the tank. So if TS is reading this, asking whether a tank is air-con, it gives some kind of information away.

If in front of target is call "tio siao" [laugh] [laugh]

i witness the live firing before.

lets just say u wont wanna be anywhere near the target.

abrams too heavy.... sink in our soft terrain

abrams drink JET FUEL la. not gasoline.

they standardise all using JP-8.

M1 driving position is right in the middle underneath the main gun.

I see sarcasm is a dying art around here.. <_<

To answer some questions. There is air con in the SG Leopard.

Still one of the best tanks in the world. SAF coup a great deal by buying them second hand in great condition.

And to answer another question. M1 is powered by Aviation Fuel(AF) not gasoline though its power unit can combust gasoline and diesel even.

To answer some questions. There is air con in the SG Leopard.

Still one of the best tanks in the world. SAF coup a great deal by buying them second hand in great condition.

And to answer another question. M1 is powered by Aviation Fuel(AF) not gasoline though its power unit can combust gasoline and diesel even.

Yeah.

And I've heard that it takes ~50L of the fuel just to get the turbine running.

But I've also heard that the modularity of the M1 is a great plus.

Overall, more people seem to think that the Leopard 2 is the better tank. But pretty little combat history so far.

Becoz even Mindef knows that US vehicles are crap?

Everybody gets a German nowadays.. ^_^

okay... here was what my source told me

The cabin comes with

Multi-zone climate control, electic-adjustable seat (3 memory settings) for tank commander and driver, triple-din HU with aux connection for iPod/iPad, reverse camera, cupholders for driver, audio controls on the steering column. Most importantly, Mindef managed to hook up with BMW to come up with a similar iDrive technology for the leopards

No kidding man!

If look closely, all crew have iPod headphones. :wub:

The tank cmdr even has noise cancellation set, that's why it looks bigger.

But the Gunner has the best toy of all: Fully wi-fi controller using Apple's iPad with Appds made by Kinetics.

That one very tok kong! Gunner can aim the 120mm main guns using the built-in accelerometer with the Apple's iPad via its enlarged scope night vision multi-touch display.

Last time I head MOD forbid porting the apps to iPhone as they found it too dangerous.

edit:

Another unique Singapore feature is the armoured IU just behind the main sight.

Crew can load cashcards from within the cabin in complete safety.

That one MOD has no control as it is under LTA jurisdiction.

01.JPG

Edited by Wishcumstrue

b4 you get the wrong idea.

What you can disclose/discuss online is as good as what you can find on the public domain.

Meaning technical specs, SG mod to the tank that are published by mindef, Janes, Asian Defence Journal etc.

Not just training doctrine

Exclude source from various forum if you can't verify their info is not deem sensitive.

While you may be excited about the new toy, please don't disclose anything more than what was known publicly. the punishment is quite severe.

cos Abrams is left hand drive and drink gasoline... in singapore difficult to keep left whilst overtaking.. and go all the petrol station cannot pump.

German use Euro IV diesel... singapore all station suppork diesel... can even go bolehland and pump also, but need to have 3/4 tank 1st...

the tank can be fueled with diesel fuel, kerosene, any grade of motor gasoline, JP-4 jet fuel, or JP-8 jet fuel; the US Army uses JP-8 jet fuel in order to simplify logistics. The Royal Australian Armoured Corps' M1A1 AIM SA uses diesel fuel; it is cheaper and makes practical sense for Australian military logistics.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M1_Abrams

the tank can be fueled with diesel fuel, kerosene, any grade of motor gasoline, JP-4 jet fuel, or JP-8 jet fuel; the US Army uses JP-8 jet fuel in order to simplify logistics. The Royal Australian Armoured Corps' M1A1 AIM SA uses diesel fuel; it is cheaper and makes practical sense for Australian military logistics.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/M1_Abrams

Germans have a history of making excellent tanks & armoured tactics.