Debadging a real Type R

Ahtong

Can someone explain the rationale behind debadging a real Type R?

If I had a real Type R, I would leave the shiny badge on for the whole world to see.

It is only when I have a Type R-lookalike that I would remove all badges to sow confusion.

Is my analysis correct? Can I conclude that a car that looks like Type R but don't have any badges is most likely an impersonator?

  On 5/3/2010 at 4:18 AM, Ahtong said:

If I had a real Type R, I would leave the shiny badge on for the whole world to see.

It is only when I have a Type R-lookalike that I would remove all badges to sow confusion.

Is my analysis correct? Can I conclude that a car that looks like Type R but don't have any badges is most likely an impersonator?

I can only conclude appearances are only skin deep.

ya lor i saw one of my collegue's type r,

respray to black, remove spoiler, changed rims to normal ones, removed badge.

totally dont look like type r.

the only way to tell is the road tax and brakes.

he scared people want to chiet him.

haha lidat drive picanto no worries.

Just asking out of curiosity because some normal cars look a lot like their racing variants and it seems 90% of white Civics nowadays all have that red H. On the surface looks about the same but one is sheep, one is wolf. [sweatdrop]

I think your rationale is logical. There is a higher chance that someone don't want others to know that he bought a lower-end model of the same range. For example, Civic has 1.6L, 1.8L and 2.0L all have the same exterior. The simplest thing to do is to remove all decal and for you and me to guess. Those really hardcore one, will remove their 1.8L and paste the 2.0L decal.

Of course, I also came across someone who purposely take away their decal though they owned a higher-end model but very rare lah [laugh] .

Regards,

On 5/3/2010 at 4:30 AM, Antonee said:

Those Type-Rers just wanna keep a sleeper profile... what lies beneath is a K20A :D

K20 got so many variants. Non Type-R local SI and American SI also K20 leh.

Regards,

A lot driving CL7 doing the same thing.

its called superhero mentality. look like a normal citizen, but under his clothes is a superman costume who can fly at the speed of light.

Not everybody likes to show off mah. Some people like to be low-profile. [cool]

it probably is a good mentality

road users who will appreciate a CTR are those "in-the-know" and will be able to identify a real CTR without looking the badge. so the badge serves no purpose

those who cannot appreciate what a CTR means as a car, even if you enlarge the badge 10 times for them to see from 1km away also no use, the red R dont mean anything at all, so the bage serves no purpose

so there

I reckon you refer to FD2R?? Cuz there's no way I can hide my identity via debadging... [:)]

If it is me, I also want to debadge the Type R and the spoiler.

To me, low-profile is the best. Keeps jealous people and unwanted comments away. Maybe it is cause my extended family got a lot of bitchy people who tend to make nasty comments and be green eye when people are doing better than them.

Edited by TandemAssassin

The real Type R has signal lights on the wing mirrors right? Last time I used to look for the single exhaut but I think many people modify that.