Car curtain

Lamemonster

so if you wanna install car curtain, please make sure it does not block your blind spot if not you be basically "BLind" on the road.

I only install the rear windows of my MPV, front 2 windows no curtain ... -_-

Let me tell you the story of Car curtain :)

There was once i was at a T Junction turning Right (Only way to turn since i am at small road turning out), the Main road has 3 lanes, and i have 2. I am on the right most car, and there is a car with Curtain on my left.

When the lights turn Green, i just turn keeping to my right (Meaning turning to the Right most lane on the main road since the Left car wants to take the middle lane. BTW, he has curtain on his driver side window although it's not fully drawn, suddenly this kuku bird wants to turn into my lane because his lane is JAM! WTF, i only got 1 lane lor, i was at his blind spot, i immediately SOUND MY Hella HORN continuously.

You guys know what happen next? He heard it and cannot stop in time and crash into the car in front of him, with 1/4 of the car body cutting into my lane, lucky i brake in time, i just proceed, wanted to show him "What the f--k sign" but ya he got a curtain, can't even see his face.

Serve him right for putting a curtain and not able to check blind spot :)

Like what one of the bros said and I quote "ORH BI GOOD!! ANG MOH JIA ZHU LUT!!!" [grin]

I see some curtains comes with poker holes. Even if you draw the curtains, you can still see what is going on outside. Some also comes with UV protection. I have been to Autobacs and thinking of installing one. These curtains comes with heavy duty double-sided tapes. Driving in Singapore/MY is uncomfortable with the Sun directing on you at certain times.

Actually, are curtains LTA friendly or not?

I am thinking of installing it for my rear passenger windows as my wife and 8mth old son sits behind and sometimes the scorching sun shines directly onto them, even with the LTA passing Solar films installed.

As I usually use the car on the road for work purposes, I do not hope to be stopped for having something LTA unfriendly when my purpose is mainly to "not let me family members get irritated by the scorching sun"...

Can anyone help me?

It is illegal when car is moving

I had installed dark (total black colour) curtains on my car 4 doors. So far no problems with the authority. The curtains are a better alternative to tinting the window dark...as you have an option to retract it if wanna see scenery or traveling at night.

Whenever we reach a road block or inspection, we will retract the curtain accordingly.

I am thinking of installing it for my rear passenger windows as my wife and 8mth old son sits behind and sometimes the scorching sun shines directly onto them, even with the LTA passing Solar films installed.

As I usually use the car on the road for work purposes, I do not hope to be stopped for having something LTA unfriendly when my purpose is mainly to "not let me family members get irritated by the scorching sun"...

Can anyone help me?

I ever tot of to install the solar films...but the LTA legal limit cannot prevent scorching sun from shining thru. So I decided to install dark curtains instead. I bought them from Autobacs and DIY. Its not cheap thou... Autobacs as a wide range of curtains to select from, from "fish-net" type to very dark type. I install on all 4 doors of my car!

Once installed, my wife and children sits in the back seat and never complain of hot sun shinning thru anymore. Also when park car under the sun and I draw the curtains, the interior won't be so hot too!

Just IMO and for sharing. [:)]

Edited by TVT

Can anyone help me?

I had both installed Curtain n solar film for my rear window...just did inspection at LTA, no problem at all. My solar film is compliance to regulation, n curtain is total black out....

One thing to add on, wanna do...do it really nicely n try not to go for the standard type...customized curtain is not pricey n finishing is good as well....if u want, can pm me....my friend is doing it n customized measurement. He will take measurement n prepare e curtain in one week...my baby girl now no longer worry abt e direct sunlight.

Edited by Turtlekar

I have this observation about drivers who draw the curtain when driving - they tend to drive recklessly, afterwhich they will hide their face behind the leading edge of the curtain.

Having an aftermarket car curtain really cheapen the car. If it is a kimchi or cheena car, it is even worse!

Car must be fierce, don't make it until looks like a coach.

Having an aftermarket car curtain really cheapen the car. If it is a kimchi or cheena car, it is even worse!

Car must be fierce, don't make it until looks like a coach.

A car looking fierce is not important. Instead it should be comfy to ride on, and that includes shielding away scorching sunlight during the journey.

Please be practical lah. [cool]

I bot mine from mustafa ctr.cost abt $21/pair. Its 50cm by 37-42cm.. Uses double sided tapes. The curtains is like those pull down/stick on screens for cars.it has small tiny holes which allows me to look at my blind spots.

I'd say it helps to block out abt 50% of the sunlight.

Take note there's different sizes for the curtains some r wider to cover taller car windows...for my cerato v2,i used a S size which is 37-43cm high n 50cm wide...

Comparing the price at autobacs,mustafa was much cheaper by abt $6....

A car looking fierce is not important. Instead it should be comfy to ride on, and that includes shielding away scorching sunlight during the journey.

Please be practical lah. [cool]

Different preferences for the two of you. However regardless of which, does being practical include restricting your vision while driving? It is illegal to use it while driving for a reason.

Frankly speaking, having the car tinted to LTA requirements using good quality film is so much better looking and practical than using those ugly looking curtain.

Most of the time I only see those kinchi and cheena car install the curtain. Have never come across a conti car install those o-biang things, other that those that come with nice built-in screens that are retractable and concealed when not in use.

And also it doesn't cost much more than those DIY off-the-rack curtain.

Well, in the end, beauty lies in the eye of the beholder [:)]

Edited by Tayv