Altis Takes The Plunge in Kuantan

Cbx750p

For eg, speed limit on NSH is 110km/h. I am driving at 200km/h. Lamborghini approaching me damn fast. If i don't siam, am i road hogging?

At any point of time, when you are driving on the outermost lane, regardless of speed, above or below the speed limit, and a vehicle behind you is moving faster, you ARE road hogging..

not true at all.

to do a 'fun' controlled oversteer like RWD is hard, but if cornering and suddenly lift off throttle, u can easily induce lift-off oversteer as the weight transfers forward.

i have done this on my kangoo and getz, with scary results. on my combo, the rear flicks out ever so slightly if i attack a corner with heavy throttle then lift off suddenly. of course while i am still stepping on the gas, the default is understeer.

so far so good. just sharing. i play on wide road when no one around [grin]

i second that, FWD can also oversteer

happened in my first ride, without ABS, i lifted throttle turning into sharp corner, realised was going way too fast at the beginning of the turn, then stepped on brakes hard and locked the brakes.... fatal mistake there, which threw the back of the car out and swung 180 degrees.... was a noob then, didn't know how to correct the oversteer and kept steering into the direction of how the car was turning instead of against it.... so there, FWD oversteer on sharp corner at high speed coupled no skills correction = oversteer

Some Altis driver very 'howlian',last month i driving my 370z along ECP doing 110km/h,1 silver Altis[i wonder is he the one.?],flash his headlight at me,this show that some Altis drivers are very fast driver.

110 nia.....most of the Jap/Kor car drove higher than that.

next time give way to car faster than you. dont road hog.

drive safely.. anyway, if u are family car with family, just keep cool and move on.. no point to prove a point in other ppl place.. tio catch, bring to Police lockup spend 1 nite, then u can learn issit? Or still cannot learn will wanna come back SG kpkb Malaysia like this like tat to Singaporean?? make SIngaporean lost face ONLY.. sia suay..

1 word, it's karma.. or carma.. u race, u fail, u suffer.. lucky the driver still live another day to consider if he wish to do it again!!

Edited by Yenyenpark

For eg, speed limit on NSH is 110km/h. I am driving at 200km/h. Lamborghini approaching me damn fast. If i don't siam, am i road hogging?

Yes you are hogging based on the above scenario...

More education is need for our drivers.

One must always know the limit of the car.

If not, not only endanger yourself but also others.

some people never really realise they are road hogging!

who cares you drive @ 200km/h or 100km/h. if someone else is behind you with an open stretch of road infront of you, move aside, thanks.

be it picanto or lambo that's behind you, ^^

Edited by Extramint

very fast Civic TypeR, S200, GTI

sounds like the cars i met during my good friday trip to ktn early tis month. them cars drive pretty reckless too but the altis is an idiot. i juz slow down, let them pass. they wanna die, dun bring others with them.

dat place of accident very nice to speed cos smooth but one or two corners quite tight. it is like going upslope and cornering at the same time. car can fly off the apex pretty easy if grip is lost.

i wonder what the driver experienced or do to make the altis fishtail. I am not even sure whether the altis fishtailed in the first place. In my impression it is not easy to make a FF car fishtail unless he was driving on a slippery tarmac. I only heard of FR cars fishtail because of lift off drifting (unintentionally coming in)

Unless we know the extent of the bend that the car was in and the speed etc then maybe we can make a conclusive reconstruction of events. Fishtail i am doubtful, maybe understeering.

I drive this model of altis and i know understeer comes in quick and furious at speeds in excess of 60km/h if you do a quick and sharp turn. (had a rude shock at a slip road entering PIE when the curvature of the bend suddenly took a drastic angular change.)

This altis stock suspension is stiffer than the previous altis as well as the G9 because Toyota has tuned the torsion beam suspension to be stiffer but still not stiff enough for street racing [:p] so the driver might have discovered this the hard way *ouch

maybe he will explain with "my accelerator stuck, so cannot let you overtake cos i have no control of my speed.." :D :D

i used that when I got stopped at a rd block in malaysia [laugh]

i wonder what the driver experienced or do to make the altis fishtail. I am not even sure whether the altis fishtailed in the first place. In my impression it is not easy to make a FF car fishtail unless he was driving on a slippery tarmac. I only heard of FR cars fishtail because of lift off drifting (unintentionally coming in)

Unless we know the extent of the bend that the car was in and the speed etc then maybe we can make a conclusive reconstruction of events. Fishtail i am doubtful, maybe understeering.

I drive this model of altis and i know understeer comes in quick and furious at speeds in excess of 60km/h if you do a quick and sharp turn. (had a rude shock at a slip road entering PIE when the curvature of the bend suddenly took a drastic angular change.)

This altis stock suspension is stiffer than the previous altis as well as the G9 because Toyota has tuned the torsion beam suspension to be stiffer but still not stiff enough for street racing [:p] so the driver might have discovered this the hard way *ouch

You think if your car came equipped with DSC....will there be a big difference ?

hmm..i thought when you lift off throttle, the weight will shift forward due to inertia?

Yes, so less weight on the rear wheels => less rear traction => tendency to oversteer.

Snap oversteer can be a big issue for inexperienced drivers who feel generally safe with FWD. Never make sudden throttle or brake adjustments mid-corner, especially at high speed or in low grip conditions (like a wet road).

There is a safe way to scrub off understeer if really screaming in a FWD (or FWD-biased) car through a sweeping corner : left-foot-braking. This does the same thing as braking mid-corner (rearward weight, and therefore grip, transfer), but much more smoothly because both throttle and brake are being depressed at the same time (with modulation).

You think if your car came equipped with DSC....will there be a big difference ?

Well in conditions such as when one travels and unexpectedly drives through an oily patch while cornering, the car will starts to yaw and slip sideways. If both the left and right wheels continue to spin at the same rate, this will cause the fishtailing to be exacerbated. However with ESP, the onboard computer can accordingly transfer different amounts of torque/power to the two wheels and help to lessen the drift. And if the driver can steer counter to the direction of the drift, then the fishtailing can be controlled.

But ESP cannot save you if you drive beyond the stipulated limits of your vehicle.

i thk this guy did an unintentional trail brake oversteer, causing him to "drift" sideways n flip.... if u track cars, trail braking can induce lots of oversteer & its as effective as early brake late apex cutting... he prob underestimated the angle of the long corner & had to trail brake at high speed into the corner.. ok on track with big runoff but not a B road...

Edited by Duckduck

Can explain what is trail braking? I never heard before. It can correct understeering in FF cars??

In the past i try to correct understeering by blipping the throttle i.e. on off stepping on the accelerator. I always thought stepping on the brakes suddenly in the bend is a dangerous thing to do.

Edited by Happily1986

I won't even try to catch up with the fast cars for a start. Makes me tink more than a few times esp with my family in the car.

The point going holiday is to enjoy ourselves, so whoever @$$holes tink they can go faster and wanna overtake, by all means go ahead. I wil make sure i slow down for them and have a super big gap so that they wil not endanger myself and my family.

I feel sorry for the altis tat flipped cos his holiday is ruined. He's left with a wrecked car and bruised ego due to his 'sportmanship' [shakehead]

Edited by SaNibOy