Maid dies saving baby girl from SMRT Bus

Mustank

Agreed bro, I am going to be a dad soon and when I read that article, I can't even figure how to even go about trying "compensate" the maid's family for their loss.

For me I think "compensate" is the wrong word to use. Compensate brings to made some judgement of the "fair valiue" of the maid's life....much as you can be "compensated" for your time at work, or "compensated" for loss of income. how do you ever make such a value judgement? especially when it is a voluntarily offered payment, and not something that is mandated by any rule, agreement or law?

I feel that it should be thought of more as a "TOKEN of appreciation for a good deed" (and yes, its one heck of a good deed!) - so in that sense its the more from the thought that goes in from the givers side that has significance. Not the economic value of the gift per-se.

I have no idea what sort of hardship or otherwise the family went through to raise the money, but its a symbolic gesture, more than an actual attemept to "pay" for the maids life, so should be viewed that way.

And CONGRATS MAN - when due?

Edited by Darryn

Sis

sorry to have mixed you up with leepee. [:p]

neh mind :D

i'm just saying maybe the family poor so 10k is alot to them.

i prefer to give people a benefit of doubt instead of calling them stingy without understanding the family's finacial situation.

so if they are really poor, it's not like they dont want to do more. is they cannot.

what else you want them to do? sell their house? empty their savings?

Here is a more complete news report :

http://www.asiaone.com/News/The%2BNew%2BPa...426-212533.html

Seeing u guys and gals having intense discussion, here are some extract.

"Her contract was going to end in September this year, and we were supposed to extend it, and even give her an increment."

Thrifty

Miss Puji, who has four siblings, was thrifty, and saved most of her monthly $360 salary in a bank account, spending only $10 on a calling card to call home.

She had planned to remit the money to her 55-year-old mother, who suffers from high blood pressure.

Don't conveniently take Indon payscale of $50 and then use 16.7 years payout to "beautify" your stats. It's an insult to the maid's heroism. (MIW loves to play with stats this way too.)

She was working in Singapore and she chose the kid's life over her own plus her income forgone. But your post sounds damn calculative. Why?

Because got insurance cover so she damn lucky (or her family) to get 1 more cent over and above the damn insurance payout.

I AM NOT EVEN SUGGESTING THAT THEY PAY OUT IN ONE SHOT (READ MY EARLIER POSTS). AS DARRYN SUGGESTED THAT IT IS NOT POSSIBLE TO PUT A FIGURE TO IT, I STILL THINK 10K IS pittance FOR OWN KID"S LIFE.

NOBODY HERE KNOWS THE FAMILY HERE PERSONALLY BUT EVERYONE ASSUMES THAT THEY ARE poor JUST BECAUSE THEY HAVE A CCK ADDRESS. ONLY PIG FARMERS LIVE IN CCK?

If you have a kid and a maid (in that same pre accident scene) and if God froze time for 10s and tells you to choose:

a) continue to pay your maid monthly salary (till her kids until they are no longer of school going age) if she sacrifices herself for your kid

Or

b) she saves herself and she pays you 10k to compensate you for your kid (which is an economic gain since you like to talk insurance technicalities, and kid's do not generate an income and should not represent any financial loss, should you should be jumping for joy that the maid is going to pay you 10k)

Going by your reasoning, you would choose b), no?

But I hope not. Insurance only looks at the numbers, it does not include the loss of a mother/ wife/ daughter (even if you think just because this is an Indon we are talking and hence 10k is A LOT to them).

This is a good one... [laugh] [laugh]

I thing the family should pay the maid family her monthly salary until the baby grow up then the grown up "baby" continue to pay the maid family the monthly salary for the rest of his/her life because the "baby" owe his/her life to the maid. If not for the poor maid the "baby" will not be alive. This way no need cough up big sum of money not so heart pain and they can sleep better at night. <_<

Yep. Somewhere along that line.

Now they have the right of way mah....dont you see the behind sticker "Give way" if we see them coming out of bus bay , must give way to them. if we are too near , must jamm ebrake.They will also come out cos they have the right of way mah.....sibei stress ...nowadays everytime approaching bus bay .I everytime need to ebrake cos they dun bother to look anymore as come out of bus bay as they have "Right of Way" endosed by you know who!!

Edited by Raygooh

SGD10k to exchange to rupiah aint alot lah. can't even buy Toyota Kijang (aka Toyota Unser in Malaysia).

but what the employer has done is quite touching. at least they sent back the money for the maid's family to tide over this difficult period.

the maid was really selfless.

Edited by Arikevin