Silviu Ionescu continues to enjoy diplomatic immunity

Blackseal

By Teh Joo Lin

ROMANIA sent Singapore a diplomatic note last Friday asserting that former charge d'affaires Silviu Ionescu continues to enjoy diplomatic immunity for the hit-and-run case of Dec 15.

This is puzzling, said Foreign Minister George Yeo, as 'it seems to imply that Romania is now claiming that Dr Ionescu was engaged in official duties at the time of the accident and we do not understand how this can possibly be the case'.

On the other hand, Romanian media reports suggest that the Romanian police may be preparing to arrest the suspended diplomat. The police there have told Interpol that they have the competence to prosecute him and they have started criminal proceedings against him.

Going KTV and flirting with Korean MILF are legit bro. Thats why they call 'official' duties.

what's so puzzling, mr yeo?..... politics is like that..... [laugh]

That car has immunity protection when it hit the guy. It was still after all a diplomatic car at all times!

I think as long as he is away from romania and is officially appointed as diplomat, and SINGAPORE granted him diplomatic entry to Singapore. Then 100% he has immunity while he is here AT ALL TIMES.

It does not matter whether he is doing his shitting business or having a bonk with KTV girls or eating mee siam mai hum at geylang or buying video camera at luckies........he is still a diplomatic while doing those non-diplomatic things.

Does it mean that a ministers is NOT a ministers after 5:30pm(or whatever their official office hours)?

So after office hours, Dr. Chee can say anything about them and the ministers cannot sue using gov funds because they are just ordinary person at that time?

Anyone can tell me when is SM and MM an ordinary citizen? What time or condition?

From the ST today..."...The MFA spokesman said: 'Ambassador Neagu gave the assurance that if the investigations determined that Dr Ionescu was acting in a private capacity at the material time of the accident, the Romanian authorities would take 'full legal action' against Dr Ionescu.'"

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_520619.html

What "investigations" are needed, i wonder?? Is there any doubt that he was acting in his "private capacity" in the wee hours of the morning when the hit and run happened? What kind of "official" duty will take a diplomat to KTV for b'day party??? [hur] [hur] [hur]

I'm surprised such an obvious time-delaying excuse can be accepted.

That car has immunity protection when it hit the guy. It was still after all a diplomatic car at all times!

I think as long as he is away from romania and is officially appointed as diplomat, and SINGAPORE granted him diplomatic entry to Singapore. Then 100% he has immunity while he is here AT ALL TIMES.

It does not matter whether he is doing his shitting business or having a bonk with KTV girls or eating mee siam mai hum at geylang or buying video camera at luckies........he is still a diplomatic while doing those non-diplomatic things.

Does it mean that a ministers is NOT a ministers after 5:30pm(or whatever their official office hours)?

So after office hours, Dr. Chee can say anything about them and the ministers cannot sue using gov funds because they are just ordinary person at that time?

Anyone can tell me when is SM and MM an ordinary citizen? What time or condition?

I like your argument. Simple yet logical.... [thumbsup]

Actually technically, when the Parkliament is disolved, all the mini-sters and including both of them are no longer SM, MM, PM, FM and what M....... cause technically, there is no more govt..... awaiting the next next erection to erect teh new Parkliament and the new govt to erect the new cabbage.... errr Cabinet......

But in real life.... hmmm...... [rolleyes]

Basically Romania is asking Singapore to SUCK IT!

ya lar, they wanna play good guy and bad guy..... at one end, their Ambassador say they will cooperate fully, justice will be served blah blah.... cause his ass is here, can kena butter left right centre.... back home, the Romania MOFA another pattern...... they are at home turf, cannot touch them..... [knife] .......... so taichi here taichi there until someday..... either we SIN chagne gov or Romania change gov, then the whole thing just disolved in thin air.... [rifle]

haha even in chinese mythology, all the Gods and Fairy are off duty on the 23rd day onwards of the 12th lunar month until the Chinese New Year.....like u say though, in real life, people still claim their reputation as M is compromised during general erection.

Like I've said before...since diplomatic cockanathan session does not work....just hire mecenaries to either bring that fat arse back by force aka USA and Israeli style...or cheaper and less hassle....just put afew slugs into his fat oil filled body [knife][rifle] .....case closed...everybody happy.....and we send a signal we can get you anytime anywhere....just dun fark around with S'poreans especially when u are in our territority [pirate][nod]

Our ambassador over at Romania also enjoy immunity right? Why need to hire a third-party. :D

Shd review all business transections with organisations with diplomatic immunity. Imagine rent a property to a diplomat, and they default. What recourse then, if manslaughter/murder is not a deterent. Hmm.. does family members of diplomats also enjoy immunity?