Aimnfire 4th Gear April 24, 2010 Share April 24, 2010 actually size play apart once when i was in my friend car, my friend tap his horn (tap not press) to warn a car trying to change into our lane without signalling (too close) the guy not happy tail gate us when he overtake us, he signal us to stop at the side so my friend stop aside the guy came out with his passenger but when my friend came out together with me plus 3 more guys sitting behind (his rear window darn dark), as our size weight is between 90-110kg those guys whose saw us quickly get back into their car and drove off my friend ask me whether want to play with them i told him forget it as we are late for our training ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mindbox33 1st Gear April 24, 2010 Author Share April 24, 2010 i think for sure bro that stretch of road is really CB one left side sometimes got taxi stop or worse illegal parking right side got to be aware of pedestrians who sometimes just dash from the bushes anyway opposite of the road you travelling is where the poor kindergarden kid was killed by the subaru car up till now still got a lot of jay walking i guess the kid was not elite enough to warrant a make over for pedestrian crossing along that stretch ya... tis incident 'stretch' to that part where the last incident is... but mine is at the punggol plaza side. so i decide to stop..n make tis u turn under the LRT track.. to avoid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 24, 2010 Share April 24, 2010 my bad... i tot both of you in different lane Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear April 24, 2010 Share April 24, 2010 anyway, its over... i sincerely apologise to that Bro who i have horned jus now.. i caused the misunderstanding.... but i hope he can cool down n think fr my point of view.. matter of fact is - when u swerve in the both times, i did not press my pedal HARD to close up n STOP u from coming in.. in fact, i press my brake to let u come in both time... n my horn only came in after the 2nd time. hope he have cool down already... anyway bro if the guy you horn live in punggol i'm not surprise he act that way cause too many idiots and ego maniac drivers living in punggol estate Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Branteo Clutched April 24, 2010 Share April 24, 2010 If majority of drivers possess such behavioural trait, ... and judging by the no. of time I am compelled to tap my horn, ... I'll probably have hordes of cars chasing me - somewhat similar to fanatic fans chasing Jay Chou. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mindbox33 1st Gear April 24, 2010 Author Share April 24, 2010 (edited) my bad... i tot both of you in different lane its alright.. no one bad.. as u can see.. even reading a message can lead to some comfusion.. me nt surprised that he mistook my intention. Edited April 24, 2010 by Mindbox33 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 24, 2010 Share April 24, 2010 Jus to share this incident n probably apologise to this driver.. i was leaving my fren hse..travelling on this punggol field rd heading punggol plaza. stopped at a red light junction w quite nos of cars on both lanes. after the junction, LEFT side is whole stretch of HDB blk w many carpark entrance/exit point. right side is LRT track. green light on...i was on right lane.. this black saloon car A (din remember wat car) was in front me.. n 1x mini bus B infront of tis black saloon car..moving off... left lane also many cars moving off slowly... tis mini bus honestly was very slow la... so car A start to lane change to left lane... 50% of his car into left lane.. i pick up to close the gap.. but he suddenly change back to right lane (coz left side traffic much more slower). i had to brake to giveway. so back to square 1. few metres later... after he pass the slow moving car on the left.. he start to lane change to left... slightly more than 50% car body into left lane...i pick up to close the gap.. he suddenly swerve back again... reason: taxi stopped to pick up passenger. so i brake again... not knowing how many times car A wan to try this way of driving.. so i horn him 2 times.. i guess its those 1 sec horn x 2 times. he jam brake in front of me.. switch left tis time... so i side by side w him.. he wind down window.. start swearing n scolding.. w gestures. me jus totally dun care. he pick up speed n move forward, hazard light n stop by left side of road.. think he wanted me to stop together w him to talk.. but i jus carry on driving on my right lane. never once i look at him or any gestures. he chase me..side by side n swearing again. i right u-turn to avoid same road... anyway to Car A buddy... if my horn did hurt u watever way of so.. i apologised to u, sincerely. because of tis, i neva react to ur challenge.. but cooling down to think.. u wan to enjoy the comfort on driving on both lanes so that u can take ur chance to overtake the mini bus is kinda not considerate to others..hope u understand. lastly, my sincere apology to u. We are driving modern marvel machines with AirBags, Sensors of every kind to make the car more "Intelligent". Computerised ECM system. Safety designs like crumple zones etc etc. The list goes on.... Yet we use the most primitive ways of communicating on the road - the HORN and Flashing Headlights. Frankly if Sounds of Horn are in Morse code, at least we can communicate, there is no special language to it which makes communication impossible. Like for example - How do you communicate with the car beside you that their Reaer Left Tire is almost Flat ?? or the Right Door is not closed properly ? I tried the horn only to get MIDDLE FINGER sometimes. I proposed the use of LED panels fitted on the Front Dashboard, and back rear screen with below functions : 1. A Standard Set of Messages that relates to road conditions to be programmed and legalised by LTA. Telling to the car in fornt or back the dangers or your intentions. 2. There will be voice recognition and if vulgar words are spoken or the sentence has threats, the message will be not displayed. 3. You can add License Plate (voice recognition) to the standard messages to single out the car in front or behind you want to attention. This can be possible with today's technology. Any Venture Capitalists here ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear April 24, 2010 Share April 24, 2010 i guess my apology is for my horn to him.. tats y he react so badly towards me. tats y i also did not look at him for any possible further confrontation. seriously no need to apologize and if i were u, i sure come out of the car to challenge him... see who will be the one running away 1st if i challenge to call TP come down to settle the dispute see who rite or wrong... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 24, 2010 Share April 24, 2010 We are driving modern marvel machines with AirBags, Sensors of every kind to make the car more "Intelligent". Computerised ECM system. Safety designs like crumple zones etc etc. The list goes on.... Yet we use the most primitive ways of communicating on the road - the HORN and Flashing Headlights. Frankly if Sounds of Horn are in Morse code, at least we can communicate, there is no special language to it which makes communication impossible. Like for example - How do you communicate with the car beside you that their Reaer Left Tire is almost Flat ?? or the Right Door is not closed properly ? I tried the horn only to get MIDDLE FINGER sometimes. I proposed the use of LED panels fitted on the Front Dashboard, and back rear screen with below functions : 1. A Standard Set of Messages that relates to road conditions to be programmed and legalised by LTA. Telling to the car in fornt or back the dangers or your intentions. 2. There will be voice recognition and if vulgar words are spoken or the sentence has threats, the message will be not displayed. 3. You can add License Plate (voice recognition) to the standard messages to single out the car in front or behind you want to attention. This can be possible with today's technology. Any Venture Capitalists here ?? will invest if you allow me to put the 'F**K Off' as a default message [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 24, 2010 Share April 24, 2010 will invest if you allow me to put the 'F**K Off' as a default message [laugh] The messages is approved by LTA only. The gadget needs to have tamper proofing to ensure people like you don't Tweak it to display F.O. Seriously don't you think this will help solve many issues on the roads ? Think of it - if it works in Spore, it works globally... bro... think of the $$$$$$$ if I patent it... I think I will go patent it b4 you do... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear April 24, 2010 Share April 24, 2010 anyway bro if the guy you horn live in punggol i'm not surprise he act that way cause too many idiots and ego maniac drivers living in punggol estate Wah bro, you want all "punggolian" go after u, isit.... :D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nojoke123 1st Gear April 24, 2010 Share April 24, 2010 if assuming u stop and talk... wat's going to happen ? it will be good if he hits u... God bless him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Doublechin38 Neutral Newbie April 30, 2010 Share April 30, 2010 It is good to horn him.. ask him to wake up his damn bloody idea Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged April 30, 2010 Share April 30, 2010 It is good to horn him.. ask him to wake up his damn bloody idea if you horn, does that make you horny? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear April 30, 2010 Share April 30, 2010 With all due respect, you didn't seem sincere in your apology by your title, more like sacastic. From what you said, I think both party are wrong, but the other driver being more wrong. Assuming you accerate considerably to "close the gap", its a very bad habit of alot drivers here. If the driver in front is already traveling at normal speed, there is no need to "close the gap". Otherwise, pickup should be gradual to give drivers of other lanes time to react for changing lanes. there is nothing wrong, however to horn him if he cut in suddenly or lane waving. I would have done the same. His reaction after that is even worst. You did the right thing by ignoring him. I would advice just be concious in future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mindbox33 1st Gear April 30, 2010 Author Share April 30, 2010 agree... it may be sarcastic... but i also apologise for that horn matter.. btw, i gradually increase my speed to close up the gap.. if not, i happy happy leave the gap there... sure other ppl horn me.. how then? i also will not happy too.. so to avoid being slow to move up n being horn at.. i move up lo... all tis i still in my own lane. in view of traffic courtesy.. n cautious.. one mistake by others may lead u to 'anything' .. after the 1st n 2nd time.. i horn.. its for my safety too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear April 30, 2010 Share April 30, 2010 well, i think the 2 lanes are filled w cars moving forward... i also dun wan to be horn by the car behind me at for being slow to move up... i guess its a common style by many drivers tat if the car in front of u move away to other lane.. we tend to move forward.. isnt it? for ur first question: my intention was clear, i close in because he already 50% into other lane.. then he cut back suddenly coz the lane he is switching in got a much more slower car, so he swerve in again. so i brake n let him come in - FIRST TIME. courtesy rite? no question asked. 2nd time, he tried again.. slightly more than 50% change to left lane... 'oh s--t..got taxi stop'...so he swerve back once again... now tis time then i horn tis time... not the first time. so am i being danger driving by slowing picking up my speed to close the gap? i give way first time... but 2nd time, i let him come in again... then i press my horn to alert him. Nowadays, ppl driving style different liao. Should practice defensive driving and waiting till the car go to another lane. Defensive driving also require you to anticipate other ppl's driving behaviour if you can see ahead of what he/she is heading to as well. That few seconds gain by assuming you can proceed first will not benefit you that much in your whole lifetime. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf5725 1st Gear April 30, 2010 Share April 30, 2010 agree... it may be sarcastic... but i also apologise for that horn matter.. btw, i gradually increase my speed to close up the gap.. if not, i happy happy leave the gap there... sure other ppl horn me.. how then? i also will not happy too.. so to avoid being slow to move up n being horn at.. i move up lo... all tis i still in my own lane. in view of traffic courtesy.. n cautious.. one mistake by others may lead u to 'anything' .. after the 1st n 2nd time.. i horn.. its for my safety too. You are assuming other ppl will horn you when you dont SPEED UP. That is what you think. For your safety, you should be more cautious of what he will do next. No point to horn. I did like what you did before. But frankly, to horn in this case by me is to show "displeasure" to the car in front. nothing much. I dont give honourable excuse of it. And by whatever reason you are given to horn at that time, it will only make the matter worse. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...