Need some advice on coolant... thanks

Ken4555

Hi all...

Need expert advice... After warranty for my sunny ended. I no longer go to Tan Cheong. I now do my servicing based on my little knowledge of cars... After checking my car's service history... I think I should be in time for a coolant change.

I hv heard numerous things abt coolant for the car...

*trakies say just water by itself is best for track day... For normal everyday driving a little coolant is good enuf.

*old mechanics say water will do... Coolant will spoil the radiator... But I believe its the mixing of different coolants that will react and cause damage.

*so I believe safest to put pre-mixed coolant... But cost factor lah... And many pre-mixed coolant I find has anti-freeze... Useless in SG and lowers the efficiency of the coolant.

*so I think a coolant made for the tropics without antifreeze makes more sense.

*heard that improper mix ratio is bad... But why? I've heard some ppl put 100% coolant concentrate into the radiator... No problems... But that is even more expensive than pre-mixed.

So I finally decided after considering for a few days... Earlier in the evening I drained out my old coolant... Only very slight green... Kept pouring a lot of water in until only clear water came out... Filled it up with only tap water (SG water is soft n safe) and turned on the engine for a few minutes... Off engine then drain again... Tis time some more slight green water came out... And I poured tap water till it got clear again... I also took out the whole reservoir and washed it... Sooooo dusty below and could see some rust sediments inside... God...

Took a puff while waiting for the radiator to drip dry totally... Then I poured 500ml of Japanese made for tropics green coolant into the radiator (label says 35% mix best...) and topped up a bottle of distilled water. Then I poured a bottle of Gunk radiator additive in... Then top up till brim with distilled water. I poured another bottle of coolant into the reservior n top to max with distilled water... Drove around for 5mins... An hour later I topped up somemore distilled water into the radiator... Now just drove to pick my wife in town. Temp is lower than usual slightly... WOW!!! Maybe my old coolant was very very old... Haha...

Now I don't know if i did anything wrong... anyone here has hands-on experience with coolant change? Thanks... [:)]

My coolant change occurred at 40k and 80k mileage respectively.

I use OEM specified coolant (at a certain percentage) with water (of another specific percentage).

No additive is used. And I don't believe in any of them either. :D

I always refer back to the manual. Everything is stated there. [nod]

My coolant change occurred at 40k and 80k mileage respectively.

I use OEM specified coolant (at a certain percentage) with water (of another specific percentage).

No additive is used. And I don't believe in any of them either. :D

I always refer back to the manual. Everything is stated there. [nod]

thanks bro...

i checked my manual it says coolant 30%... but 50% if winter tempretures... so i assume Nissan Green coolant got antifreeze properties...

i checked toyota's red coolant also got antifreeze...

blue ice also got anti freeze...

premixed ones at autobacs also got anti freeze...

i almost tried Rev-1's pre-mixed coolant at Autosaver... tink it was $48 for 4L... they also have their own premixed coolant at $10 a liter... i see not much difference in price... so rather premix myself... to confirm i do not have anti freeze in my radiator... ^_^

lets just hope my water pump will be fine... keeping my fingers crossed... :D

thanks bro...

i checked my manual it says coolant 30%... but 50% if winter tempretures... so i assume Nissan Green coolant got antifreeze properties...

i checked toyota's red coolant also got antifreeze...

blue ice also got anti freeze...

premixed ones at autobacs also got anti freeze...

i almost tried Rev-1's pre-mixed coolant at Autosaver... tink it was $48 for 4L... they also have their own premixed coolant at $10 a liter... i see not much difference in price... so rather premix myself... to confirm i do not have anti freeze in my radiator... ^_^

lets just hope my water pump will be fine... keeping my fingers crossed... :D

You DIY or get workshop to do for you?

All coolant have anti-freeze either Polypylene Glycol or Ethylene Glycol. Do not be mistaken,anti-freeze is more than just preventing the coolant from freeze during very cold weather , with right mix it helps to improve the coolant boiling temp. Also it is a rust inhibitor

List extracted from a manufacturer for your perusal

*50/50 mixture the coolant will boil at 107 deg C (225deg F) and freeze at -37deg C (-35deg F)

*A 70/30 mixture the coolant will boil at 135 deg C (276deg F) and freeze at -64deg C (-84deg F)

*A solution with more than 70% antifreeze will give less protection.

*Pure antifreeze will freeze at -21C (-6 F )

Note! Distilled or deionized water should be used for Propylene glycol solutions. City water is often treated with chlorine, which is corrosive, and should be avoided. One of the best method to determine if the coolant is properly mixed is to measure the strength or concentration of the antifreeze with a hydrometer. After checking then you can safely decide to add more antifreeze or distilled water.

Edited by Yeobh

Extracted from a racing product site

"Cool-Aide mixes with water and antifreeze. Cool-Aide is for race use and does not offer freeze protection. Approved for race use on paved surfaces. "

The coolant have anitfreeze but maybe not more than 30%.

Edited by Yeobh

All coolant have anti-freeze either Polypylene Glycol or Ethylene Glycol. Do not be mistaken,anti-freeze is more than just preventing the coolant from freeze during very cold weather , with right mix it helps to improve the coolant boiling temp. Also it is a rust inhibitor

*50/50 mixture the coolant will boil at 107 deg C (225deg F) and freeze at -37deg C (-35deg F)

*A 70/30 mixture the coolant will boil at 135 deg C (276deg F) and freeze at -64deg C (-84deg F)

Note! Distilled or deionized water should be used for Propylene glycol solutions. City water is often treated with chlorine, which is corrosive, and should be avoided. One of the best method to determine if the coolant is properly mixed is to measure the strength or concentration of the antifreeze with a hydrometer. After checking then you can safely decide to add more antifreeze or distilled water.

can i say that 50/50 mixture have better conductivty than 70/30 (70 coolant and 30 water) rite? correct me if i am wrong.

30% antifreeze and 70% distilled water is OK for tropical spore.

50/50 is always the recommeded mixture as the 50% antifreeze will provide the necessary lub for the water pump bearing and prevent rust formation in the system

Edited by Yeobh

The coolant should be mixed with plain water, preferably demineralized water or distilled water."

I couldn't find any specific recommendations for Nissan.You may try to use this Nissan Long Life coolant.The maintenance schedule for coolant is 4 years/60,000 miles

bro, OT abit.. sunny's headlamp is H7 or H1 ah? paiseh, cos i change headlamp so intend to pass mine to my dad.

H1...

wah bro... you coolant expert.... thanks yah...

so my radiator now is approx 30% coolant and 70% distilled water and a approx 250ml bottle of coolant additive from Gunk... my resorivor is 80% coolant and 20% water... so far i topped up to max one additional time... i should be safe right?...

and whats your take on ppl who put 99% coolant concentrate in their radiators? thanks...

The coolant should be mixed with plain water, preferably demineralized water or distilled water."

I couldn't find any specific recommendations for Nissan.You may try to use this Nissan Long Life coolant.The maintenance schedule for coolant is 4 years/60,000 miles

i think 4 years not a good idea... anyways i saw the coolant in my resorvior tank like not very clear so i log on to TC and checked when was my last coolant change... over 20k liao... so decided to do the change...

seems outside easier to get hold of toyota's pre-mix coolant then Nissan's... [:)]

next i wanna change my gear oil... but everywhere i go different info i get... what your take bro? thanks

For daylight,you may use H1

i dont understand what you mean by for daylight can use H1... can use other size meh?... [confused]

P or E Glycol will increase both the boiling and freezing temp if it is mix is the right mixture with distilled water.100% does means higher boiling or lower boiling point.

Cooling system coolant , as a rule of thumb will be chemically less effective after two years of usages. You can test the antifreeze effectiveness with a special hydrometer.Also it's good to test the coolant for PH value to determine the acid and akaline value. Once the PH value is way far below of too high chances you will have corrosion taking place and the coolant may emmit very bad smell.

P or E Glycol will increase both the boiling and freezing temp if it is mix is the right mixture with distilled water.100% does means higher boiling or lower boiling point.

Cooling system coolant , as a rule of thumb will be chemically less effective after two years of usages. You can test the antifreeze effectiveness with a special hydrometer.Also it's good to test the coolant for PH value to determine the acid and akaline value. Once the PH value is way far below of too high chances you will have corrosion taking place and the coolant may emmit very bad smell.

thanks for sharing all the info... [thumbsup]

but i dont think i will have a 'hydrometer' to test my coolant... so i will change be4 2yrs for sure... that is if i do drive my car that much longer... [:)]

as for wat i heard... too much antifreeze will lower the efficiency of the coolant right? the coolant i used states its made for tropics... has anti rust anti corrossion and dont know what... but does not state anti-freez.. cause i was actually looking for a coolant without antifreeze... but seriously... wat i used is not manufacturer's coolent so i'm keeping my fingers crossed... checking more frequently my coolant level and ride temperature... [:)]