Newbie female driver needs help (directions)

Peppermint

Yes, your assumption is right.

I was very pro, right from the start. God given talent.

During learner days, instructor teach once, and i'm done learning.

Instructor say i drive too steadily for first timer.

Day of the test, he said that I definitely wont pass becos i only went thru the circuit once, not familiar enough. I told him that i will definitely pass if base on merits alone. and I did. stuff his mouth with his own words. Anyway that was 17 years ago.

no I'm not superman but my psychomotor capabilities, observation abilities, sharp senses are above that of the normal average human being. Clinically tested and proven. .

Yes I agree experience is important. but for TS, she needs retraining first before experience.

putting her on the roads is like allowing ah bengs the right the bear arms, accident waiting to happen.

so I suggest, let an experienced driver guide her at least a few times so that she can at the very least be realistically road worthy .

Yes experience is one thing

I totally concur with the above. Awareness is god-given talent, experience can only serve as lesser alternative.

Hi hi all ,

I'm new here and sorry to tag along this thread , but the system says I have less than 25 posts so I can't start a new thread .

I'm also a newbie driver and recently bought a second hand Mitsubishi Colt 1.5A . Can I know whether is it normal that the Colt does not automatically start moving slowly when I have already put it in D (drive) mode and have removed my foot from the brake . It only moves when I step on the accelerator . Is it a safety feature or is there something wrong with the gear box ? [bigcry] But otherwise , all else is quite smooth and okay . Checked with the 2nd hand car dealer he said it is okay but I juz wanna be sure .

Please please advise . Thank you all many many ... [flowerface]

are you female driver??

Hi hi all ,

I'm new here and sorry to tag along this thread , but the system says I have less than 25 posts so I can't start a new thread .

I'm also a newbie driver and recently bought a second hand Mitsubishi Colt 1.5A . Can I know whether is it normal that the Colt does not automatically start moving slowly when I have already put it in D (drive) mode and have removed my foot from the brake . It only moves when I step on the accelerator . Is it a safety feature or is there something wrong with the gear box ? [bigcry] But otherwise , all else is quite smooth and okay . Checked with the 2nd hand car dealer he said it is okay but I juz wanna be sure .

Please please advise . Thank you all many many ... [flowerface]

...1.5A not enuff power to move on its own lol.....no worries juz tab the gas paddle a little & it will move along just fine......

erh....sis pepermint, dont mind me asking, have you made your trip to T3 yet? i'm delaying my trip there till you've made yours........ [:p]

sounds like you are in the aviation line?

No I'm actually just a doctor. The closest I've actually got to flying a plane is jumping out of it (READ: Tandems are for Sissies ) hehehehe

Edited by Throttle2

...1.5A not enuff power to move on its own lol.....no worries juz tab the gas paddle a little & it will move along just fine......

Are you sure 1.5A not enough power to move on if accelerator is not stepped? Dont smoke here lah. [laugh]

Hi

Very embarrassing to be posting this but can i ask, if i wish to drive to Changi Airport, is there any sign or stuff to look out for? I'm going to T3 and have the worst sense of direction. I've not driven for more than a year already :wacko: I'm driving there from Jurong West. I'm scared of driving into the wrong lanes, later end up cannot find the carpark. Also, will the carpark be very crowded around 5am? My parking skill is almost non-existent, will be parking as far away from other cars as possible :ph34r:

OMFG [shocked][shocked] road hazard [shakehead]

First, check three things:-

1. Handbrake released

2. Inclination of the ground, ie slope

3. Idle RPM at 1200-1500

Otherwise, send to a mechanic to run a routine check or time for a good service. Not a big issue.

OMG ! U are so rite ! I did not release the handbrake ! OMG OMG OMG ! :D Hahahaha !!! Phew ! Lucky din drive too long distance . Thanks all very very much . :D

Hi

Very embarrassing to be posting this but can i ask, if i wish to drive to Changi Airport, is there any sign or stuff to look out for? I'm going to T3 and have the worst sense of direction. I've not driven for more than a year already :wacko: I'm driving there from Jurong West. I'm scared of driving into the wrong lanes, later end up cannot find the carpark. Also, will the carpark be very crowded around 5am? My parking skill is almost non-existent, will be parking as far away from other cars as possible :ph34r:

Just some advices for you.

1) Invest on a gps

2) Drive slowly

3) Read the street directory first

4) Plan your time, go 1-2 hrs earlier just in case you "get lost"

5) Go practice the route

Cheers and enjoy driving! [:p]

OMG ! U are so rite ! I did not release the handbrake ! OMG OMG OMG ! :D Hahahaha !!! Phew ! Lucky din drive too long distance . Thanks all very very much . :D

[shocked][shocked] faint... [dead]

Oh, no wonder...good for you [laugh] I had to take the test thrice at Ubi before i passed...

===========

Hi Peppermint. Looking at the questions u r asking, it is obvious u r very unfamiliar with driving. Maybe u sud try to ask a fren who is an experienced driver to guide u otherwise u might not really ustand the replies from here.

Or just come to our Meet-Up this thu 29th Apr abt 9-10pm at Yishun Dam(YD). We sud meet earlier at some place for dinner/supper around there & then proceed to YD for some chit-chat.

The pple there can guide u on any questions u might have about your car.

Or u can try AA. Attend 1 of their basic motoring courses & there u can ask them any questions u might have.

Cheers & good luck. [wave]

I know it's a simple question but i really really hardly drive or even take the cabs lor. I only take the buses or mrt. If not for the fact that taking cab to changi airport at 5am then back to jurong is so expensive, i would have taken one anytime [:|]

nothing wrong with the question...in fact..if u remember, i'm the first one to reply u on that...just that, i find the nature behavious of male

I sound male meh ? [laugh]

well, you did not declare.....

if you not male, maybe you are shemale instead!!

anyways you have your answer lioa.... :)