Singapore got place to catch crabs?

Imamiah

Years ago, my brother use to catch crab from the whampoa canal. The ones with grass batches(instead of support concrete walls at the side banks). Can catch good size crabs, even soo hock fish there too. SERIOUS [nod] But penty of snakes tho.......... [sweatdrop]

Have to walk along the banks at nite with torch lights and using fishing nets with pole. U have to fish them out directly Crab nets with bait wont work.

U can try to recee first. As long as the grass have not been converted to concrete walls, there should be crabs.

Forget about sembawang park and bedok jetty.........over many years, i only see baby size crabs been caught.

Orelse you can go to yishun reservior and catch prawns.........but have to use line/hook with chicken liver as bait.

Chop & confirm sure can catch penty of good size prawns.....and its not illegal hor. [lipsrsealed]

Yeah, thanks for sharing that Sembawang no more liao. Whampoa sounds interesting. But scared got snakes, coz maybe the wives coming along.

bro try out the other jetty further up from bedok jetty..went there ard cny period n during full moon high tide..managed to catch abt 15 nos of good sized mud crabs..but i used string ray meat though..try your luck bro..

bro, u mean this jetty? tot under construction? can tell me which one? thanks!

post-2256-1271860215_thumb.jpg

i used to catch at senoko power station costal area, got to get into water up to the chest level and throw the nest..

i hardly see ppl go there , so i assume could be still possible to catch some...

for flower crab is very much depend on season...

i used to cath basketful at senoko area till i get scare and then dont dare to go any more...just some funny funny feeling..

Years ago, my brother use to catch crab from the whampoa canal. The ones with grass batches(instead of support concrete walls at the side banks). Can catch good size crabs, even soo hock fish there too. SERIOUS [nod] But penty of snakes tho.......... [sweatdrop]

Have to walk along the banks at nite with torch lights and using fishing nets with pole. U have to fish them out directly Crab nets with bait wont work.

U can try to recee first. As long as the grass have not been converted to concrete walls, there should be crabs.

Forget about sembawang park and bedok jetty.........over many years, i only see baby size crabs been caught.

Orelse you can go to yishun reservior and catch prawns.........but have to use line/hook with chicken liver as bait.

Chop & confirm sure can catch penty of good size prawns.....and its not illegal hor. [lipsrsealed]

u mean wild prawns?or those in the bottle tree park pond?

I went once to upper east coast road and there is a monsoon canal that leads toward inland and out flowing into bedok sea.

Must wear water boots and head-band touch light with 3 point sharp spear and go under all the covers of the canal stretch to search and spearing the crabs. It use to hide around concrete pillars and other heavy objects.

prawn at yishun ?? can provide more info like what kind of prawn....actual location....how to catch...etc.....that sounds interesting...

Flower crabs at Kranji..

Confirm have, cos I catch before, very yummy... :P

Can dig for clams at the same time...

i used to catch at senoko power station costal area, got to get into water up to the chest level and throw the nest..

i hardly see ppl go there , so i assume could be still possible to catch some...

i used to cath basketful at senoko area till i get scare and then dont dare to go any more...just some funny funny feeling..

Care to elaborate on the "some funny funny feeling" part?

Its the same prawns u catch at those private pond that you pay hourly to catch.

Why pay when u can catch them at the reservoir for the whole bloody day for FOC. [laugh]

u mean wild prawns?or those in the bottle tree park pond?

haha... i did environmental impact study there for a client once. the power station did shock dosing with chlorine to remove unwanted marine life growing near their seawater intake. you will find all sorts of 'ghostly' animals there.... because they are all bleached white :D

No wonder no one went there

U know yishun ave 2 going towards lentor ave there is a small stretch of lower seletar reservoir ?

That stretch got rocks that serves as wave breakers. Just step onto the edge and in between these rocks spacings drop in a simple hook and line with chicken liver as bait. And fish out the prawns ma chiam like catching fish.

100% sure work one. But must be patient and have a bit of technic. Once the bugger start nimbling the bait, let it nimble a few seconds more to get hooked, then slowly pull the sucker out of the water.

Trial & error a few times, u will get the hang of it and be expert in no time. ^_^

Dont park at the power station there, white ants sure come book yr car. Be a bit more hardworking and park at the HDB car park and walk over. ^_^

prawn at yishun ?? can provide more info like what kind of prawn....actual location....how to catch...etc.....that sounds interesting...

my father netted alot of crabs and prawns a few months ago. now he never catch already cause he say all the crabs gone

was at yishun area

haha... i did environmental impact study there for a client once. the power station did shock dosing with chlorine to remove unwanted marine life growing near their seawater intake. you will find all sorts of 'ghostly' animals there.... because they are all bleached white :D

No wonder no one went there

[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Hey guys, been thinking of going back to catching crabs (not the sexually transmitted disease).

Anyone know of any good locations? used to go sembawang jetty.... but the crabs kenna catch until almost extinct liao :P

Commando jetty got hellva lot of crabs....