Break off before getting DBSS flat.

Babyt

haha in fact, i feel the existing rules already need to be amended cos they also create quite some problems. so my points are not merely add-ons. in any case, singapore is not shy of having complicated rules as there are many instances of our set of rules being complicated.

What would happen if a couple has applied and paid deposit and cpf deducted for DBSS flat and now they wont be getting ROM.

What will be the penalty for this couple? I heard it will be totally no refund??

Can the family members like bro buy the flat w the sis who applied the unit with the ex?

I feel very sorry for you guys.. If you wish, you may like to drop me your mobile number via pm. I have some information that might be helpful to you.

If your friend were to find another one and get married before need to take over the flat, I suspect can do a transfer (not sure). But must open eye big big. Don;t get married over a $35k deposit. Split into half only $18k.

Yeah, know of 1 more case like that. Got Flat, got keys, keep seeing MP to delay cos not ready, finally break up cos guy still $0 in bank account after so many years.

Best part is the guys was driving car even when he was fresh grad. Fresh grad buy car, sigh.

Edited by Saycheese78

I would say it is a blessing in disguise for your sister. If the Fiance is not able to save up for a wedding, he will not be able to support for the family in the future.

There are many better man out there (p.s. Look here).

hello why look down at a young chap in the mid 20s .. i earn my fortune at 32. dont look dont at someone just because he has $0 in the bank now.

really make me remember my ex.....the moment no money say bye bye....

hi,

have ur sis managed to resolve the DBSS issue? have they forego the flat?

i have come acrossed a similar case too. they are trying to approach the developer to reduce the penalty of 20% but they are very rigid and does not want to give way. its a really a high price to pay.

ur sis can consider taking over the flat tgt with ur parents (provided ur parents have not purchased 2 hdb flats before and used up the 2 times concessions. you cannot purchase the hdb flat with her for sure (checked with hdb before) even if you are above 35...

while i agree with you about the part couple should always think carefully before buying house and settling down, i don't think it is always able to solve such problems.

you must realize that people and relationships change over time. even couples that stay married together after a few years also suffer from deterioating marital relationship. So should they suffer in silence just because they have not pass the arbitary 5 years time frame set by the HDB?

furthermore, most humans still are emotional creatures. be it while shopping, getting married, falling in love etc, they still exhibit such characteristics. to insist them to be rational about buying houses is not wrong. but in singapore, where affordable houses are difficult to get and policies are crafted in such way that only entitles married couple to buy hdb properties, most of the couples subconsciously relate the act of falling in love to the act getting married and then to the act of buying houses. ie they see no difference between either of 3 and therefore, when they fall in love for some time, they think it is logical to get a flat.

if the govt is so rigid about it, then i feel might as well only allow it to be purchased when couples are already married, instead of allowing prospective married couples to buy it. At least with a marriage certificate, most couples won't be able to break off in less than 3 years. with some delay factor into the commencement of filing for divorce, at least it will be 3+X years which will be rather close to the 5 year period the government sets.

sounds like a measure a civil servant would dream up. there is one issue that affects a small group of ppl, throw in a blanket rule that creates equal misery for all.

why penalise those like me who know what we are doing becos some ppl dont have control and a grip on their emotions?

sounds like a measure a civil servant would dream up. there is one issue that affects a small group of ppl, throw in a blanket rule that creates equal misery for all.

why penalise those like me who know what we are doing becos some ppl dont have control and a grip on their emotions?

The news reported that 1 in 6 Singaporean suffer some form of mental disorder (anxiety, depression to nut case), just a matter of seriousness....

If your friend were to find another one and get married before need to take over the flat, I suspect can do a transfer (not sure). But must open eye big big. Don;t get married over a $35k deposit. Split into half only $18k.

Yeah, know of 1 more case like that. Got Flat, got keys, keep seeing MP to delay cos not ready, finally break up cos guy still $0 in bank account after so many years.

Best part is the guys was driving car even when he was fresh grad. Fresh grad buy car, sigh.

If guy no money in bank, why marry him. Right move by the woman. Those who talk big, later when ur daughter wanna marry a pauper would you say ok, go ahead? If a guy cant have the cow sense to be responsible enough to have money in the bank, then will he be responsible enough to take care of the wife? It's not about being rich or poor. Having a % of one's money set aside for savings, despite the quantum of the salary, is just being a responsible adult. If one cant do that, I fear to wonder why he's even considering marriage or worse, a car loan!

but sometimes sh1t does happen to the most stable of couples. nvm la, anything the govt can make money, sure no problem one. in fact if i was MBT, i would create special division of hot males/females to go around breaking up all the DBSS couples who have put deposit already. 150k x 1000 flats. 150 million wei, sure get a good pat on my back ^_^

I feel bad for those who put money down for a flat and dont go thru with the marriage. However, in land scarce singapore, housing is not easy to get, pte or public. My sympathies aside, one couple getting a flat and then breaking up means that another couple who applied for it at the same time didnt get it. Without a penalty, couples will think less before getting in queue for a flat. It's not about gahmen making money, it's about putting a system in place that ensures that less of such cases will occur. Yes, take away the penalty, then i 1st night hook up with my gf I go put my name for a HDB. Why not? No penalty wat. If we work out, good. If not, give up the flat lor. Then those who really wanna get married, see a queue number like 100000, dont complain!

that's why its important to make sure she/he is the one before buying a flat

How to be sure? You can be sure but there's no guarantee she wont be seduced by another ah sia in her office. This 20% forfeiture is really a cb policy by the gahmen. again money spinning in their heads, esp mbt's head.

And thanks to mbt delayed 3 year wait for a flat, many couples are forced to show hand much earlier in order to get into the queue much faster..and this is chruning out many a sad story. [rifle]

Recently he wrote a letter to the newspaper defending hsi move..I dont understand when he says the auditors are asking him why so many flats left unsold..flats left unsold can be sold later..it beats having to wait donkey years for a flat for married couples to further develop their feelings and understanding for each other. For god's sake he is running a public agency not a private MNC that has book keeping rules to obey..

Wake up ur idea MBT!!

are you sure there's not a policy that is blanket application on majority and penalizes unfairly people who can think and plan for themselves? think of the cpf. end of day, there will never come to rest argument that policy should be flexible in view of the circumstances of the individual vs argument that policy should only cover consideration of the majority due to efficiency concern.

there will never be and end to such argument because each party will always not want the policy to cater to majority or be blanket meaning themselves have to suffer for the policy that makes assumptions about the behavior of the majority. in fact one camp will argue for the each case to be assessed individually while the other camp will always say policy should only caters to majority because that is necessary for the efficiency of the administrator. there can never be an agreement for such argument because flexibility is the trade off to efficiency. i can agree and see what you mean to say, I don't think you have considered looking at it from another angle. and it is certainly condescending to start making assumption about the background of the poster instead of dealing fully with the contents of the post.

the rules are stated very clearly.. deposit is forfeited and the couple will probably suffer financially for life. that is why if want to buy such expensive flat go buy private, at lease back out still got some refund back.

IIRC, some years ago a couple made the deposit and could not secure a loan (bcos guy self employed and wife earns little). cry father cry mother even said had to borrow few k to pay deposit... in the end, still forfeit the 20% $.

** btw, those of you who said change another person to replace one of them, that is not allowed.

Edited by Ruriimasu