CH_CO 6th Gear May 5, 2010 Share May 5, 2010 (edited) Talk is cheap , say until how nice how nice, buy already then wanna say whatever you want also can. We can expect the prices of this car would be in the range of Jap cars though. JPY dropping and KRW increasing sooner or later the cost would be bear by consumers. For those who wanna compare this compare that , imagine a year ago , paying an additional 10k on the jap cars alot of whiners. Now that COE is 30+k , i don't see how the people which whine over 10k more 1 year ago would want to buy something with an additional 20k slap onto it. Unless they are hypocrites. Edited May 5, 2010 by CH_CO ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched May 5, 2010 Share May 5, 2010 no need to reply him lah, from his last reply already slapping his own face, not twice but at least four time his lao peh said so......what a kid...... So... don't tell me you never maintain your lao peh's car? Spoilt brat? (Pardon the name calling hor, I just said Korean car not that cheap to maintain, you wanna call me kid... I call you brat lor... eye for eye.) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Idlebrain Neutral Newbie May 5, 2010 Share May 5, 2010 The ix35 looks really terrible lah, especially the nose.... and people bought the last Tucson, because of the boxy and iconic look.... the new ix35 replacement has an ugly front, the side and the rear is as common as any other SUV's on the road.... nothing differentiate this car from the rest....which was the selling point of the older model... well, I guess everyone has own opinion but I think you have a bit weired taste. "yup...it definitely looks way better than the (to me stupid looking A8L), ugly 7-series and staid looking base model Jaguar XJ...." http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showtopic=2650843 I don't see how that geely has better looking than A8 or ugly 7-series. Also the ix35 look so terrible? hmmm.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatsingapore Neutral Newbie May 5, 2010 Share May 5, 2010 I just said they're not that cheap to maintain. You have an issue with that? I am very sure that the proud owner of Honda has been hurt by my very frank comments on japan cars for being overrated. I do not have any issue at all for someone blind,ignorant and resistant to change. but you yourself need to solve the issue of being too protective of japan car brands as though they are feeding your whole family and promise to take care of your generations. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatsingapore Neutral Newbie May 5, 2010 Share May 5, 2010 The ix35 looks really terrible lah, especially the nose.... and people bought the last Tucson, because of the boxy and iconic look.... the new ix35 replacement has an ugly front, the side and the rear is as common as any other SUV's on the road.... nothing differentiate this car from the rest....which was the selling point of the older model... I don't really know what type of styling you are attached to. But,for me,out of all latest SUVs i see on the road,only Hyundai Tucson SUV has the power to make my head turn and ponder about the car design for a while. To be fair,Tucson has not fared well in performance by some reviews. However, in terms of design, I dare to say with full confidence that it is very appealing to mass customers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched May 5, 2010 Share May 5, 2010 I am very sure that the proud owner of Honda has been hurt by my very frank comments on japan cars for being overrated. I do not have any issue at all for someone blind,ignorant and resistant to change. but you yourself need to solve the issue of being too protective of japan car brands as though they are feeding your whole family and promise to take care of your generations. Well said for a man who berates everything else but Korean brands. Oh, the irony! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear May 5, 2010 Share May 5, 2010 I agree with Greatsingapore.Hyundai or rather,korean are continuously improving.If they keep improving not only in their design,but their build quality,I would say I will go for Hyundai one of these days.Hyundai use to be squary,like Getz and Matrix,but their constant improvement,i45 and Avante(new model),never fail to catch my eyes.If everything goes well and pricing is right,I may go for 2.0 i45 after my car spoil or going to break down.Their car simply a head turner for now.On the other hand,Japan car has been stagnant for quite sometime.Other than Mazda 6,most of the jap cars are just a tool to move around.I personally drove a thai jap car,it's nothing to wow about.The only thing I like is the refine engine and the branding of the car is good.Other than that,nothing else really caught my eye. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatsingapore Neutral Newbie May 5, 2010 Share May 5, 2010 (edited) its interesting to read your posts. pls continue. i have been a supporter of samsung since the clam shell hp designs in 2001 Thanks for your feedback. i got something to add for the benefit of everyone who read this thread. Most of us tend to associate Samsung with mobile handsets and TVs. But Samsung's main source of revenue is producing memory chips and non-memory chips. Of course,Samsung was heavily criticised(just like POSCO) when it first announced plans to enter into semiconductor industry in 1987,just one year before Samsung founder,Lee Byung-Chull,died. But,Samsung took bold steps of heavily investment under the direction of Lee Kun Hee,the third son of Samsung founder. That's why while Lee Byung Chull(founder)was credited with laying the groundwork for samsung's success after he died,his son is credited with transforming samsung into a high-end semiconductor company.Nowadays,Samsung is world largest memory chips makers and second world largest semiconductor company after Intel. Iphone is pretty popular in singapore now. But,most of us don't know that about half of the components used in Iphone are manufactured by Samsung,especially technologically complicated chips such as NAND and central processing chips. For more information,I think you should read the book 'Samsung Versus Sony' by Sea Jin Chang. It can be found in national library at bugis too. On top of that,Samsung has triumphed Sony in TVs industry.in 2005,Sony faced troubles in acquiring know-hows in LCD TV technology and it finally had to form a venture with samsung to produce LCD panels for its TVs series. Sony is still buying LCD panels from Samsung.Samsung LCD panels are used in Bravia series. Panasonic did not have technology to produce LED panels for its coming 3D TVs. finally,it is Samsung which supplies LED panels for panasonic 3D TVs. TVs competition is expected to heat up more since both Samsung and Sony are reportedly working on TVs that run on Android platform. But,Samsung has taken a precautionary step such that its plan to introduce android TVs after studying how consumers respond to Sony's android TVs which is expected to launch in second half of this year.Because by having android TVs, google corp can gather data on you and your family by monitoring what content you download from TVs,how many hours you watch TVs per day and so on.Google first approached Samsung for its Android TVs,but samsung turned it down. t is a breach of privacy to some and Samsung was initially reluctant to develop android TVs.However, Samsung had a change of mind because it is not willing to let sony steal the thunder from samsung since samsung has been on the roll with its world first 3D HD LED TVs .in fact,Apple also faces this criticism because Apple can abuse the data(acquired by checking what type of content you download from its apps store)by disclosing/selling the data to Insurance companies which are basically gunning your money.maybe,this is how Apple always achieves stunning operating profit Edited May 5, 2010 by Greatsingapore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatsingapore Neutral Newbie May 5, 2010 Share May 5, 2010 Well said for a man who berates everything else but Korean brands. Oh, the irony! well,just for goodness sake,I specialise in east asia economy. that's why I know a bit about korea companies. I am not here to lecture how Korea humiliates Japan. after all,it is Japan which colonised Korea. some korea companies may overtake Japan. But,Korea is still in trade deficit with Japan. At least,I know what is going on and use my knowledge in my posts. as i said before,korea faced a lot of odds against them,but it is their resilience that makes me admire them.t why I like Hyundai is because once they are determined to improve their quality and design,they really can do in just 5 years. Seriously,you are the one who is very difficult to understand. please have a bit of knowledge before you start criticising the rest. you are the one who likes to make hasty and absurd generalisation such as because hyundai is korea,quality sucks,difficult to maintain,expensive to maintain and blah blah blah(sorry,I had to use your trademark language) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear May 5, 2010 Share May 5, 2010 (edited) Seriously , when KRW is cheap it makes sense to buy Kr and with their conglomerates pushing prices down,they are very similar to Japanese 20 years ago and if you ever read the books on topics regarding Toyota and Sony and Japan you might see slight tints of the same characteristics? By the time those books were out (those books are probably more than 10 year old), it is already mark its peak, similarly this would happen to Korean as KRW gets higher and its neighbour waking up. I'm not saying Japan but China. The Japanese has ridden on its Cash cows long enough and unless they can come out with something innovative , they might follow their cars to be the thing of the past. Btw, i have written my reviews on Samsung phones, they don't last long , mine I780 went bust within 1 year of usage and as for IPHONE3GS , I'm already facing problems with overheating of the phone and this lead to a very short battery life. I have sent the phone for repairs twice and they can't find any fault in the phone, citing it is overheating due to unidentifiable reasons even by the technicians. Seems that the office issued blackberry is still well and alive. In terms of technology , yes i do agree that most of the LED and electronics parts are manufactured in Korea. Having said that , do you know that LED is actually going toward twilight years with a newer light technology which doesn't require a light filter to determine the color. This might affect the IT industry as processors do not need to run on 1 and 0 but with light, this potentially might mean that processor power might become much faster etc etc. Just in case you do not know. In five or ten years , who knows probably someone else would take over. My 2cent +++ worth When one considers buying a car. Some people buy the car due to its looks or heritage , some low maintenance , some prestige , others "value" , some a mixed of all these and maybe other factors. Some one like me , only prefer certain brands. While people, though putting an argument that how "value" for money or how "good" looking a korean car is. Given a choice if my budget range is higher and enough for me to consider contis , would i consider Korean cars? The answer is no. Why ? If I'm going for decent looking "sports" cars with heritage that people would appreciate we can find them in Japanese cars ,i.e Hondas has NSX , Nissan GTRs , Toyotas Levins , Mitsu Evo , Subaru WRX etc etc , we see them on the road , maybe it would be worth another look to some. What does KR cars here have to offer? Non at the moment. Yes , there are news of genesis and stuff but unless it is coming into Singapore , i don't see how i can salivate at the car which i can't see in real? To salivate at koup ? Yes it is affordable and easily achievable i don't see how i would salivate at it. That said , i still hope to be able to afford to buy a ferrari in the future. Cheers. Edited May 5, 2010 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched May 6, 2010 Share May 6, 2010 I am not here to lecture how Korea humiliates Japan. please have a bit of knowledge before you start criticising the rest. Oh I'm sorry then! Perhaps it's my lao peh' s 2002 Hyundai Elantra that sucked. Maybe only that particular car. Everything else from Korean rocks except that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Greatsingapore Neutral Newbie May 6, 2010 Share May 6, 2010 (edited) Seriously , when KRW is cheap it makes sense to buy Kr and with their conglomerates pushing prices down,they are very similar to Japanese 20 years ago and if you ever read the books on topics regarding Toyota and Sony and Japan you might see slight tints of the same characteristics? By the time those books were out (those books are probably more than 10 year old), it is already mark its peak, similarly this would happen to Korean as KRW gets higher and its neighbour waking up. I'm not saying Japan but China. The Japanese has ridden on its Cash cows long enough and unless they can come out with something innovative , they might follow their cars to be the thing of the past. Btw, i have written my reviews on Samsung phones, they don't last long , mine I780 went bust within 1 year of usage and as for IPHONE3GS , I'm already facing problems with overheating of the phone and this lead to a very short battery life. I have sent the phone for repairs twice and they can't find any fault in the phone, citing it is overheating due to unidentifiable reasons even by the technicians. Seems that the office issued blackberry is still well and alive. In terms of technology , yes i do agree that most of the LED and electronics parts are manufactured in Korea. Having said that , do you know that LED is actually going toward twilight years with a newer light technology which doesn't require a light filter to determine the color. This might affect the IT industry as processors do not need to run on 1 and 0 but with light, this potentially might mean that processor power might become much faster etc etc. Just in case you do not know. In five or ten years , who knows probably someone else would take over. My 2cent +++ worth When one considers buying a car. Some people buy the car due to its looks or heritage , some low maintenance , some prestige , others "value" , some a mixed of all these and maybe other factors. Some one like me , only prefer certain brands. While people, though putting an argument that how "value" for money or how "good" looking a korean car is. Given a choice if my budget range is higher and enough for me to consider contis , would i consider Korean cars? The answer is no. Why ? If I'm going for decent looking "sports" cars with heritage that people would appreciate we can find them in Japanese cars ,i.e Hondas has NSX , Nissan GTRs , Toyotas Levins , Mitsu Evo , Subaru WRX etc etc , we see them on the road , maybe it would be worth another look to some. What does KR cars here have to offer? Non at the moment. Yes , there are news of genesis and stuff but unless it is coming into Singapore , i don't see how i can salivate at the car which i can't see in real? To salivate at koup ? Yes it is affordable and easily achievable i don't see how i would salivate at it. That said , i still hope to be able to afford to buy a ferrari in the future. Cheers. Ya,I do know that LED is being touted as the technology that could change the IT industry. I am not a technician and I am afraid to say that my knowledge on technology in very limited(it is not my main area of study as well).But i have seen many articles on it. And as much as LED technology is concerned, Korea is not ahead of Japan overall.Both have their own shares of problems. Both Korea and Japan are investing heavily in LED and it is too early to say who will emerge as the winner. The problem with Korea is that Samsung and LG are too dominant in the technology field so that SMEs cannot grow up much as Samsung and LG seem to be blocking them. as for japan problems, her companies such as mistsubish,panasonic and sony have been unable to foresee the technology that could dominate the future.only recently,they started to realise that they should invest in LEDs .Things seems to be going well for korea,at least,i suppose. Just recently, Korea government announced a massive budget for LED ,3D and software industry.so far,japan governemt has done nothing significant.on top of that,its research programmes have never been reviewed and assessed for quite a long time.Both Korea and Japan needs restructuring,and Korea seems to be undertaking it,while Japan is still going nowhere,unprepared for a new world order. to address what u said about korea cars,you are exactly showing kinds of characteristics that most typical korea-made bashers naturally exhibit. Because it is pretty obvious that those who have firm preference for a particular brand are likely to be hyundai/kia bashers,again why? they are afraid the brand they like might be beaten by hyundai even though being loyal to the brand does not have any benefits for him or her.they won't give you money or whatsoever,right? factors mentioned by you are true.some look at design,some look at brand reputation and some look at the cost. I have written similar things in my previous posts too. OK,let's tackle with design. I believe you won't deny that hyundai is the clear winner. Reputation? Hyundai's is not as bad and nasty as it was 10 years ago. It may not enjoy good reputation that Toyota and Honda takes granted for,but it has proven that it can become like them.Sales figures speak for themselves,and even in crowded singapore market where most singaporeans go for either conti or japan,Avante managed to grab number 1 last year, Don't forget that it is the people buying mid range cars who forms the majority. toyota and honda targeted them and this was how they managed to reach where they are now.Hyundai is doing the same thing,because targeting mid range consumers is like the unspoken rule in almost every industry. Again,have you really contemplated why Genesis are not brought into singapore? it is actually a cyclic process. Just think of this way,if hyundai has customers as much as nissan does in singapore,do u think hyundai/komocco would not do the same? if korea brands are as popular as its japan counterparts, genesis might be in singapore .You cannot just blame hyundai for having bad reputation since it is cyclic.If you want to blame quality,genesis was praised for quality and safety,right? U sounded like genesis is the only good one that hyundai can offer. in oder to support your argument(i don't see how i can salivate at the car which i can't see in real? To salivate at koup ? Yes it is affordable and easily achievable i don't see how i would salivate at it. That said , i still hope to be able to afford to buy a ferrari in the future.),ya,u needed to do so. I am surprised that you can ignore all the awards and recognitions that were showered onto avante,i30 and forte (all are avaiable in singapore,so u can see all of them in real,don't you?).You just remove the word 'heritage',and decent looking sport car is definitely Forte Koup. what's more,I highly doubt that brand reputation is the only thing that decide one's choice of what car to buy. For most buyers,a range of factors would be involved . probability of various factors involved is very high and it is logical too. just imagine one scneario,you have budget big enough to buy a conti/jap car and you are aiming at one jap car. But just before you buy the car,your spouse had to be hospitlaised and could not work for six months.consequently,you would have to reduce the budget for buying a car and you will probably have to satisfy with korea or even china.that's why and that is how some japan car fans have became hyundai fans,or at least stopped bashing hyundai since they now get to experience hyundai performance.what does it mean? it means that no matter how keen some are at bashing hyundai,dynamic hyundai still have the chance to become bigger and plenty of rooms left for dynamic hyundai to take advantage of ailing toyota and stagnant honda. . I am willing to continue posting until more people perceive hyundai as a brand with dignity and reputation. This is kind of resilience that seems to be growing day by day inside me after i learned and read the rise of Korea economy,especially Samsung,POSCO and Hyundai. Does hyundai pay me money,no? Does hyundai old folks even know this? no! But i think of this as paying back to korea ,reason is simple: i got my determination and resilience by admiring how persevering Koreans are. Edited May 6, 2010 by Greatsingapore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear May 6, 2010 Share May 6, 2010 (edited) Let me ask you something ? Do you drive? Seriously to me , i don't see your point? When i buy a car i buy one knowing that i can clearly afford it , i won't bother borrow on an expense. I work in loans defaults , i met enough people that fall into those financially reckless categories. What kind of crap is that about spouse sick and stuff? If no money don't buy a car , taking a cab would be so much cheaper, simple? The reason why they sold high numbers on a single model last year is because it was cheap and is a good alternative to Japanese mid size saloon cars. It is a little unfair to simply use one model to compare to a wider model range that other car makes have. Simple as that. Come 2010 when KRW is 30% higher i don't see how the cost of KR cars won't start to affect KR prices. By the way Hyundai is 3rd in total sales and not first.Unless you telling me that LTA is lying? http://www.lta.gov.sg/corp_info/doc/MVP02-...y%20make%29.pdf At the end of the day , you just recognized the fact that KR cars are a cheaper alternative to the norm and people would only turn to it when they can't afford other brands. Won't that be the same as telling me that you only have budgets for that price category? I would like to see whether if this resilience would lead you how far? To me , those that can't afford shouldn't be driving anyway yet they choose to , it is the life they choose , it is fine with me. If genesis is really so good , it doesn't make economic sense for them not to bring it in? People can parallel import GTRs why not genesis? It is just telling you telling others how good your choice of car is but sorry you aren't driving one. To me , Koup still remains to me a cheap thrill nothing more. To my peers , most of them though started with budgets cars and most if not all have moved on to better cars , when i ask if they would choose a Kr make , let's say a koup , guess what is their answer? Mai lah, i think i deserve better. They even commented that i shouldn't be driving a toy car. That said , i hope you can get my point. Edited May 6, 2010 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear May 6, 2010 Share May 6, 2010 If Korean cars are indeed that good, their quality will speak for themselves. No need for all the chest-beating and mocking of other makes with claims of corporations being ailing or stagnant or what-not, though honestly anyone that can call Honda stagnant clearly doesn't know the least bit about that company. You don't see BMW/Merc/Audi lovers constantly lionizing their ride and deriding others. Funnily, I only see drivers of Korean makes (not all drivers, obviously) doing this crap and that to me says enough about Korean makes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Notsogoodman 4th Gear May 6, 2010 Share May 6, 2010 If Korean cars are indeed that good, their quality will speak for themselves. No need for all the chest-beating and mocking of other makes with claims of corporations being ailing or stagnant or what-not, though honestly anyone that can call Honda stagnant clearly doesn't know the least bit about that company. You don't see BMW/Merc/Audi lovers constantly lionizing their ride and deriding others. Funnily, I only see drivers of Korean makes (not all drivers, obviously) doing this crap and that to me says enough about Korean makes. Doing whatever craps doesn't tell you about Korean Makes, it tells you the mindset of those who own Korean Makes (some of the owners). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear May 7, 2010 Share May 7, 2010 you are nothing but a big balls talker. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear May 7, 2010 Share May 7, 2010 Doing whatever craps doesn't tell you about Korean Makes, it tells you the mindset of those who own Korean Makes (some of the owners). True. I don't doubt the improved quality of the Korean cars these days, but the conduct of some of their owners really puts me off. People stereotype WRX owners as ah beng boyracers prone to crash on the nearest tree all the time. In the same way, more people chest-beating about how awesome their Korean cars and how stupid drivers of Japanese makes are for buying substandard (in their opinion) products will only lead to a stereotype of Korean car drivers as having pathetic self-esteem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Idlebrain Neutral Newbie May 7, 2010 Share May 7, 2010 When one considers buying a car. Some people buy the car due to its looks or heritage , some low maintenance , some prestige , others "value" , some a mixed of all these and maybe other factors. Some one like me , only prefer certain brands. While people, though putting an argument that how "value" for money or how "good" looking a korean car is. Given a choice if my budget range is higher and enough for me to consider contis , would i consider Korean cars? The answer is no. Why ? If I'm going for decent looking "sports" cars with heritage that people would appreciate we can find them in Japanese cars ,i.e Hondas has NSX , Nissan GTRs , Toyotas Levins , Mitsu Evo , Subaru WRX etc etc , we see them on the road , maybe it would be worth another look to some. What does KR cars here have to offer? Non at the moment. Yes , there are news of genesis and stuff but unless it is coming into Singapore , i don't see how i can salivate at the car which i can't see in real? To salivate at koup ? Yes it is affordable and easily achievable i don't see how i would salivate at it. That said , i still hope to be able to afford to buy a ferrari in the future. Cheers. Well, I think the same rule apply to the japanese car as well. you said if you can afford conti, you would not consider Korean. But I think when I can afford conti, I also would not consider Japanse either. Especially if the value for the money is not in the consideration. But in the reality, there are people who consider the value more than just feeling. Because buying car is pure expense, not an investment. you would be surprise how many people actually drove conti before they buy genesis if you go to the owner forum. So, is this mean genesis was better than those BM or MB etc? Nope, they just feel genesis has 70~80% of what they used to drive but they liked the idea of keeping the cash in their pocket. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...