Vextan 1st Gear April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 But what about the opportunity cost of owning a car ? For $20k a year, one can go holiday a few times with family. Of cos, owning a car is not just about convenience , but offers a different lifestyle, e.g. more shopping, late night movies, children schooling and eating out. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GTR Neutral Newbie April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 Well i do agreed to certain extent... Take me for example, my family only NEED 1 car... our dear 7 seaters Odyssey. But what are my parents and wife going to drive when i drove my car to my office? No doubt a 7 seaters can fetch 7 people, but we cannot have all 7 people in the same family having the same routine life day in day out. My CTR is a combination of NEED and WANT... It is a standard 4 seaters so it is a NEED but also a WANT as i track it once in a while. If i don't track it i can make do with just a 4 door saloon car. GTR is definately a WANT to many haha... but i NEED it to reward myself for my hardwork and make it a motivational tool for me to continue. So to me it is also a NEED and WANT. The program guests are all talking in circles.... not really constructive... If everything in life are going to be judge by NEEDS and WANTS then what is the point of working hard and making more Money? It is like a chicken and egg story... PS: I don't see minister staying in HDB flats.... do they really NEED to stay in landed properties or condos? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 all are wants.. not a need..... though you feel you need it..... most people blur this line.... EG: you need to go work.... you do NOT NEED to drive to work you need to buy food for family... you do NOT NEED to drive to buy food.... but of cuz for the rich... the line between wants and needs are blurred.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 Anyway, Chn 5 is talking about it now... the talk show is so retarded my wife fell asleep 2mins into the show.... me 3mins... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 Yes. It is a need. You need a car to show to others you are successful and better than them. You can't prove to others you are more superior if you were to queue for taxi or squeeze in bus. Apparently, u have the mentality of having car is successful...it makes me wonder how high and mighty u r..... r u married? do u have kids? do u need to give a token sum to your parents every mth? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 i think its very clear cut... but not many ppl in SG will understand it... maybe cause of the way we were brought up.... car is a need in many parts of the world.... but definately not in Sg.... simple example: if you live in the rural areas of malaysia eg. kumpong areas deep way off from the cities... no transportation then either walk like hell or cycle or stay at hm... in Singapore... soooooooooooooooooooo many families do not own a car... lets face it... ppl buy a car simply because they an afford it... full stop... if a family has excess cash... they can afford a car... they will buy it... ALL the weekend cars in Sg are living examples... lets not argue over if cars are a want or need in Sg... are colognes/purfumes a need?... is Cigs/beer a need?... 50" TVs a need? lets face it... Different ppl have different needs.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 Yes. It is a need. You need a car to show to others you are successful and better than them. You can't prove to others you are more superior if you were to queue for taxi or squeeze in bus. this is the MOST retarded post i have read in a long time.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 (edited) this is the MOST retarded post i have read in a long time.... hahaha....it is also the lowest lifeform on earth that commented having car is successful. Edited April 19, 2010 by Help1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ren_Hao Clutched April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 are colognes/purfumes a need?... is Cigs/beer a need?... 50" TVs a need? Colognes and purfumes is a NEED, unless you are in an environment where you sweat a little, than deordarants are a need. If you are in an environment makes you sweat a lot, than after-work-shower is a need. Dont make any suffer with the manly smell lah. Cigs/beer, depends on who you are talking to loh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 Colognes and purfumes is a NEED, unless you are in an environment where you sweat a little, than deordarants are a need. If you are in an environment makes you sweat a lot, than after-work-shower is a need. Dont make any suffer with the manly smell lah. Cigs/beer, depends on who you are talking to loh dont have colognes and purfumes and deorderants will die anot? if wont die THEN ITS NOT A NEED... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 hahaha....it is also the lowest lifeform on earth that commented having car is successful. i think he probably drives a cheap car... totally original if not then untastefully modified... opps... i also drive budget car... many ppl i know have to borrow $ to pay for car installments... no $ pump petrol so car park at hm... wtf? SUCESSFUL LEH.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 i think its very clear cut... but not many ppl in SG will understand it... maybe cause of the way we were brought up.... car is a need in many parts of the world.... but definately not in Sg.... simple example: if you live in the rural areas of malaysia eg. kumpong areas deep way off from the cities... no transportation then either walk like hell or cycle or stay at hm... in Singapore... soooooooooooooooooooo many families do not own a car... lets face it... ppl buy a car simply because they an afford it... full stop... if a family has excess cash... they can afford a car... they will buy it... ALL the weekend cars in Sg are living examples... lets not argue over if cars are a want or need in Sg... are colognes/purfumes a need?... is Cigs/beer a need?... 50" TVs a need? lets face it... Different ppl have different needs.... ciggies and beer is not a need until it becomes an addiction... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvingoh45 Clutched April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 i want to take MRT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 ciggies and beer is not a need until it becomes an addiction... even after it becomes an addiction... it is STILL a want and not a need because you still will not die without it.. water IS a need... without it you WILL die... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelvingoh45 Clutched April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 You want a wife or you need a wife? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 (edited) To me having a car is a need while having 2 cars(one for wife) is a want. It will remain a need to me until my 2 kids are old enough to take public transport by themselves(maybe 12 yrs old onwards). By then having car should become a want rather than a need. Edited April 19, 2010 by Roh96 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthkk Clutched April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 Buying a bread and butter car is a need. buying an expensive car that can get you a 3 rm flat is a want. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear April 19, 2010 Share April 19, 2010 If you can afford it, then you need a car. If you can't afford it, then you want a car. Simple simple rule. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...