Piyopico Supercharged April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 (edited) StarHub to lose money on World Cup Fri, Apr 16, 2010 The Straits Times STARHUB is prepared to lose some money to bring the World Cup to football fans in Singapore- but not too much. StarHub's chief executive officer Neil Montefiore said it has offered an 'unprecedented' bid to the event's right holder Fifa but has yet to get a response. Together with SingTel, the two telcos reportedly have jointly offered Fifa the largest bid worldwide for the broadcast rights on a per-capita basis. ................................................................................ Proof that we are suckers....... Happy or sad ah? Edited April 16, 2010 by Piyopico ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 Place some bets during world cup to recoup losses lor. They should get major sponsor like S'pore Pools and Temasek Holdings. Really loose face man. Ppl in M'sia get to watch world cup in HD. Sgp still struggling to bid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged April 16, 2010 Author Share April 16, 2010 The last to be screwed will be the consumers. You can bet on it...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vyeo Neutral Newbie April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 I am quite inclined to go with missing out on the world cup. We should not be head hostage by the unreasonable demands by Fifa or its agent, even though the problem probably arose because they saw the unprecedented Singtel bid for the BPL rights, and thought, hey, golden goose/radish for the picking. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Flying_genie 6th Gear April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 Quote STARHUB is prepared to lose some money to bring the World Cup to football fans in Singapore- but not too much. Bollocks! Anyone operating a business will not knowingly conduct a money losing transaction. Lose some money? Not too much? The term 'Not too much' is so subjective! $1 is also not too much! I do not believe Starhub is willing to lose money over this. If Starhub can't get the rights, they'll make sure Singtel can't get the rights too. Vice versa as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Narfeey Neutral Newbie April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 (edited) It disgusts me at times that Singtel can pump in $300 million to win the EPL rights. You know what $300 million can get? Just some perspective... - Buy Liverpool FC, with change to spare - Run the J league for 6 years. (the annual budget of the whole J league is around $50million). - the whole S league runs on only 1 million a year. Why are paying so much to watch a foreign league? not even at a stadium, but to have it beam into a tiny little box at home. It just baffles me to know that if we were only to pump that kind money into our domestic league, we can have something close to the standard of the Dutch league. Why not? Holland is only about 8million people. But they give us Ruud Gulit and Van Basten. Singaporeans are willing to pay, but they want instant entertainment.. not willing to invest in their own teams, but rather give a big fat check of 300m to UK. Edited April 16, 2010 by Narfeey Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tankee531 1st Gear April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 No thanks to Singtel now we kena held ransom by FIFA. Crazy $300m deal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalbone Clutched April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 I wonder how Singtel is going to get back the $300million for 3 years? $100million per year le. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 As Mr brown said...if they are willing to pay $300M for a english pros...an internation pros will worth more....so who to blame...themselve! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackwind Neutral Newbie April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 f--k world cup lah... weekend find kakis to play soccer.... more fun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 yA MAN...dun really care whether they win the bid or not.. aredy bought aerial + shortlisted few potential websites can even watch on my iphone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piyopico Supercharged April 16, 2010 Author Share April 16, 2010 On 4/16/2010 at 7:00 PM, Tarzan666 said: yA MAN...dun really care whether they win the bid or not.. aredy bought aerial + shortlisted few potential websites can even watch on my iphone. But the image quality on streaming is fuzzy. Aerial can get what channel? Indonesia or M'sia? Me in west of S'pore dunnoe if can receive? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mingsect 5th Gear April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 (edited) On 4/16/2010 at 3:06 PM, Narfeey said: It disgusts me at times that Singtel can pump in $300 million to win the EPL rights. You know what $300 million can get? Just some perspective... - Buy Liverpool FC, with change to spare - Run the J league for 6 years. (the annual budget of the whole J league is around $50million). - the whole S league runs on only 1 million a year. Why are paying so much to watch a foreign league? not even at a stadium, but to have it beam into a tiny little box at home. It just baffles me to know that if we were only to pump that kind money into our domestic league, we can have something close to the standard of the Dutch league. Why not? Holland is only about 8million people. But they give us Ruud Gulit and Van Basten. Singaporeans are willing to pay, but they want instant entertainment.. not willing to invest in their own teams, but rather give a big fat check of 300m to UK. know your facts before u talk 1stly liverpool is worth 500million pounds. 300 million pounds, maybe can buy liverpool, but maybe without steven gerald and torres .. 2ndly when starhub had the epl, forced singapore to take up a useless basic package then willing to sell the sport channel @ 25 dollar and that was based on starhub had paid lesser than singtel for the rights now singtel got the rights at a suppose very high price. how come singtel can offer epl straight for $25 dollar ? anyway singtel want to spend 300 or 3000 million to complete with starhub is their business. end of the day, real soccer fans like us like us pay lesser.. 25 a month , that's abt $300 a year Edited April 16, 2010 by Mingsect Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigg 1st Gear April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 do we care? can easily watch the game from neighbouring country channels. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear April 16, 2010 Share April 16, 2010 go do your research online.... those chinese websites broadcast live matches of EPL and world cup...some even in HD...3D will be available soon.... somemore free and you don't have to download anything.... pay telco companies for what?? you have so much money to spend every month give me lah??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jp66 5th Gear April 17, 2010 Share April 17, 2010 On 4/16/2010 at 8:04 PM, Bigg said: do we care? can easily watch the game from neighbouring country channels. Agree, or from online streaming even though a little bit slow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahtong 1st Gear April 17, 2010 Share April 17, 2010 Starhub is truly a magnanimous company with the welfare of Singapore at heart. It pains me to know they are willing to make a loss just for us. I think we should all step up and help Starhub recoup their losses, even if it means paying $500 for WC subcription. Otherwise, the Starhub management and their families will go hungry. .... and the children. Wouldn't someone spare a thought for the children. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KapitanE 1st Gear April 17, 2010 Share April 17, 2010 why?? howmany would actually watch...... south africa is in the same time zone as UK, so most matches will happen late in the night.. I rather be sleeping.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...