Extremely sluggish low-end

Versatile

I've been experiencing sluggish low-end especially during 2nd gear after i change my stock 15" to 17" recently. i've changed k&n drop-in filter & customize cai. the problem could be due to the 17".. and yes, i'm on lenso samurai sc01 (it's considered as the "lightweight" cat w/ 7kg per rim.)

was wondering what can be the next steps to improve my low-end? i've no issue with mid/high-end and can feel the power with anything above 5k rpm.

i'm looking for parts that don't void warranty.. please advise if any of the below that helps and feel free to suggest if i do missed out any.

- change stock sparks plug

- change stock sparks plug cable

- pro steel RS brake hose kit to improve stock brake kit

- lta-approved exo (sadly, in the market current don't have any)

- uniQ piggyback

yes, i'm driving avante 1.6MT.

thanks.

Edited by Versatile

ur rolling diameter became much larger or did u get a very thin walled tyre to keep within the same rolling diameter?

things that dun void warranty, off aircon/radio while u drive, remove spare tyre and barang from your boot and buy genuine carbon fibre bonnet/boot/bumper/fenders.

abv 5k rmp still no power car can buang liao... [laugh]

and bro sluggish is different to different ppl.... cheapest way to get your low end power up would be a good extractor i guess... but Avante is fairly new so happy serching for the right one...

also i feel any mod to air filters/open pod will lower the low end power... that is with a stock engine and exhaust...

and seriously... i feel CAIs are really wasting $... yes correct cold air is denser than hot air so logically cold air will create better combustion...

but a moving car has out side air continuously entering the engine bay.... so logically i do not feel much lowered air temp as the air pipings would hv heated up anyways... so unless you are measuring ur car's power stationary... i tink CAI systems in the market are useless.... and if you are those with the open pod INSIDE the bumper way below... becareful when it rains....

happy driving.... ^_^

Changing to bigger rims will definitely make the car sluggish. This is because your wheel diameter will usually increase (unless you use extremely low profile tyres). Weight will increase as well.

If you want better performance for low end,

You can advance your ignition timing using a piggyback and retune your A/F ratio. A 4-2-1 extractor will also improve your low end a little. Remove cat converter can also do that. change intake manifold also can.....

But why bother. Just throw in a supercharger and you get instant power boost....

Instead of throwing more money on things which cannot guarantee to improve low end power/acceleration, might as well loose some money and revert back to stock.

I've been experiencing sluggish low-end especially during 2nd gear after i change my stock 15" to 17" recently. i've changed k&n drop-in filter & customize cai. the problem could be due to the 17".. and yes, i'm on lenso samurai sc01 (it's considered as the "lightweight" cat w/ 7kg per rim.)

was wondering what can be the next steps to improve my low-end? i've no issue with mid/high-end and can feel the power with anything above 5k rpm.

i'm looking for parts that don't void warranty.. please advise if any of the below that helps and feel free to suggest if i do missed out any.

- uniQ piggyback

thanks.

Change everything back to stock, including the steel rims. [:)] This is not a performance car.

- uniQ piggyback

thanks.

Your customised CAI n K&N could be the could be the problem, try putting in stock filter n try. very unlikely rev until 5k still no power one. also, for the rest of mod, personally i feel only brake hose its more useful, the rest can dun do.

Bro, there are cases whereby change of upsize rims/change of tyres from stock also void warranty.

Warranty on gearbox somemore lol, AD claims due to gearbox not designed to handle the new load.....

anyways,

- change stock sparks plug (not useful)

- change stock sparks plug cable (not useful)

- pro steel RS brake hose kit to improve stock brake kit (improves feel only, braking distance still the same. consider upsized rotor, caliper if $$ allows.)

- lta-approved exo (sadly, in the market current don't have any) (if you want to try can get exhaust shop do up illegal one.)

- uniQ piggyback (this is normally done after all other mods are done and you are satisfied.)

abv 5k rmp still no power car can buang liao... [laugh]

and bro sluggish is different to different ppl.... cheapest way to get your low end power up would be a good extractor i guess... but Avante is fairly new so happy serching for the right one...

also i feel any mod to air filters/open pod will lower the low end power... that is with a stock engine and exhaust...

and seriously... i feel CAIs are really wasting $... yes correct cold air is denser than hot air so logically cold air will create better combustion...

but a moving car has out side air continuously entering the engine bay.... so logically i do not feel much lowered air temp as the air pipings would hv heated up anyways... so unless you are measuring ur car's power stationary... i tink CAI systems in the market are useless.... and if you are those with the open pod INSIDE the bumper way below... becareful when it rains....

happy driving.... ^_^

Actually there are customized extractor out in the market already. Not locally but overseas. I can feel slight improvement on throttle especially on stock rim.. but the improvement eventually go away after upgrading to 17".

Kinda regretted changing to 17" tho.. should have just upgrade to 16" will do.

Change everything back to stock, including the steel rims. [:)] This is not a performance car.

I know it's not a performance car.. If i would want a performance car in the first place.. i would had go for more high-end performance car.. but it's a passion to slowly upgrade to market's performance parts. it's a joy to drive a not-so-stock saloon car..

personal opinion tho..

Bro, there are cases whereby change of upsize rims/change of tyres from stock also void warranty.

Warranty on gearbox somemore lol, AD claims due to gearbox not designed to handle the new load.....

anyways,

- change stock sparks plug (not useful)

- change stock sparks plug cable (not useful)

- pro steel RS brake hose kit to improve stock brake kit (improves feel only, braking distance still the same. consider upsized rotor, caliper if $$ allows.)

- lta-approved exo (sadly, in the market current don't have any) (if you want to try can get exhaust shop do up illegal one.)

- uniQ piggyback (this is normally done after all other mods are done and you are satisfied.)

Thanks bro. guess i will just to wait..

it is like tat when 15 to 17.

when i change it last time to light wt rims,

my fuel consumption down by 50km.

and slower pk up.

if heavier rims lucky worst.

but hell alot more grip, corner no brakes like no tomorrow.

16" cannot match the grip offering.

if u want a bigger rim, get 16 jus nice for the grip and pick up.

For looks 17 lor and get use to it lor.

Instead of throwing more money on things which cannot guarantee to improve low end power/acceleration, might as well loose some money and revert back to stock.

I fully agree. Y CAI/Open Pod?

Since you say that your rims are lightweight, then the prob of sluggish low end could be due to your Open Pod.

Stock is best brother...

Dun spend so much money since your car is NA.

Agree that stock Avante is already well balanced car. By changing to openpod, u lose the low end. by changing to 17", u lose the almost best in class comfort and quietness.

Not worth.

Hmmm.... why would CAI/Pod affect the pickup? This is the input to engine.... doesn't affect the back pressure at all (that's exhaust) . If you ask me, it'll give faster throttle rev response due to more free flow of air into the engine.

Question for TS. Did you change the tube diameter whereby your MAF/MAP sensor is mounted? (That requires tuning otherwise it'll screw up all your AFR). I hope you didn't mess around with that when doing your CAI piping. This should be done for piping upfront of the air flow sensor and nothing at or after, leading to the engine. (Unless you intend to tune)

If the above holds true..... then tis your added weight of the wheels/tyres. To get some low end back, you might want to try a lightened crank pulley. (will most likely void warranty) Leave the alternator pulley alone (some will recommend you do that too), else your battery charging might be adversely affected. (unless you know what you're doing)