Victim of chain collision... how to claim insurance?

Fooblack

Dun worry...they look at your front impact and your rear impact...they can tell roughly what speed was the crash.

You are like my case, front all stop...car behind come and crash into me...and I crash into the front car and he crash into the car infront of him.

But insurance will not all claim to the last car....it goes...

1st car claim 2nd car

2nd car claim 3rd car

3rd car claim last car.

You will still get loaded for the premium next year...slightly...but your NCB will not be effected.

At least that was what happen to me lah....

I know it sound like not fair...but some kinda law that dun allow them to claim from the last car even though he is one cause of the accident.

[confused] BOLA??? GIA???

The GIA #28 yields such an unfair result for me. i am a victim cos i did not hit the car infront. so ilogical... granted that the last vehicle should not take the blame totally if not the case, they should at least allow for the case to be proven that the last vehicle did caused the car infront to crash the car further infront...

is this the "smart" way to protect the insurance pricing to go skyhigh?? sigh... brilliant idea [knife]

The GIA #28 yields such an unfair result for me. i am a victim cos i did not hit the car infront. so ilogical... granted that the last vehicle should not take the blame totally if not the case, they should at least allow for the case to be proven that the last vehicle did caused the car infront to crash the car further infront...

is this the "smart" way to protect the insurance pricing to go skyhigh?? sigh... brilliant idea [knife]

u have to prove it... and the only way to prove it is ur car camera if u have 1...

hate to say this but 'luck' plays and important role in our lives... [:(]

Hi everyone there!

Kindly please advise me regarding the issue of claims.

Recently, the TP sent me a letter that they have issue a warning letter to Mindef Driver for committing an offence (Careless driving under rule 29). Due to this military truck was driving at the centre lane along Mandai road (40KM/H) and make sudden lane change to my lane (1st). In order to avoid collision with the truck, I swerved to my right and end up hit the railing and the whole car stuck at the middle of the kerb. There isn't any contact at all since i swerved to avoid him... End up is very disadvantage to me now...

The total repair cost is about $9k by Kah Motor. Presently, I am claiming my own insurance.. My insurance is using this TP letter as an evidence to fight for my case so that my next insurance plan will not affected....

Presently, my insurance make these claims for me:

1.] 20 days x $60 = $1200 for loss use of car

2.] Medical fee seen at NUH is about $120

3.] Tyre cost is $130+

4.] Excess which I had paid is $1.1k + GST $60+

Total I am seeking back is about less than $3k.... Looking at the case.. You think LKK (Mindef) will compensate me fully plus the repair cost $9k back to my insurance company?

I got an injuries of neck sprain... Some of my friends and car advisers told me is best to engaged a lawyer otherwise i might suffer for future loss... I am not very sure... The main concern is I just wanna get back my loss only.. I have no intend to hire a lawyer for claiming more money.. The main tink is i want my record reinstate back usual.. Hope everyone know what i mean....

I am just afraid that LKK (mindef) not willing to pay me back 100%... In that case should i engaged a lawyer by the time?

Please advise...

Thanks

Man, talk abt unlucky. I was just involved in a chain colision myself. 2nd car in a 3 car accident.

Bloody hell !

take care bro. hope you are ok...

no news from insurance yet... my car still at workshop... now getting ready to be claimed... sianz...

Sorry to burst TS bubble but car accident claim lawyers will easily tell you that under the new agreement from the insurance companies, its no longer the last car bearing the costs of repairs or claims from all cars in the chain collision other than the car in the immediate front. The car in front of TS would claim against his insurance and his insurance company will settle. It will affect his renewal premium next year and depending on the amount, the NCD. His insurance in turn, will claim TS repairs against the car behind. TS can call his insurance company lawyers to verify.

beginning to realise the severity of the matter and the injustice of it all..

I think the van infront was only minmially damaged - think the rear right lamp broke. If the claim is not too high, is it possible for me to "pay" out of pocket instead of allowing them to claim from my insurance? just dun wish to implicate my own insurance and NCD...

another pt which I can try to avoid the front of van claiming against me... the pictures taken at the scene of the accident showed that the van is not fully in the lane yet.. his left wheels are havent clear the lane markings fully. he should be filtering to the lane while the taxi filter into the lane as well.

That's why my car which is fully in the lane, hit his right rear with my left front.

i did not mention this in my report though, but got lots of pics to support. Any chance that i can use this to my benefits? Though not exactly fair to the van, but again the system is not to me either cos i was a victim too...

jus spoke to my insurance.

They said that for claims purposes, the industry agreement is to claim from the vehicle behind only.

For future insurance premiums and NCD purposes, they will assess the liability separately. I.e if for the accident, they assess that i am not at fault, they promised not to load my premiums or affect my NCD.

Dunno how true is this. I am afraid this is just to faciliate the claims administration and subsequently, I may then be impacted when they load my premium or reduce my NCD.

this new system is so unfair and unclear. :angry:

I told them if they are going to touch my premiums or NCD, I will not allow the front van to claim my insurance. I warned them I am prepared to go for legal proceedings if need be.

I will drop them a written note on this issue... in case they play punk...

I have firend who is also like you involved in a chain collision.

His premium and his NCD was affected because he was told that he did not keep a safe distance from the car in front. After being hit by a car from behind, if you keep a safe distance from the car in front, you should not be able to hit the car in front.

Previously I always tell my wife I have enough skills to stop in time to avoid hitting the car in front even if I am close to the car in front. But now I realized keeping a safe distance is also equally important because of what had happened to my friend.

I have firend who is also like you involved in a chain collision.

His premium and his NCD was affected because he was told that he did not keep a safe distance from the car in front. After being hit by a car from behind, if you keep a safe distance from the car in front, you should not be able to hit the car in front.

Previously I always tell my wife I have enough skills to stop in time to avoid hitting the car in front even if I am close to the car in front. But now I realized keeping a safe distance is also equally important because of what had happened to my friend.

i'm sure that will be the excuse the insurance will come up with. In the event of an emergency brake, how can i be at a safe distance from the vehicle infront? Somemore, my vehicle moved at least half a car length. That's was the strength of the impact behind!

that's why I put down in writing that if they are going to touch my premiums/NCD, i will exhaust every means to justify my case. My friend was saying that there are precedent cases despite this industry agreement. So, not all is lost. Just whether we wish to insist to challenge all the way.

This industry agreement is a win-win for insurance companies... they have excuse to up premiums and yet not incur too much legal costs. but it is not fair to innocent victims...

wah bro... almost same case as me....

mine 6 cars... i was the 5th.... all 4 infront crashed liao... i was the 5th and stopped in time... then the 6th came along nd CRASHED into me and i hit the 4th... WTF....

6th was P plate... said sorry... cause i hit my head and was bleeding slightly....

i got my medical claim + small compensation abt 1k + my car repairs ALL FULLY paid and settled by the 6th car in a matter of months....

almost 3years since the accident, so far claims still going on... now the 2nd car is claiming from my insurance still... my STUPID lawyer representing NTUC made me claim 30% liability with the 6th car for the 4th car... i said no way.... but must go court testify all... and the lawyer advised me to just accept... WTF? anyways so lost my NCD (more than 20% will bye bye NCD)... so the 3rd and 2nd and i believe the 1st will all claim from me and the 6th car...

however confusing this is, just remember this... chain collision, it is NEVER the last car's insurance pay all....

anyways good luck to you... [:)]

From my recollection, liability used to be pushed all the way back to the last chap ... but this is no longer the case.

End last year, .. got into a chain collision at AYE (outside NUS, heading towards TUAS direction). Was the 4th Car out of 5 cars:

(TOWN) Nissan March -> Me -> Honda Fit -> 2nd car -> 1st car (TUAS)

Sianz to the max!