Looking for cheap spectacles

Alfisti168

I'm looking for a cheap and good replacement to my spectacles. Does anybody have any suggestions?

Btw i saw this forum: http://forums.sgclub.com/singapore/get_che...cles_14370.html, in it there was this post:

"oh yes . the one at bishan . its near the cheers there .

one pair is only ard 30"

Does anybody know how to go to this shop? And whether is it still around?

Many thanks =)

Edited by Alfisti168

On 4/11/2010 at 3:27 AM, Alfisti168 said:

I'm looking for a cheap and good replacement to my spectacles. Does anybody have any suggestions?

Btw i saw this forum: http://forums.sgclub.com/singapore/get_che...cles_14370.html, in it there was this post:

"oh yes . the one at bishan . its near the cheers there .

one pair is only ard 30"

Does anybody know how to go to this shop? And whether is it still around?

Many thanks =)

Maybe you can try go over to Malaysia, over there should be cheaper ba.

malaysia more expensive. plus our accent will get toked. go look around heartlands, the smaller the shop the cheaper it is, however run down they can look outside. there's one that's cheap in yishun. blk291 #01-365 t:67524112. can haggle. of course there's the downside to everything. cheap good fast, this shop has the first 2 only.

On 4/11/2010 at 4:24 AM, Karebu said:

malaysia more expensive. plus our accent will get toked. go look around heartlands, the smaller the shop the cheaper it is, however run down they can look outside. there's one that's cheap in yishun. blk291 #01-365 t:67524112. can haggle. of course there's the downside to everything. cheap good fast, this shop has the first 2 only.

You sure that malaysia is more expensive? hear say or you kena before?

from my experience, theirs are at least 40-50% cheaper, and with the exchange rate, it's even more..

and I'm comparing the same brand and model.. RM2k with high quality lense, but when I check with Singapore side, it's SG$1.2k just for the frame

wah .. you are looking at 1-2k specs/shades and the TS is hinting(?) he's looking at 30$ specs.

yes, you can haggle, but the time travelling there twice (to make and collect) would be more than the little savings you might get.

well, i went there (JB only), asked about specs, contacts, and oakleys there. oakleys on sale would be slightly cheaper as well, but for regular spectacles almost the same? i would say better off finding a deal here in SG.

On 4/11/2010 at 4:49 AM, Karebu said:

wah .. you are looking at 1-2k specs/shades and the TS is hinting(?) he's looking at 30$ specs.

yes, you can haggle, but the time travelling there twice (to make and collect) would be more than the little savings you might get.

well, i went there (JB only), asked about specs, contacts, and oakleys there. oakleys on sale would be slightly cheaper as well, but for regular spectacles almost the same? i would say better off finding a deal here in SG.

depends on what type of lense and design of frame you are getting but the common ones can be done within an hour

  On 4/11/2010 at 4:24 AM, Karebu said:

malaysia more expensive. plus our accent will get toked. go look around heartlands, the smaller the shop the cheaper it is, however run down they can look outside.

Agree. The rentals, overheads and operating cost in the heartlands are typically lower. Hence, they should be cheaper.

Generally, I do observe that the items sold in the neighbourhood of 1 to 3-Room HDB estates are cheaper than elsewhere as the shop owners won't set ridiculous prices for their items.

On 4/11/2010 at 4:00 AM, Teh6 said:

Maybe you can try go over to Malaysia, over there should be cheaper ba.

I did one progressive lens in SG for about S$680 in neighourhood shop. I did another one for RM600 in Malaysia Shopping centre using better lens without frame.

Regards,

  On 4/11/2010 at 6:49 AM, Kelpie said:

I did one progressive lens in SG for about S$680 in neighourhood shop. I did another one for RM600 in Malaysia Shopping centre using better lens without frame.

Regards,

the price difference is huge

where is the shop can give address thanks

Got all my oaks from Ebay and get my precription from JB. All in cost abt 50% of what you pay in sgp.

Never get yr oaks in Sgp, the price is [knife]

On 4/11/2010 at 8:24 AM, Peabody said:

the price difference is huge

where is the shop can give address thanks

It is just a chain store at Bukit Indah, Optical Arts. I'm sure the prices are competitive in other optical shops within the shopping centres. What to do, Singapore prices are highly inflated. Average salesgirl earns about RM1.2K monthly in JB.

Regards,

Haha you are right. I'm looking for army specs. Haha.

I will look for the yishun shop. Thanks for your intro =D

Edited by Alfisti168

On 4/11/2010 at 10:30 AM, Alfisti168 said:

Haha you are right. I'm looking for army specs. Haha.

I will look for the yishun shop. Thanks for your intro =D

careful ah, the uncle timing abit irregular (sometimes close slightly earlier in the evening coz he 1 man show). so better to call before going down. price is definitely can slash alot one. [;)]

  On 4/11/2010 at 8:44 AM, Kelpie said:

It is just a chain store at Bukit Indah, Optical Arts. I'm sure the prices are competitive in other optical shops within the shopping centres. What to do, Singapore prices are highly inflated. Average salesgirl earns about RM1.2K monthly in JB.

Regards,

Yes, about there.

I saw an advertisement at one of the workshops near Sutera mall. They are looking for a clerk and the salary is RM1.3k-RM1.6k.

Just got a pair of puma from Kwong Shin at Bras Basah, recommend at HWZ, at $300/- with lens. I am a spec. dummy. Duno wat are the diff. Anyway, the last time I got a spec for $50/-

at Iluma, Optical something. Think it was 2nd floor or something. One hour only. Theirs is a in-house brand from $50-300/- frame+lens. But seriously speaking if I were to buy an above 500 sing$ spec, I will go JB. Its cheaper there. Lesser thn that I feel not worth the savings versus time spent IMHO.

Edited by 2bfree

On 4/12/2010 at 5:07 AM, Mockngbrd said:

I got a cheap pair done, $10 frame, + lens, total about $50+

Peninsula shopping centre, basement, near all the guitar stores

I think you can also do it for RM50~80 too in JB (if choose cheap frame and degree not high). Let we watchout for such lobang when I passed by shophouses and neighourhood shopping mall. I don't believe Consumer Products prices in Singapore are always competitive nowadays. Labour and Rental are already much cheaper in JB than in Singapore.

Electrical items are somehow different. Singapore still seems to be a better place to buy. For computer stuff, Malaysia prices are not far away these days.

Regards,

On 4/12/2010 at 5:58 AM, Kelpie said:

I think you can also do it for RM50~80 too in JB (if choose cheap frame and degree not high). Let we watchout for such lobang when I passed by shophouses and neighourhood shopping mall. I don't believe Consumer Products prices in Singapore are always competitive nowadays. Labour and Rental are already much cheaper in JB than in Singapore.

Electrical items are somehow different. Singapore still seems to be a better place to buy. For computer stuff, Malaysia prices are not far away these days.

Regards,

service level is also much better in JB. i usually go to the one at City Sq, opposite mac and beside the money changer.

think it's optical 88. they also have branch in Singapore, so when it come to "warranty" claim, (ya, for spectacle I was surprised as well), the singapore branch can do it as well.