Picanto 3rd Gear April 8, 2010 Share April 8, 2010 anyone living near these wet markets? the HDB has said that there are some other wet markets in those areas. so you dun have to put up with the price increase if you are willing to travel a bit further. pity those stall holders. tougher to make a living. some may call it quits if business is no good ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 anyone living near these wet markets? the HDB has said that there are some other wet markets in those areas. so you dun have to put up with the price increase if you are willing to travel a bit further. pity those stall holders. tougher to make a living. some may call it quits if business is no good HDB trying to defend it's actions. In the first place why let a private entity to manage a public wet markets? We all know Sheng Siong is not going to rent out these stalls without reaping a profit. Wet markets in the first place are supposed to offer cheap products compared to supermarkets. By introducing a middleman, HDB is indirectly driving up the costs to consumers and stall holders. The way I see it, HDB wants to collect market rate rent, but unable to do so when it is renting directly to the stall holders. So the only way is to let these private entities to bid and collect the rent from them. End up they become the bad guys instead. Moreover, any stallholders who quit will not have any effect to HDB since SS continues paying the fixed monthly rent. SS just bears to lost of rental. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dankoo 4th Gear April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 I stay near one of them...the one at Yee Tee...their prices already not cheap before so now...i guess will be worst... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 go ask...read and find out more about sheng siong then u will know why... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Klinz Neutral Newbie April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 HDB trying to defend it's actions. In the first place why let a private entity to manage a public wet markets? We all know Sheng Siong is not going to rent out these stalls without reaping a profit. Wet markets in the first place are supposed to offer cheap products compared to supermarkets. By introducing a middleman, HDB is indirectly driving up the costs to consumers and stall holders. The way I see it, HDB wants to collect market rate rent, but unable to do so when it is renting directly to the stall holders. So the only way is to let these private entities to bid and collect the rent from them. End up they become the bad guys instead. Moreover, any stallholders who quit will not have any effect to HDB since SS continues paying the fixed monthly rent. SS just bears to lost of rental. You are spot on bro!! The main culprit of this saga is HDB (although now try to play angel..what a joke!!)....and the main issue here is why let private entity bid for these 'public' services..Look at Sengkang wet market...another failure and ppl start saying wet market business model is obsolete....at the first place if HDB juz collect the rental directly and take away the middle man...Let Town council manage the market facilities..I'm sure we still can get cheaper and quality gorceries....and Aunty Lucy (aka NTUC) will have hard time.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 if like this...how to make money....how to grow rich....someone tell me that to make money...u don't squeeze the rich....because they are very stingy and in term population...it is not big.....to make money...u must target the common folks right at their basic neccessity....like food...shelter...clothing...that's where the money is.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 HDB trying to defend it's actions. In the first place why let a private entity to manage a public wet markets? We all know Sheng Siong is not going to rent out these stalls without reaping a profit. Wet markets in the first place are supposed to offer cheap products compared to supermarkets. By introducing a middleman, HDB is indirectly driving up the costs to consumers and stall holders. The way I see it, HDB wants to collect market rate rent, but unable to do so when it is renting directly to the stall holders. So the only way is to let these private entities to bid and collect the rent from them. End up they become the bad guys instead. Moreover, any stallholders who quit will not have any effect to HDB since SS continues paying the fixed monthly rent. SS just bears to lost of rental. good pt! but middlemen good and bad. good in terms of mangement of market as outsource to 3rd party and can change middlemen if that one no gd, but bad for stalls. imho, to keep prices down, too bad that hdb has to manage the markets themselves. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 From the many years of marketing for my 2 young kids, wet market is never cheaper nor have fresher food than NTUC. Its a fact when i stayed in sembawang and still a fact now in toa payoh. If you add on the rebate points NTUC gives, Wet market dont stand a chance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 if you lagi add the 5% ntuc rebate which maybank cards gives http://info.maybank2u.com.sg/personal/card...inum-mastercard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 If wet markets are as important to our heritage and national history as the Government loves to say, then rental of wet market stalls should not be charged or set at a nominal amount in the first place to enhance their competitiveness and ensure their survival, as wet market stall holders can never match the productivity levels and economies of scale enjoyed by supermarkets or any large scale retailers for that matter. If freeloading is a concern, then rentals can be pegged to a percentage of overall profits (capped at a reasonable level of course). But it's never going to happen, is it? One thing the Govt is very good at - attempting to have their cake and eat it too, often failing miserably with cream all over their faces. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 From the many years of marketing for my 2 young kids, wet market is never cheaper nor have fresher food than NTUC. Its a fact when i stayed in sembawang and still a fact now in toa payoh. If you add on the rebate points NTUC gives, Wet market dont stand a chance. depends lah. but usually wet markets also no big deal. i go to whichever is nearer or easier parking. in my case now, ntuc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace Clutched April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 good pt! but middlemen good and bad. good in terms of mangement of market as outsource to 3rd party and can change middlemen if that one no gd, but bad for stalls. imho, to keep prices down, too bad that hdb has to manage the markets themselves. I actually can't see any good point or value added of the middle man. Afterall, wet market are relatively simple business. Management only need to ensure a few key areas in cleaniness, hygenie so why can't govt. handle these simple stuff or someone high up somewhere in the ivory tower have think too much and complicated matter and decide to outsource to 3rd party. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear April 9, 2010 Author Share April 9, 2010 perhaps ntuc can go into the wet mkt business. this is to give sheng siong some competition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yooyoo99 Neutral Newbie April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 For the market at yew tee area, nearest market is ntuc if you call it a market.....else will need to travel far, either to yew tee point or choa chu kang central. It is not within walking distance. Anyway, i have boycott sheng siong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 From the many years of marketing for my 2 young kids, wet market is never cheaper nor have fresher food than NTUC. Its a fact when i stayed in sembawang and still a fact now in toa payoh. If you add on the rebate points NTUC gives, Wet market dont stand a chance. I second that. If you want fresh seafood, easy....go to NTUC at 7am. I was advised by the good aunties/uncles selling seafood at the fresh food section. I bought my mum to NTUC recently and saw her the fish...she was shocked at how fresh and cheaper they are compared to those at wet market. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 HDB trying to defend it's actions. In the first place why let a private entity to manage a public wet markets? We all know Sheng Siong is not going to rent out these stalls without reaping a profit. Wet markets in the first place are supposed to offer cheap products compared to supermarkets. By introducing a middleman, HDB is indirectly driving up the costs to consumers and stall holders. The way I see it, HDB wants to collect market rate rent, but unable to do so when it is renting directly to the stall holders. So the only way is to let these private entities to bid and collect the rent from them. End up they become the bad guys instead. Moreover, any stallholders who quit will not have any effect to HDB since SS continues paying the fixed monthly rent. SS just bears to lost of rental. They are following the SBS, SMRT and TIBS route. HDB never study history. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Varoom Clutched April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 Recently like everything also govt outsource. Parking maids also outsource, Wet markets also outsource...tsk tsk tsk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 ...often failing miserably with cream all over their faces. and then they will say, "What cream? There is no cream on our faces, only fudge". ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...