Do you think not so popular brand car dealers will fold up?

Vega

given the current coe quota cut and sky rocketing coe prices, buyers with small budget will most likely go for 2nd cars and those who can spend on a new car will probably go for the more establish brands since it already cost so much to own a new one.

will those not so establish brands (don't want to put any name but you should know who they are) eventually fold up?

dont think anyone will bid $1M for coe lah. can buy F and L liao leh.....:-)

but seriously, i think the smaller brands will fold up very soon unless they go into selling used cars.

fold up representation in singapore, maybe... but it might take a long drawn COE high. imagine a chinese company managed to buy over volvo so they must have pretty deep pockets... a little hardship in singapore might be "nothing" them. smaller dealerships with low profit margins might be at higher risk.

yes. this is exactly what i meant. fold up representation in SG. The sales vol is all controlled by the govt. want to sell more units also cannot.

given the current coe quota cut and sky rocketing coe prices, buyers with small budget will most likely go for 2nd cars and those who can spend on a new car will probably go for the more establish brands since it already cost so much to own a new one.

will those not so establish brands (don't want to put any name but you should know who they are) eventually fold up?

not everyone know who are the not so popular car dealers. got guts to ask, them must have guts to put names.

"First to suffer would be the ultra budget brands like Geely, Hafei, Chery. COEs would cost more than three times the open-market value of these cheap cars."

'Better respected Japanese brands like Honda and Toyota too would do reasonably okay,' Dr Lee added.

"First to suffer would be the ultra budget brands like Geely, Hafei, Chery. COEs would cost more than three times the open-market value of these cheap cars."

'Better respected Japanese brands like Honda and Toyota too would do reasonably okay,' Dr Lee added.

you have listed the brands i dont want to name. ha....

if you want low budget car, you would have gone for used one already. paying so much due to COE may as well go for the more establish japanese brand.

Edited by Vega

it will no longer make sense to buy small car anymore....unless you die die only have that amount of money and need a car...

Dun play play hor....the chinese may produce craps on wheels for now....but they have VERY deep pockets.....not deep enuff....they can still dig deeper elsewhere, and come out with the mullah for big purchases [nod]

if you want low budget car, you would have gone for used one already. paying so much due to COE may as well go for the more establish japanese brand.

no ma.. resale market also price up accordingly....

as for the 2nd sentence, "if coe is so cheap aldy, y not just get a jap car at 50k ??" But in the end, everybody still buy forte... lol

First to go is Skoda dealership. Pricing is totally off, no brand value, lousy design. People who consider skoda will always end up buying a volkswagen. and when i drive pass the showroom, it is as quiet as a cemetery

It depends who is the AD, Kia is a good example. C&C sell like hot cake [thumbsup] , but previous AD had to fold up [thumbsdown] .