Kurty Supercharged December 13, 2016 Share December 13, 2016 NTUC AMK HUB. $32.90 4L MAI TU LIAO basket, I didn't check your post.. I just grab a bottle from a seller at $35.. My area NTUC don't sell such goodies.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear December 13, 2016 Share December 13, 2016 basket, I didn't check your post.. I just grab a bottle from a seller at $35.. My area NTUC don't sell such goodies.. Its ok la. $35 still v cheap. The diff cant even buy you a plate of chicken rice these days. But frankly, does anyone find the recent Shell Helix Ultra kinda 'rough'. Several hiadees also told me the same. These days its made in Hong Kong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged December 13, 2016 Share December 13, 2016 Its ok la. $35 still v cheap. The diff cant even buy you a plate of chicken rice these days. But frankly, does anyone find the recent Shell Helix Ultra kinda 'rough'. Several hiadees also told me the same. These days its made in Hong Kong. that's what I want to know too.. I been using turtle oil, so far, still ok. just find it kinda noisy when it hit 7000km mark, I guess the velocity of the oil has degraded. I tried helix once, same feeling as turtle oil. probably some experts care to share their experiences. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear December 13, 2016 Share December 13, 2016 that's what I want to know too.. I been using turtle oil, so far, still ok. just find it kinda noisy when it hit 7000km mark, I guess the velocity of the oil has degraded. I tried helix once, same feeling as turtle oil. probably some experts care to share their experiences. Agree with the 7000km mark. Some how the engine starts getting noisier by then. Feel the same on other oils too but with Shell HU, the overall feel was even before 7000km, the engine does not feel smooth compared to other brands like Liqui Moly and Castrol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged December 14, 2016 Share December 14, 2016 Agree with the 7000km mark. Some how the engine starts getting noisier by then. Feel the same on other oils too but with Shell HU, the overall feel was even before 7000km, the engine does not feel smooth compared to other brands like Liqui Moly and Castrol. that bad? don't scare me.. haha, I just grab a bottle.. going for servicing on Xmas.. I saw Mobile, they having 5w50 or 10w50, price is like $50 for 4L. Not sure if it's good.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear December 14, 2016 Share December 14, 2016 Mobil one for $50 4L ? Where? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear December 14, 2016 Share December 14, 2016 Very thick oil lor, unless you really cannot tahan your engine oil consumption at 40 because the piston is slightly loose. Then use thick oil lor ...... at a small cost of higher FC lor .... that bad? don't scare me.. haha, I just grab a bottle.. going for servicing on Xmas.. I saw Mobile, they having 5w50 or 10w50, price is like $50 for 4L. Not sure if it's good.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged December 14, 2016 Share December 14, 2016 Mobil one for $50 4L ? Where? Giant, the one at Ikea. Very thick oil lor, unless you really cannot tahan your engine oil consumption at 40 because the piston is slightly loose. Then use thick oil lor ...... at a small cost of higher FC lor .... my current mileage is 160k, not sure if I can still use 40 but I been using since day 1. fc is 18/L as I mainly on highway. is it advisable to go for 50 once I hit 200k? thicker, poorer FC. but more protection to the engine? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear December 14, 2016 Share December 14, 2016 My car now at 250kkm still on 40 lor ...... I used to use 30 one. Cannot find cheap 30 EO, so switch to 40. My engine recommended is 0W/20 to 0W/50 lor. My budget is not more than $20 per 5L lor ....... Over a 15kkm service schedule I need to add about 0.5L~1L. My engine need 4L to fill, so buy 5L. By the time 15kkm, all 5L finish lor. Yes. More Protection at cost of FC and maybe engine response ?? as some said .... Giant, the one at Ikea. my current mileage is 160k, not sure if I can still use 40 but I been using since day 1. fc is 18/L as I mainly on highway. is it advisable to go for 50 once I hit 200k? thicker, poorer FC. but more protection to the engine? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged December 14, 2016 Share December 14, 2016 My car now at 250kkm still on 40 lor ...... I used to use 30 one. Cannot find cheap 30 EO, so switch to 40. My engine recommended is 0W/20 to 0W/50 lor. My budget is not more than $20 per 5L lor ....... Over a 15kkm service schedule I need to add about 0.5L~1L. My engine need 4L to fill, so buy 5L. By the time 15kkm, all 5L finish lor. Yes. More Protection at cost of FC and maybe engine response ?? as some said .... wow.. 250k, where you actually travel? haha, yeah... I also shrink, initially when I got my car.. I was still using amsoil.. as time goes by, I reduce to turtle oil and now shell. Why need to top up? leaking? This SHU, is also suitable for turbo engine? Should be hor, since Ferrari can use, why can't turbo.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apple-Tree 6th Gear December 14, 2016 Share December 14, 2016 Erh ...... 250k over 9 year is OK ba .... All engine got oil consumption de, new or old. Due to a slight tiny amount sip through piston/chamber gap, and most is lost as vapour lor. SHU can use in almost all engine EXCEPT Diesel Engine with DPF lor, too much sulphur. wow.. 250k, where you actually travel? haha, yeah... I also shrink, initially when I got my car.. I was still using amsoil.. as time goes by, I reduce to turtle oil and now shell. Why need to top up? leaking? This SHU, is also suitable for turbo engine? Should be hor, since Ferrari can use, why can't turbo.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged December 15, 2016 Share December 15, 2016 Erh ...... 250k over 9 year is OK ba .... All engine got oil consumption de, new or old. Due to a slight tiny amount sip through piston/chamber gap, and most is lost as vapour lor. SHU can use in almost all engine EXCEPT Diesel Engine with DPF lor, too much sulphur. that's quite a distance, I only clock 160k for 11 years. I didn't know Engine oil will be lost as vapour, I thought only through leakage. since these cheap engine oil start to thin at 7k, should we add something like the STP oil treatment during the servicing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kspchew 2nd Gear December 29, 2016 Share December 29, 2016 I have 3xShell Helix 5W-40 to let go below NTUC pricing. These EO mfg dates are from mid 2016. PM me for more details. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged January 13, 2018 Share January 13, 2018 (edited) Grabbed 2 bottles of this yesterday, for EO change in my 6er & standby refill. Very good deal, IMO. Offer lasts till 25/1, Giant Tampines (next to Ikea). Date of manufacture: Jun 2017 Edited January 13, 2018 by TameDriver 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged January 13, 2018 Share January 13, 2018 Grabbed 2 bottles of this yesterday, for EO change in my 6er & standby refill. Very good deal, IMO. Offer lasts till 25/1, Giant Tampines (next to Ikea). Date of manufacture: Jun 2017 image.jpg wah, I think this is the lowest price I ever see I just went to check in my storeroom, still have three bottles is this promotion islandwide or Tampines Giant only? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic January 13, 2018 Share January 13, 2018 Grabbed 2 bottles of this yesterday, for EO change in my 6er & standby refill. Very good deal, IMO. Offer lasts till 25/1, Giant Tampines (next to Ikea). Date of manufacture: Jun 2017 image.jpg Saw this at Turf City too. Some bottles have Aug 2017 manufacture dates. wah, I think this is the lowest price I ever see I just went to check in my storeroom, still have three bottles is this promotion islandwide or Tampines Giant only? Should be Giant Hyper only. Same promotion at Turf City. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged January 13, 2018 Share January 13, 2018 Saw this at Turf City too. Some bottles have Aug 2017 manufacture dates. Should be Giant Hyper only. Same promotion at Turf City. thanks bro, going for engine oil shopping now! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TameDriver Twincharged January 13, 2018 Share January 13, 2018 wah, I think this is the lowest price I ever see I just went to check in my storeroom, still have three bottles is this promotion islandwide or Tampines Giant only? Ya, lowest I ever seen too. Going to buy some more becos each oil change needs 7+ liters. I happened to be at the Giant next to Ikea. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...