Chorusmaster Neutral Newbie April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 in china starlet XL is free! it is rubbish car now, nobody want! we throw it away! corolla e110 inside 96 is not even 20k! most car is maneufacture in japan but assembly in china, so car in china is most cheap in the world petrol is also cheap because not like singapore china govertment is fair to everybody you must not think like small singaporean man now market is global, you must think like big china man! if you no compete in global then you is die as small fry! WTF are u talking abt? your reply has no relevance to my post at all ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackwind Neutral Newbie April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 WTF are u talking abt? your reply has no relevance to my post at all "you must not think like small singaporean man now market is global, you must think like big china man!" since he said the above, most prob just some confused china man best to ignore him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Legendary Clutched April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 Well I guess this is the only way to reduce number of cars on road Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear April 9, 2010 Share April 9, 2010 (edited) With more people switching to bus and MRT, the profits for public transport companies will increase. Time to buy SMRT shares? its not going to get any more ppl switching to bus, mrt and walking. its just going to prevent ppl currently on bmw from switching to pte transport. Edited April 9, 2010 by Karebu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear April 10, 2010 Author Share April 10, 2010 actually the 1.1 liter kia picanto is not 70k yet... its 61k... http://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_...p;CarCode=10150 hey you are right.... but i refer to Kia's latest pricing on their website.... Kia only increased $2k for their Cat B cars....CAT A remains.... quite surprising as BM and Tan Chong increased in tandem with the COE increase.... Cheers and thanks for the correction! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chorusmaster Neutral Newbie April 10, 2010 Share April 10, 2010 Back then, people thought their salary increment would be 10% per year. (BMW ballon payment scheme) Back then, Singapore's economic growth was touted to be 10% per year and we will reach Swiss standard of living. (predicted by somebody) Back then, scrap values of cars were much higher. Back then, cost of living was very different from now. well same objective then and now. car owners are getting screwed yet again! vote wisely ;) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear April 10, 2010 Share April 10, 2010 well same objective then and now. car owners are getting screwed yet again! vote wisely ;) vote for a party based on car affordability??? even if WP or SDP or watever wins.... you tink they will abolish COEs? so unlikely... longest ruling party of a country (in world history?).... i do not believe that they will lose an election just like that... they ALWAYS have something up their sleeves... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chorusmaster Neutral Newbie April 11, 2010 Share April 11, 2010 vote for a party based on car affordability??? even if WP or SDP or watever wins.... you tink they will abolish COEs? so unlikely... longest ruling party of a country (in world history?).... i do not believe that they will lose an election just like that... they ALWAYS have something up their sleeves... one of the only many factors dude, since this is a car forum , stick to things car related. yea they wont lose , but i feel shiok that i exercise it wisely. understand the meaning of shiok? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear April 11, 2010 Share April 11, 2010 well same objective then and now. car owners are getting screwed yet again! vote wisely ;) vote wisely? there are many people who try to turn this coe quota thing into a political issue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 11, 2010 Share April 11, 2010 vote wisely? there are many people who try to turn this coe quota thing into a political issue. Everything is a political issue. But is it THE political issue? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 11, 2010 Share April 11, 2010 hey you are right.... but i refer to Kia's latest pricing on their website.... Kia only increased $2k for their Cat B cars....CAT A remains.... quite surprising as BM and Tan Chong increased in tandem with the COE increase.... Cheers and thanks for the correction! Pls kindly refrain from misleading Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kohler Neutral Newbie April 11, 2010 Share April 11, 2010 This lead me to think ...it won't be long before they increase the public transport fare as there are need to recoup the cost of constructing/expanding public transport network. Both ways also we "die" lah. Don't know what excuss will they come out with this time around . Probably SBS/SMRT will complained that there are too many passengers in the peak period and they want to up the rate again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear April 11, 2010 Share April 11, 2010 Everything is a political issue. But is it THE political issue? you should be posting this in political forum, judging from your views. you dun like the PAP too, but you should still try to analyse issues from a logical point of view. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 11, 2010 Share April 11, 2010 you should be posting this in political forum, judging from your views. you dun like the PAP too, but you should still try to analyse issues from a logical point of view. Huh? Since when have I ever posted anti-PAP views? Are you replying to the right person? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ky13 Clutched April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 Back then, people thought their salary increment would be 10% per year. (BMW ballon payment scheme) Back then, Singapore's economic growth was touted to be 10% per year and we will reach Swiss standard of living. (predicted by somebody) Back then, scrap values of cars were much higher. Back then, cost of living was very different from now. +1 to this. Back then, a fresh poly grad earns 1.5k to 1.8k on avg. Back then, a plate of chicken rice costs $1.5. Back then, a pack of Marlboro costs < $5 Right now, a fresh poly grade still earns 1.5k to 1.8k on avg. Right now, a plate of chicken rice costs at least $3. Right now, a pack of Marlboro costs > $11. Singapore is becoming a place for only the riches to enjoy. :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 hi one and all.... i suppose with yet another increased in COE prices, Picanto now starts from S$66,999 Auto@S$69,999 which is just a dollar short from S$70k... Forte 1.6EX M now starts from S$71,999 1.6SX M at S$76,999 Auto SX@S$79,999 Forte 2.0SX A@S$100,999??? ($10k increased from the last round) the price gap between the 1.6L and 2.0L models have now gone to at least $20k.... Latest price from car dealers' websites. Comparing 1.6 Auto 1) Kia Forte 70k 2) Mazda3 90k 3) Civic 95k 4) Altis 90k 5) Avante 75k 6) Lancer EX 82k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saycheese78 Clutched April 13, 2010 Share April 13, 2010 +1 to this. Back then, a fresh poly grad earns 1.5k to 1.8k on avg. Back then, a plate of chicken rice costs $1.5. Back then, a pack of Marlboro costs < $5 Right now, a fresh poly grade still earns 1.5k to 1.8k on avg. Right now, a plate of chicken rice costs at least $3. Right now, a pack of Marlboro costs > $11. Singapore is becoming a place for only the riches to enjoy. :( Fresh poly from what course? Back then, Engineering grad earn $2.4-2.8k, Semicon $2.9k Accountants $2k, Bz Ad $2.2- $2.5k (unless foreign bank), General degree $2k-$2.4k Chicken rice $2 - $2.50 with occassional jokers selling $1.20 Today, Engineering $2.4-2.8k, semicon $3k, accountants $2.5k, Bz ad >$3k, general degree $2.6k Back then engineering increment >10% per year. Today 3-5%. Some years, u are lucky with increments. So is about be at right place at right time. All above figures are my estimates from friends. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...