$70k Picanto $100k Forte

Ferraricalifornia

hi one and all....

i suppose with yet another increased in COE prices,

Picanto now starts from S$66,999 Auto@S$69,999 which is just a dollar short from S$70k...

Forte 1.6EX M now starts from S$71,999

1.6SX M at S$76,999 Auto SX@S$79,999

Forte 2.0SX A@S$100,999??? ($10k increased from the last round)

the price gap between the 1.6L and 2.0L models have now gone to at least $20k....

hi one and all....

i suppose with yet another increased in COE prices,

Picanto now starts from S$66,999 Auto@S$69,999 which is just a dollar short from S$70k...

the price gap between the 1.6L and 2.0L models have now gone to at least $20k....

crazy price... very soon, it will go back to the nineties.... even entry level korean car will be touching 6 figures..

100K for a Korean car... Madness!

2yrs+ back 100K can get an entry level Evo X from PI... Or even CTR...

Crazy crazy!!!

But the parf value of the '90s are higher dan today's. Really boh hwa, the depreciation is scary for present cars.

But on a side note, heard conspiracy theory the big cut back on coe quota is to "encourage" mrt ridership cos some more stations along the circle line has begun operations. Some are on trial run already aka free ride.

Whoever doing the planning must have more ideas coming on the way as more circle line stations open up. Importing less cars means less revenue even though the significant increase in coe pricing still does not make up in terms of volume. So the only thing left to play with is erp. Those who wish for high coe prices with lesser cars on the roads will see it happening in a couple of years.

you are absolutely right....

reduced quota of COE, thus higher prices will lead to more people taking public transport....

in the future with more MRT, they will reduce the quota even further....

but with less new cars registered on our roads, gahmen earn less 100% ARF, 20%CD, 7%GST, ERP, Parking, RoadTax, Petrol Tax, compared to preceding year increase....

seems like they are taking a turn for the narrow path???

expect a rise in public transport pricing though....gotta buy more trains and buses to cater to more people taking them....

[shakehead] [shakehead]

you are absolutely right....

reduced quota of COE, thus higher prices will lead to more people taking public transport....

in the future with more MRT, they will reduce the quota even further....

but with less new cars registered on our roads, gahmen earn less 100% ARF, 20%CD, 7%GST, ERP, Parking, RoadTax, Petrol Tax, compared to preceding year increase....

seems like they are taking a turn for the narrow path???

expect a rise in public transport pricing though....gotta buy more trains and buses to cater to more people taking them....

[shakehead] [shakehead]

they take less from car, they suck more from public transport [knife]

where one giveth, he taketh away....

give more trains and buses, take more money away....

surprisingly Hyundai only increase their prices by a little only leh....

CAT A by $2k, CAT B by $4k....hmmm

100K for a Korean car... Madness!

2yrs+ back 100K can get an entry level Evo X from PI... Or even CTR...

Crazy crazy!!!

Maybe the only way is to buy 1 or 2 yr old 2nd hand cars? But have to wait for COE price to stabilize or else sure kena [knife] by dealers?

:wacko:

Juz did a quick check, legacy 2.5 going at 138,500 and double wow, that is like 30k more than the price I paid for. But I doubt this is going to mean anything until I am going to change my car, it's just a feel-good factor at the moment. I bet the current stock from the used car dealers will also be going at a crazy price since the vicious cycle dictates a shortfall in supply of used cars.

I think finally the government is moving in the "right" direction by attacking where it hurts the most, the pocket.

But unfortunately past experiences will tell us that no matter how much more a picanto will cost, there will be a willing buyer.

Good thing is it will discourage the marginal buyers and most existing owners will be sitting on a perceived pot of gold, thus likely a smoother driving experience for most.

Bad thing is, you will see more complaints on used car dealers. Its a cycle between the new and used car dealers. Its time to come out of the rat hole and play.

Where did u get the price list from??? Dun find the updated price list in sgcarmart and onshift.... even KIA website is still showing 29 Mar price list.

But back to this crazy price... I'm so glad I booked a Cerato Forte 1.6SX (A) at end Feb and got my COE at the 2nd bidding in Mar. [:p]

All in all, I paid abt $59K for my car... difference of $20K!!!!

Hyundai agents already said their drop to 20 cars a mth from 400-500 since the COE increased. Wonder how long can the sales people survived these. Imagine no one buying new cars. What will happen to all of those smaller distributors?