Any1 ordered the iPad?

Raining

I'm in Tokyo now and my office bought iPAD in US and shipped here for evaluation.

Its quite heavy to me. So many ppl playing on it,I small fry only tried it for 1min. Will get more chance to play with it later.

On-screen Keypad is good but you can type alphabets only and if need to type numbers must shift key, so its not a full Qwerty display.

Touch sensors are 1st class. Screen is 9.7" enough for a full page view.

Accelerometer is 1st class too.

very slim - you'd wonder how the squeeze so much stuff into it and works beautifully.

sounds good to me ! feel like getting one to play after reading your short review.

this model that just launched is the non 3g version, so no need for mini simcard.

how much you paid for yours in total, ts?

I paid USD$499 for the 16GB wifi model plus the USD$38 carrying case .. plus USD$26.90 service charge from ComGateway... to date no news yet <_<

lol that's the spirit! own a joojoo or creative!

Forget the Joojoo... bloody cheating Singaporeans who embarrass us all. Didn't know Creative had a slate device though. I am considering Lenovo's convertible netbook-slate but will wait till ICD's Gemini device ships.... now the latter is a what a sexy slate should look like!

http://www.slashgear.com/icd-gemini-takes-...ear+(SlashGear)

Heard ipad uses micro sim card which is not available locally.

Then how u gonna fully use it?

I struggled for a while between the 3G version and wifi only model... After much thought, i decided for go for the non 3G ... The micro sim card is a very simple issue, jus trim regular simcard with scissors can liao. or wait for local telcos to launch lor..

Reason 1 is I can wifi tether via my HTC hero. Tested with my netbook, seems pretty much the same speed. Afterall, my hp is with me all the time anyway. the only thing is non wifi version doesnt come aGPS.

Reason 2 is the later launch date and 3G version's back actually jutted out alittle (for the 3G module).

actually...what is the ipad??? Is it a tablet laptop? Or is it an enlarged version of itouch or iphone???? Or is it a pad.... :huh:

Can someone please enlighten me? Thanks!

it is a pad that suck up blood... [:p]

I paid USD$499 for the 16GB wifi model plus the USD$38 carrying case .. plus USD$26.90 service charge from ComGateway... to date no news yet <_<

why not waiting for the 3G model to come out first?

Cannot tahan the wait ma ... haha... if u read my previous post... i can do tethering via my HP too... so get the wifi play play 1st :D

how you do tethering?

Forget the Joojoo... bloody cheating Singaporeans who embarrass us all. Didn't know Creative had a slate device though. I am considering Lenovo's convertible netbook-slate but will wait till ICD's Gemini device ships.... now the latter is a what a sexy slate should look like!

http://www.slashgear.com/icd-gemini-takes-...ear+(SlashGear)

Aiyah tablet for f**k. Get netbook better. Can do so much more things for the same price!

Because I already have a desktop which I'm using as a download server *ahem* mediacenter when I pass my netbook to my mom. Besides I don't need something to type on at home as I can always use my desktop for it or sync it with my bluetooth keyboard for instant messaging when i'm using my desktop for movies, or as a rss and ebook reader when i have nothing else to do.

P.S. For anyone here thinking of whether to get a tablet or a netbook, please google "lenovo U1"

Edited by Elfenstar

i think this iPad thingy is more suitable for those who already owned an iPod Touch and needed it to have a bigger screen.

other than that, you just buy for fun cos it's something new and funky? =P

if not in a hurry, can wait till Apple releases firmware OS 4. this will make the ipad and iphone multi-tasking.

http://www.product-reviews.net/2010/04/08/...is-summer-2010/

then the power of the ipad will be more obvious compared to netbook. imho, it already surpasses netbooks in a some ways, except in the areas of multi-tasking, ease of transferring files/data and, ease and comfort of use (i'm not sure abt young ppl, they seem able to surf in any position..haha).

it might not have a practical use for me, but it sure makes an excellent toy. i may just reward myself with one...or give my wife one... [rolleyes]

I feel iPad is currently neither here nor there.

Not suitable to be a netbook as it's hard to type.

A good ebook reader but overkill

No GPS

Can be a multimedia player but transfering video is the usual pain in the ass for iTunes platform

However, I believe as made for iPad apps starts to grow, the attraction will grow. Mainly on the gaming area....

if not in a hurry, can wait till Apple releases firmware OS 4. this will make the ipad and iphone multi-tasking.

http://www.product-reviews.net/2010/04/08/...is-summer-2010/

then the power of the ipad will be more obvious compared to netbook. imho, it already surpasses netbooks in a some ways, except in the areas of multi-tasking, ease of transferring files/data and, ease and comfort of use (i'm not sure abt young ppl, they seem able to surf in any position..haha).

it might not have a practical use for me, but it sure makes an excellent toy. i may just reward myself with one...or give my wife one... [rolleyes]

I would agree that it would be an excellent toy, but as a netbook replacement, I dont think so.

My take is that for many netbook and net-tops, they are used as desktop/laptop replacements when no heavy computer usage is needed (so surfing, word processing, presentation creation, emails, etc). You can even charge your other devices, sync your handheld gadgets, plug in your external HD and watch downloaded series etc, all without another computer. You can't do that on an ipad. Not to mention that without flash, it can't have the "desktop" web experience that you can have with a netbook (some of these points also apply to other slate convergent devices).

IMHO slate convergent devices are already a niche market, and I think the ipad will be cannibalising sales of the ipod touch more than anything else, while it has opened up the gates for other companies to bring in similar convergent devices as competition.