First time drive to JB

Dragos

hello, i just got a car, and i went in jb yesterday. on my way back from pelangi, i did not see any petrol station.

where are the petrol stations on the way back? searched google maps but to no avail.

hello, i just got a car, and i went in jb yesterday. on my way back from pelangi, i did not see any petrol station.

where are the petrol stations on the way back? searched google maps but to no avail.

There is no petrol station "on the same side on the way" back to SG.

However, there is an Esso station directly opposite Pelangi Plaza.

Good places to go...

1. Taiwan porridge - behind Sutera Mall....just carry on past a little way, easy to find

2. The Japanese place there nice also (is the one with the big Jepun on the building)

3. The duck rice place near to Skudai Giant is good....heading towards skudai, there is a left turn at the bus stop just before the viaduct, the one you go under to u-turn to skudai giant, turn hard hard left, then follow the road.

4. Kind George Cafe is pretty good. Is at the maybank on the left as you head towards skudai, about 5 km from immigration.

5. The nike factory shop near to Jusco Taman University....to get to Taman university, follow the road to skudai, go past the first viaduct, at the second one, turn left...then can follow the directions to taman university.

6. Tesco extra...for bulk stuff it rocks...head from woodlands towards Pasir Gudang, go past the Carrefour, then past the Jusco and Tesco, can see the Tesco extra on the right...lots of things. Then from there can go to Giant Plentong, across the drain from Giant got a good chinese massage...ask for the lady...her fingers damn power man.

Good places to go...

1. Taiwan porridge - behind Sutera Mall....just carry on past a little way, easy to find

2. The Japanese place there nice also (is the one with the big Jepun on the building)

3. The duck rice place near to Skudai Giant is good....heading towards skudai, there is a left turn at the bus stop just before the viaduct, the one you go under to u-turn to skudai giant, turn hard hard left, then follow the road.

4. Kind George Cafe is pretty good. Is at the maybank on the left as you head towards skudai, about 5 km from immigration.

5. The nike factory shop near to Jusco Taman University....to get to Taman university, follow the road to skudai, go past the first viaduct, at the second one, turn left...then can follow the directions to taman university.

6. Tesco extra...for bulk stuff it rocks...head from woodlands towards Pasir Gudang, go past the Carrefour, then past the Jusco and Tesco, can see the Tesco extra on the right...lots of things. Then from there can go to Giant Plentong, across the drain from Giant got a good chinese massage...ask for the lady...her fingers damn power man.

Wow, JB you also can?

Yeah lor...why not? They do let in NZ passports you knows [:p]

The other good place is the curry fish head in Jalan Wong Ah Fook.....near to the gentleman's club.....

The Spanish place in Sutera mall also pretty good...El Amigos I think its called.....

Oh oh oh .... I forgot about seafood city. Dunno how to tell you to get there, but can see singapore from the restaurants...there are three or four there...great food at cheep cheep prices....is somewhere in behind bukit indah (sortof)

Yeah lor...why not? They do let in NZ passports you knows [:p]

The other good place is the curry fish head in Jalan Wong Ah Fook.....near to the gentleman's club.....

The Spanish place in Sutera mall also pretty good...El Amigos I think its called.....

U seems to know JB well... LOL..

yeah... I lucky. My GPS very very good.

Is called the LaoPor3.7 Kay Poh makan fiend.

Very very expensive though, costs two sprogs plus pilotage of boring car.

There is no petrol station "on the same side on the way" back to SG.

However, there is an Esso station directly opposite Pelangi Plaza.

or go to the shell directly after custom lo.. by making a u-turn if u are not sure of the road.

Oic no more liao ah...i've never drove in to JB before even with the old custom. thanks guys. I will try to pump way before i reach CIQ on the way out.

If you only go Pelangi, which is short distance from JB CIQ, then I would suggest top-up at the Shell Station once you enter JB, becos "more on the way, and same side". Just my personal preference.

Got a question.. since no touch & go card, can go by 2nd link? or have to go Woodlands? no place to buy touch & go card in sg right?

The touch-and-go cards can be bought when you enter the JB CIQ. There are ladies there selling them. Just look out for them.

When u drive in and just about to enter the jbee immigration building, 2 lanes will become 3 lanes. When u keep right side, it will become the centre lane. The extreme right for buses only har!!!

There will be a counter for both buying new card and topping up. [nod]

Got a question.. since no touch & go card, can go by 2nd link? or have to go Woodlands? no place to buy touch & go card in sg right?

Edited by Hiphiphoray

For those with good stomach and craving for spicy food...

If reach JB in the morning for breakfast, can go for some nice Otah + nasi lemak along Jalan Berlian(in parallel with Jalan Storey). Exact location @ 1.470207,103.763475 (use Googlemap to search this coordinate).

For lunch, can try one of the Cathay Laksa franchise inside a corner coffee shop along Jalan Sri Pelangi at Taman Pelangi. Exact location @ 1.479263,103.774457 (use Googlemap to search this coordinate).

If you only go Pelangi, which is short distance from JB CIQ, then I would suggest top-up at the Shell Station once you enter JB, becos "more on the way, and same side". Just my personal preference.

oh no...i travelled elsewhere just that last stop was pelangi.

next time i will rem to find petrol stn far before.

I am planning on going to JB with friends soon.. it will be my first time driving a car there.

can some one give a dummy guide of what to do? cause first time.. so kinda nervous too [sweatdrop]

can start with going to tuas or woodlands checkpoint? which one better.

then we to go, what will happen at sg/jb customs

thanks! [;)]

Just wack, no need to scared. One time scared, 2nd time addicted..

However, once cleared SG customs and reach JB customs, park your car to the side at the given lots and proceed to the last counter of any lanes to purchase or top up your Touch and Go card. Those counters have this yellow banner above the counter.

Good luck and have fun~~