COE - it is a system for people to "kill" fellow people

Antlau

  On 4/4/2010 at 10:54 PM, Sohboonguan said:

HDB is country ideals of creating a home for everyone, even the poor.

Car is luxury, it is not a gov factor to create a car owner out of everyone.

House is a need.(Limited amount to roof almost everyone, Encouraging)

Car is a want (limited amount to stimulate the economy, Not Encouraging)

Plus, eligible?

If you want balloting maybe this might works for you.

Earn above 8k for couple,

Ballot BTO times,

Plus one household 1 Car.

Term and condition same as HDB.

and brand and car model gov select, maybe Chery QQ this month, and Spark next month etc.

Random selection of low grade car.

like some time pungol some time woodlands.

plus wait 2-3 years to build.

must ROM before collecting Car.

How cool is that?

Is that what you want for " why not car?"

[laugh] Balloting COE

Below $5k Only motorbike COE or OPC up to 1L. <BCOE = $1k, OPC = 50% of Cat A>

Cat A $5k ~$8k Up to 1L car <Fixed @ $20k BCOE>

Cat B $8k ~$10k Up to 1.6L car <Fixed @ $30K BCOE>

Cat C $$10k ~ $15k Up to 2.0L car <Fix @ $40k BCOE>

Cat E $$15~above Up to you <can submit more than 1 Bid but 2nd successful bid you pay X2 BCOE etc><Fix @ $50k BCOE>

Limited 1 car for $5k~15k Household income.

Must drive car for 5 yrs to resale to successful balloter - you can't get another car unless you success in ballot.... If you can't afford it, GOV repossess - you still need to pay bank loan or declare bankrupt.

If your salary increases to new bracket, you can drive car for 3 yrs and ballot again... If successful, you have to sell car in open market to successful balloter...for that category.

Cannot RENT your car for 1st 3 yrs - if caught, GOV repossess.

This system GOOD ??

Edited by Tigerwoods

It is a "free" market , everyone knows that. If really wanna buy "affordable" cars move elsewhere , Japan has dirt cheap cars but carpark is horrible. Every country has their own way of dealing of demand and supply. Just like the private property sector is not regulated , prices of private property can "fluctuate" according to "market forces". To the garmen , public housing is a necessity but not private cars , the garmen has provided us with "world class" public transport and we have Taxi to support those in need to private transport. So i don't see why COE is a bad thing.

Though i do not agree on the reduced rebates at the end of 10 years but i seriously think COE is a good idea , at least it keeps the car population in check. Lesser people on the road , lesser road congestions.

Edited by CH_CO

I would say the GOV is already saying things very very clearly....

No money go and die...... Go hang yourself, jump down, whatever. If you have no money, just f*ked off and die. SG only wants rich people. Poor peasants not needed.

Whatever peasants can do, FTs can do also. Just import more FTs to replaced peasants....

Celicagt42010 says the core.

Singapore Inc just wants talent, ppl with no talent and poor can whine and just die.

If you want a car then pay for it at all cost and stop whining.

Whining only shows you are POOR and shows u have no purchasing power and should let somebody else who can afford it to drive.

Oh, and no point asking poor people to leave Singapore cos no other countries would want to accept poor ppl as new citizen except Singapore.

So you are stuck here ahahahha like it or not.

  On 4/5/2010 at 12:58 AM, Watwheels said:

After the recent spike in COE, we get to see all kinds of colourful comments. Non of which surfaced when COE was at its affordable levels.

You are right.

Just one spike, and send ppl panicking and all sorts of comments, conspiracy theory comes out, and a spike in MCF membership.

Reading their comments, sometimes I have to agree why the govt need to bring in FT. [bigcry]

Edited by Darthkk

On 4/5/2010 at 3:38 AM, Darthkk said:

You are right.

Just one spike, and send ppl panicking and all sorts of comments, conspiracy theory comes out, and a spike in MCF membership.

Reading their comments, sometimes I have to agree why the govt need to bring in FT. [bigcry]

And the funny thing is these ppl think they are better dan those scholars. Balloting? Pls lah. Although I'm not a scholar, how is it going to work for commercial vehicles? Taxis & Buses fall in that category, think of the implications including those doing business which require transport. Oh, sorry I forgot these ppl only think of themselves to come up with balloting.

wtf?! <_<

On 4/4/2010 at 4:07 PM, Antlau said:

If gahment so keen to limit the number of cars on the road, why not BALLOT?

For comments please.

Specifically, the Govt wants you to borrow money to pay them taxes, so they let the dealers manipulate and monopolise the system. Otherwise the Govt can easily say, before you buy car, you bid for COE urself. No need open cat & deposit & cant get car from dealer crap.

So now the poor car owners take out 10 year loan + incure interest to pay the Govt taxes. This is a WORLD's first...oh and the people are in a LL position, cos the Govt will say we encourage you to take public transport [grin]

On 4/5/2010 at 3:50 AM, Watwheels said:

And the funny thing is these ppl think they are better dan those scholars. Balloting? Pls lah. Although I'm not a scholar, how is it going to work for commercial vehicles? Taxis & Buses fall in that category, think of the implications including those doing business which require transport. Oh, sorry I forgot these ppl only think of themselves to come up with balloting.

wtf?! <_<

I agreed man. Just like what HDB is doing! How do HDB determine who needs flat and who dont? SHould just bid for the units and highest gets the flat. Its only fair that way!

Then those who fails to get the ballot will go to the resale market. And at the end of the day, so long as you got $$$, no issue at all.

This ballot concept will not work....sigh...

Anyone joining the Open Cat bidding?

Rumour heard there is a car dealer just sold off 3x Open Cat COEs and pocket a cool $60k .....

Make me very tempted to join in the bandwagon.

On 4/4/2010 at 8:08 PM, RH1667 said:

HDB, especially brand new are for citizen only.

A flat / accommodation is a necessity, a need, not want

In Singapore, a car is a luxury item, a want, not need.

You will not die if you do not own a car in Singapore.

Instead of complaining, why not think of getting a smaller 2nd hand car?

or how to be more sucessful in life so that you can afford one?

Many of the people here also worked many years ( at least most of them including me, i guess ) before we can afford to get one.

Agreed. Like any luxury item, a car is something that normal people must save enough and also earn enough to afford. Regardless of the system, if it is too expensive for you, then simply don't buy it.

  On 4/4/2010 at 5:47 PM, Alim said:

COE = $$$

Ballot = No $$$

new HDB ballot, so no need $$$? [laugh]

it's a sure bet that our gov will always make us pay and pay.

Edited by Eyke

On 4/5/2010 at 2:42 PM, Eyke said:

new HDB ballot, so no need $$$? [laugh]

I thought we are on the topic on COE? Of course HDB Ballot need $$$ but less $$$ compared to resale HDB. [:p]

  On 4/5/2010 at 2:55 PM, Alim said:

I thought we are on the topic on COE? Of course HDB Ballot need $$$ but less $$$ compared to resale HDB. [:p]

let me make the connection for u:

even if COE were to be balloted,

gov will still put a price on them.

so ballot doesn't mean free, like in HDB.

understand?

sg gov is so very good at milking it's residents.

On 4/5/2010 at 2:55 AM, Tigerwoods said:

[laugh] Balloting COE

Below $5k Only motorbike COE or OPC up to 1L. <BCOE = $1k, OPC = 50% of Cat A>

Cat A $5k ~$8k Up to 1L car <Fixed @ $20k BCOE>

Cat B $8k ~$10k Up to 1.6L car <Fixed @ $30K BCOE>

Cat C $$10k ~ $15k Up to 2.0L car <Fix @ $40k BCOE>

Cat E $$15~above Up to you <can submit more than 1 Bid but 2nd successful bid you pay X2 BCOE etc><Fix @ $50k BCOE>

Limited 1 car for $5k~15k Household income.

Must drive car for 5 yrs to resale to successful balloter - you can't get another car unless you success in ballot.... If you can't afford it, GOV repossess - you still need to pay bank loan or declare bankrupt.

If your salary increases to new bracket, you can drive car for 3 yrs and ballot again... If successful, you have to sell car in open market to successful balloter...for that category.

Cannot RENT your car for 1st 3 yrs - if caught, GOV repossess.

This system GOOD ??

Wahahaha...

That is why bidding system and not balloting.

:P

On 4/5/2010 at 2:15 AM, Celicagt42010 said:

Wah, if limit to 1 household 1 car, the rich will be complaining!!

That is your reason or the balloting vs bidding issue.

Auction COE

:P

Poor Singaporeans are prisoners of the system and most willingly submit, although they can avoid it but most just take the plunge.

People find paying $50k COV for HDB is crazy but paying $50k COE for car is ok. Vice versa.

If you need both car and property and don't want to pay exorbitant amount, you still have your choices.

May not be the best of choices, it is still a choice. If you choose to take the plunge, then don't KPKB.