Antlau 1st Gear April 4, 2010 Share April 4, 2010 If gahment so keen to limit the number of cars on the road, why not BALLOT? For comments please. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sohboonguan 1st Gear April 4, 2010 Share April 4, 2010 (edited) Ballot, gov doesn't earn. Bidding system (AUCTION). Like limited stock. Put on eBay and highest bid get the COE. Simple. And Gov will ask you back. Price so high why you still wanna buy? Plus (BMW)Bus Mrt Walk is so convenience. Why do you need a car? Edited April 4, 2010 by Sohboonguan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nf0rc3r 1st Gear April 4, 2010 Share April 4, 2010 (edited) cos 5 million ppl will ballot every month. Father wan buy car. Wife, Son, Daughter , Nephew, Niece uncle auntie all help ballot. Wats the harm. Win Already dun need juz let it expire lor. Edited April 4, 2010 by Nf0rc3r Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 4, 2010 Share April 4, 2010 Balloting isn't going to remove the cost of owning a COE. All it does is create a blackmarket for it. Everyone will join in and the winners of the lucky draw will just sell it to the highest bidder. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Supercharged April 4, 2010 Share April 4, 2010 Balloting isn't going to remove the cost of owning a COE. All it does is create a blackmarket for it. Everyone will join in and the winners of the lucky draw will just sell it to the highest bidder. If Ballot, then no need COE already. If HDB can ballot, why not cars? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alim 1st Gear April 4, 2010 Share April 4, 2010 (edited) If gahment so keen to limit the number of cars on the road, why not BALLOT? For comments please. COE = $$$ Ballot = No $$$ Isn't this straight forward enough? You mean you still believe in the BS that they are trying to limit cars on the road? If so, why change OPC rules and encourage so many people convert to Red Plate, consuming all the COEs, later then say they overestimated the number of vehicles, then gotta reduce COE? Edited April 4, 2010 by Alim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RH1667 Hypersonic April 4, 2010 Share April 4, 2010 If Ballot, then no need COE already. If HDB can ballot, why not cars? HDB, especially brand new are for citizen only. A flat / accommodation is a necessity, a need, not want In Singapore, a car is a luxury item, a want, not need. You will not die if you do not own a car in Singapore. Instead of complaining, why not think of getting a smaller 2nd hand car? or how to be more sucessful in life so that you can afford one? Many of the people here also worked many years ( at least most of them including me, i guess ) before we can afford to get one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sohboonguan 1st Gear April 4, 2010 Share April 4, 2010 If Ballot, then no need COE already. If HDB can ballot, why not cars? HDB is country ideals of creating a home for everyone, even the poor. Car is luxury, it is not a gov factor to create a car owner out of everyone. House is a need.(Limited amount to roof almost everyone, Encouraging) Car is a want (limited amount to stimulate the economy, Not Encouraging) Plus, eligible? If you want balloting maybe this might works for you. Earn above 8k for couple, Ballot BTO times, Plus one household 1 Car. Term and condition same as HDB. and brand and car model gov select, maybe Chery QQ this month, and Spark next month etc. Random selection of low grade car. like some time pungol some time woodlands. plus wait 2-3 years to build. must ROM before collecting Car. How cool is that? Is that what you want for " why not car?" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged April 5, 2010 Share April 5, 2010 If Ballot, then no need COE already. If HDB can ballot, why not cars? HDB must stay 5yrs than can sell, Car you will have 3 yr itch... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kspchew 2nd Gear April 5, 2010 Share April 5, 2010 As pointed out by many, Ballot--> no $$. Best if gov could change the loan ruling on new car, 50% downpayment, max 5 years and 3yrs for 2nd car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 5, 2010 Share April 5, 2010 After the recent spike in COE, we get to see all kinds of colourful comments. Non of which surfaced when COE was at its affordable levels. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
YellowFlash Clutched April 5, 2010 Share April 5, 2010 personally i think its good...COE goes up means slower growth of vehicles on the road...may eventually lead to lesser congestion, its definitely better than having more ERPs(but they are still building though). If people are not letting their money being suck away by paying monthly installments, they will have more disposable income to spend on other things and lead a more comfortable life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear April 5, 2010 Share April 5, 2010 Hmmm...but I'm the type who wants to keep my car for life. The government should be happy wad! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicagt42010 Neutral Newbie April 5, 2010 Share April 5, 2010 HDB, especially brand new are for citizen only. A flat / accommodation is a necessity, a need, not want In Singapore, a car is a luxury item, a want, not need. I don't really agree that flat is a necessity unless you are homeless. But are those people who are buying flats homeless? Or is it they just prefer to have their own homes rather than to live with parents? They can also rent rather than buy right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicagt42010 Neutral Newbie April 5, 2010 Share April 5, 2010 HDB is country ideals of creating a home for everyone, even the poor. Car is luxury, it is not a gov factor to create a car owner out of everyone. House is a need.(Limited amount to roof almost everyone, Encouraging) Car is a want (limited amount to stimulate the economy, Not Encouraging) Plus, eligible? If you want balloting maybe this might works for you. Earn above 8k for couple, Ballot BTO times, Plus one household 1 Car. Term and condition same as HDB. and brand and car model gov select, maybe Chery QQ this month, and Spark next month etc. Random selection of low grade car. like some time pungol some time woodlands. plus wait 2-3 years to build. must ROM before collecting Car. How cool is that? Is that what you want for " why not car?" Wah, if limit to 1 household 1 car, the rich will be complaining!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicagt42010 Neutral Newbie April 5, 2010 Share April 5, 2010 Aiyah, its actually very simple to reduce cars on the road. Very very simple with COE system. Gahment don't even need to reduce the number or bid. Just set the amt for COE to 150K or 200K. This will allow only the rich people to drive on road. Peasants need to drive? Just rent a car then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic April 5, 2010 Share April 5, 2010 (edited) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maslow's_hierarchy_of_needs Apparently you've never heard of Maslow's needs? car = sex ... therefore more important need than a house. Edited April 5, 2010 by Little_prince Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic April 5, 2010 Share April 5, 2010 If gahment so keen to limit the number of cars on the road, why not BALLOT? For comments please. Say what also no use lah. If you had already missed the boat, what can you do? Go LTA and bite the person in charge? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...