Fcw75 Hypersonic November 11, 2011 Share November 11, 2011 Engine mounting is a wear and tear item. Need to change one. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 11, 2011 Share November 11, 2011 (edited) It's normal for Honda cars. The vibrations are caused by the radiation fan and air-con coil cooling fan. They are next to each other, and they kick in at high rpm every now and then which cause the vibrations. Other cars' design are different as the radiator and air-con cooling coil share the same & only fan. And the fan speed gradually increases when it's required. That's why vibrations are kept to the minimal. It's there but less violent compared to Honda cars. Maybe the fans Honda cars use do not have a variable speed resistor for the fan speed to gradually increase. Edited November 11, 2011 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Techaview Neutral Newbie November 11, 2011 Share November 11, 2011 my honda jazz when the car is stop at traffic light, when the light turn green, the car will look a little choke before it run smooth. Every time when the car stop it will happen. Anyone face this problem? how to repair it? Thank you. Check your battery..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 11, 2011 Share November 11, 2011 Likely engine mounting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear November 11, 2011 Share November 11, 2011 I'm getting this quite regularly now. After the engine is started, at 1500RPM -- no vibration. After warming up, at 1100rpm, -- can feel engine vibrates. After engaging D gear, -- no vibration. What is the most likely cause? Notes: 1 - Car is 4 years old @ 84K mileage. 2 - Last major servicing about 1.5 years ago including decarbonization, fuel injector cleaning with regular 6 months oil change interval. My CV also have this problem but after car heat up ok liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear November 11, 2011 Share November 11, 2011 Likely engine mounting. I guess so too, last time not too long ago also have this problem, ask bros here, they say engine mounting, my parents ask workshop change engine mounting then ok liao, btw what is the recommended duration the change the engine mounting? *Once after how many years* thanks ah bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched November 11, 2011 Share November 11, 2011 The fan kicks in when the water temp reaches a certain temp threshold(95 in my case) , not certain rpm. And it works in the same principle as the Toyota celica that I drove. In fact, the vibration for my Euro R is minimal as compared to celica except when the mounting is worn where the vibration is really bad. It's normal for Honda cars. The vibrations are caused by the radiation fan and air-con coil cooling fan. They are next to each other, and they kick in at high rpm every now and then which cause the vibrations. Other cars' design are different as the radiator and air-con cooling coil share the same & only fan. And the fan speed gradually increases when it's required. That's why vibrations are kept to the minimal. It's there but less violent compared to Honda cars. Maybe the fans Honda cars use do not have a variable speed resistor for the fan speed to gradually increase. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piggy83sg Clutched November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 I have the same problem too... during idling + brake in D mode, the vibration can be felt.. as well as when it coming to a stop and moving off.. when in N mode, it is ok.. these are a few things which I had already done which improved the vibration but still does not eliminate it completely- 1. change trans oil twice 2. clean throttle body and change throttle sensor 3. replaced engine mounting The vibration is really making the drive uncomfortable especially in heavy traffic.. Any advise from experienced guys? im not sure wat car u driving, maybe u can check/ replace ur ignition coil n spark plug. for my suzuki swift, i did encounter ur situation b4. i also change: 1. spark plug 2. clean throttle body 3. replace fan belt n alternator belt (tot got tension so cause the vibration) 4. check on engine mount, still ok 5. replace ignition coil finally solve the vibration. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jackwolf 1st Gear November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 (edited) im not sure wat car u driving, maybe u can check/ replace ur ignition coil n spark plug. for my suzuki swift, i did encounter ur situation b4. i also change: 1. spark plug 2. clean throttle body 3. replace fan belt n alternator belt (tot got tension so cause the vibration) 4. check on engine mount, still ok 5. replace ignition coil finally solve the vibration. Hi, Mine is airwave loh.. I did all of that what you did before include replacing mounting (except the belts)... didn't help.. :( Edited November 12, 2011 by Jackwolf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jackwolf 1st Gear November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 (edited) just drive? haha used to drive a honda civic(5yrs old)..i understand what you mean by vibration during idle... funny..only honda cars got this kind of problems...drove toyota, nissan...never had such a vibration.... Not just drive.leh... have two honda for the pass ten years.. a 2001 civic and this 5 year old airwave.. both honda sucks.. or is it my driving pattern..? haha.. And yes you are right.. alot mechanics also say only honda has this type of problem... for sure my next drive wont be a honda... maybe a merc... bus or taxi.. looking at the COE now.. :( Edited November 12, 2011 by Jackwolf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear November 12, 2011 Share November 12, 2011 (edited) I guess so too, last time not too long ago also have this problem, ask bros here, they say engine mounting, my parents ask workshop change engine mounting then ok liao, btw what is the recommended duration the change the engine mounting? *Once after how many years* thanks ah bro no such thing as recommended interval one. you change only when you feel the vibration especially during reverse getting annoying. not cheap to keep changing like standard wear and tear items. Edited November 12, 2011 by Happily1986 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched November 13, 2011 Share November 13, 2011 On the contrary, the civic feels more refined than my euro r. But then again, tolerance is up to each individual . Not just drive.leh... have two honda for the pass ten years.. a 2001 civic and this 5 year old airwave.. both honda sucks.. or is it my driving pattern..? haha.. And yes you are right.. alot mechanics also say only honda has this type of problem... for sure my next drive wont be a honda... maybe a merc... bus or taxi.. looking at the COE now.. :( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jchuacl Clutched November 13, 2011 Share November 13, 2011 Inspection would be recommended at either 100k or at every 4 years interval. For critical standard wear and tear items such as brakes rotors/pump, tyres, clutch & clutch pump(for manual), timing belt, tensioner etc, it's a must to change regularly at recommended intervals if you want to keep the car for longer periods. no such thing as recommended interval one. you change only when you feel the vibration especially during reverse getting annoying. not cheap to keep changing like standard wear and tear items. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 13, 2011 Share November 13, 2011 my honda jazz when the car is stop at traffic light, when the light turn green, the car will look a little choke before it run smooth. Every time when the car stop it will happen. Anyone face this problem? how to repair it? Thank you. Sounds like ignition timing setting or fuel mix problem. 1st try a new set of the correct plugs as stated in yr handbook. Make sure the gap is correct n the cables r in good condition too. The cheapest n easiest fix. If if solves, then good. If not u need to troubleshoot the more difficult n ex problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 13, 2011 Share November 13, 2011 It's normal for Honda cars. The vibrations are caused by the radiation fan and air-con coil cooling fan. They are next to each other, and they kick in at high rpm every now and then which cause the vibrations. Other cars' design are different as the radiator and air-con cooling coil share the same & only fan. And the fan speed gradually increases when it's required. That's why vibrations are kept to the minimal. It's there but less violent compared to Honda cars. Maybe the fans Honda cars use do not have a variable speed resistor for the fan speed to gradually increase. U joker lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 13, 2011 Share November 13, 2011 I guess so too, last time not too long ago also have this problem, ask bros here, they say engine mounting, my parents ask workshop change engine mounting then ok liao, btw what is the recommended duration the change the engine mounting? *Once after how many years* thanks ah bro U change yr engine mounting when the vibrations get to b too much to bear anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear November 13, 2011 Share November 13, 2011 Hi, Mine is airwave loh.. I did all of that what you did before include replacing mounting (except the belts)... didn't help.. :( When yr engine is warmed up n gear in "N", what is yr idle RPM n when gear in "D" n car stopped what is yr RPM? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jackwolf 1st Gear November 13, 2011 Share November 13, 2011 (edited) When yr engine is warmed up n gear in "N", what is yr idle RPM n when gear in "D" n car stopped what is yr RPM? with aircon on, in N its 800-900, In D with foot brake on its 600-750... very unstable.. u can see the meter up n down... Edited November 13, 2011 by Jackwolf ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...