Ftco 2nd Gear November 2, 2015 Share November 2, 2015 "managed to start the car every morning" Are you serious ? Need to manage the start and stop of the engine like a process ? My former RX7 'suka suka' decide to start or not start for no apparent reason. When it wouldn't start I would first attempt to de-flood it. If that fail, I would knock the battery and components with a mallet that I always carry in my car. Usually work, nothing wrong with the car. My old Mit Galant was the opposite. After I removed the key, the engine continues to run. I knock the battery with the mallet and it stop. Do I need to keep a mallet for a Giulietta ? LOL you may need a sledgehammer! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SalimTan 1st Gear November 2, 2015 Share November 2, 2015 LOL you may need a sledgehammer! Last week I went to see my mechanic friend whom I always consult before changing car because he is the one doing the servicing. When I hinted Peugeot RCZ, he said "you cant find a Japanese". When I hinted Alfa, he refused to talk further like I have just touched on a taboo subject such as his ex-girlfriend or abusive childhood. I believe he has been frighten by something. Speaking of being frighten, I actually prefer a 2-seater car because it has no rear seats. Yes, I believe there are ghosts (I saw) and after watching many episodes of Asian Ghost Stories I am convinced Asian ghosts have the habit of appearing at the rear seats. Everyone should watch the episode about a haunted pre-owned car. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear November 2, 2015 Share November 2, 2015 Last week I went to see my mechanic friend whom I always consult before changing car because he is the one doing the servicing. When I hinted Peugeot RCZ, he said "you cant find a Japanese". When I hinted Alfa, he refused to talk further like I have just touched on a taboo subject such as his ex-girlfriend or abusive childhood. I believe he has been frighten by something. Speaking of being frighten, I actually prefer a 2-seater car because it has no rear seats. Yes, I believe there are ghosts (I saw) and after watching many episodes of Asian Ghost Stories I am convinced Asian ghosts have the habit of appearing at the rear seats. Everyone should watch the episode about a haunted pre-owned car. Without backseats the ghost may choose to sit on the driver's shoulders. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SalimTan 1st Gear November 2, 2015 Share November 2, 2015 Without backseats the ghost may choose to sit on the driver's shoulders. Whoa ! Chrispie, is it necessary to post your message exactly at midnight ? That reminds me of the Japanese horror movie 'Shuttle'. A photographer ran down a lady and then started to have shoulder ache because she has been sitting on his shoulders even since. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theredstar 2nd Gear November 3, 2015 Share November 3, 2015 "managed to start the car every morning" Are you serious ? Need to manage the start and stop of the engine like a process ? My former RX7 'suka suka' decide to start or not start for no apparent reason. When it wouldn't start I would first attempt to de-flood it. If that fail, I would knock the battery and components with a mallet that I always carry in my car. Usually work, nothing wrong with the car. My old Mit Galant was the opposite. After I removed the key, the engine continues to run. I knock the battery with the mallet and it stop. Do I need to keep a mallet for a Giulietta ? Actually, the thrill is in just before pressing start button every morning and wondering "is it going to roar to life today?" So yeah, it allows us to celebrate and appreciate the simple pleasures in life. Like I always tell my friends, it's FUN when it's working. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunburnsam 2nd Gear November 3, 2015 Share November 3, 2015 Without backseats the ghost may choose to sit on the driver's shoulders. lol.....especially if you start to feel your back aching after driving...... Last week I went to see my mechanic friend whom I always consult before changing car because he is the one doing the servicing. When I hinted Peugeot RCZ, he said "you cant find a Japanese". When I hinted Alfa, he refused to talk further like I have just touched on a taboo subject such as his ex-girlfriend or abusive childhood. I believe he has been frighten by something. Speaking of being frighten, I actually prefer a 2-seater car because it has no rear seats. Yes, I believe there are ghosts (I saw) and after watching many episodes of Asian Ghost Stories I am convinced Asian ghosts have the habit of appearing at the rear seats. Everyone should watch the episode about a haunted pre-owned car. Actually....why not get a Honda S2000 it seems to suit your profile well. Dun think any Alfa variant unless a 159 3.2? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear November 3, 2015 Share November 3, 2015 (edited) Whoa ! Chrispie, is it necessary to post your message exactly at midnight ? That reminds me of the Japanese horror movie 'Shuttle'. A photographer ran down a lady and then started to have shoulder ache because she has been sitting on his shoulders even since. Bro, its Thai lah. 'Shutter' LOL... so zhun.. I actually wrote that at midnight. Edited November 3, 2015 by Chrispie 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SalimTan 1st Gear November 3, 2015 Share November 3, 2015 Bro, its Thai lah. 'Shutter' LOL... so zhun.. I actually wrote that at midnight. Yes it was Thai and there was a re-make by Hollywood and not as scary as the Thai version. I went to bed almost immediately after reading your warning about the shuttle thing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saabretooth 2nd Gear November 5, 2015 Share November 5, 2015 Depending on what you're looking for, 120k can do many things The QV is a good car, but there's no immediate 2nd hand one in the market as its very new. a good chuck around car would be your MX5, S2000 type of car. if you want something Conti, The Mk5 GTI is a good hardy machine. can't say much for its looks, but few match up to an Alfa for that. If you really must buy an Alfa, 120k might get you a very good classic GT Jr, low tech hardware and more than enough fun. the 3.2s are powerful but not as nimble. There's a 1.8 GT Manual that's coming up for COE renewal, do it up, have some spare cash, touch it up further, and its a very hardy drivable, chuckable machine that's going to get you a lot of love and excitement, a good bunch of friends and many admiring stares 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeho Neutral Newbie November 5, 2015 Share November 5, 2015 Hi, Can anyone advise if we can fit the giulietta with 18x8J rims and 235/40/18 tyres? I did some research and it seems that the 'stock' 18" rims for the giu is 18x7.5J so not too sure if anyone has done a broader width rim on their car before. I'm on stock rims now 225/45/17. I did a tyre size calc and there is a 1.7% diff in speed and I think I can live with that. Would appreciate any feedback, thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saabretooth 2nd Gear November 5, 2015 Share November 5, 2015 Hi, Can anyone advise if we can fit the giulietta with 18x8J rims and 235/40/18 tyres? I did some research and it seems that the 'stock' 18" rims for the giu is 18x7.5J so not too sure if anyone has done a broader width rim on their car before. I'm on stock rims now 225/45/17. I did a tyre size calc and there is a 1.7% diff in speed and I think I can live with that. Would appreciate any feedback, thanks! Straight answer is yes. but you might want to have a slightly different offset, to move the rims out a little bit, so you don't rub the inner wheel well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeho Neutral Newbie November 6, 2015 Share November 6, 2015 Oh that makes sense. Alright lemme go check it out. Thanks for your reply! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeho Neutral Newbie November 9, 2015 Share November 9, 2015 Ok so I'm thinking of ordering eibach lowering springs and Bilstein shocks from alfisti.net. Before I do that, anyone interested in a group buy? Or can someone point me to whether I can get it locally cos so far the shops I've enquired do not carry these items for giulietta. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunburnsam 2nd Gear December 8, 2015 Share December 8, 2015 Anyone driving the 1.8 QV version? Hoping to get some input for a friend. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jeho Neutral Newbie December 9, 2015 Share December 9, 2015 Hi guys, I have a spare steering wheel cover for the Giulietta for sale. Was taken out of my car and refurnished so its in brand new condition. If anyone's steering wheel cover has scratches or white 'bald spots' due normal usage can consider changing. Selling for $100 which is cost of refurb + a few bucks for my troubles. Pls PM me if interested! Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Honkytonky Neutral Newbie December 15, 2015 Share December 15, 2015 Hi all! please pardon me for I am new to this forum and Alfa romeo. I recently got a 2nd hand Giulietta and i'm loving everyday spent with her. Beautiful engine note, beautiful curves, seducing me everyday i see her however recently,I noticed the car sounds like a diesel engine when idling with a ticking sound coming from the right side of the engine. Would like to check if this if anyone experiencing the same problem and is this normal? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saabretooth 2nd Gear December 15, 2015 Share December 15, 2015 Hello.. Short answer is yes. If its ticking, its normal, if it gets louder, you might want to change to a better engine oil that's more suited to the engine. if its Tocking, then you might be worried. if its Tick Tock Tick Tock, you might want to get out of your car, move 500m away and call the bomb disposal squad... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Honkytonky Neutral Newbie December 16, 2015 Share December 16, 2015 Hello.. Short answer is yes. If its ticking, its normal, if it gets louder, you might want to change to a better engine oil that's more suited to the engine. if its Tocking, then you might be worried. if its Tick Tock Tick Tock, you might want to get out of your car, move 500m away and call the bomb disposal squad... Hahas thanks Saabretooth the prompt reply. Will keep track of the noise. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...