Bringing in ciggies from malaysia

Aimnfire

================

If customs resorts to body search for just a few sticks of ciggies tax, I think SG has already gone to the dogs.

Why they never resort to such behaviour at the airport? I tell u why. Cos if the foreigners r treated like that, they will definitely complain like hell & wil make SG a laughing stock among their countrymen.

Already we r a joke cos we ban chewing gum.

I sometimes see ang mo carry a carton of ciggies in their duty-free plastic bags & customs never even question them.

boh pian .............. their hair colour different ....... [sly][:)]

Hi guys, this is my point of view and i believe i will say the same thing if i were to be stop at the custom.

Fact

What about smokers returning to Singapore from overseas? How will their packet of cigarettes be treated at the checkpoint?

There are no duty-free concessions or GST relief for cigarettes and other tobacco products in Singapore since 1991. Persons arriving in Singapore who bring in cigarettes or tobacco products, including cigarettes and tobacco products originally purchased in Singapore, are required to declare them for payment of duty and GST. This refers to those duty free cig one can buy when u leave the custom for overseas travel. Balance if intended to bring back into singapore must pay duty fees

Arriving travellers and returning Singaporeans who have brought in cigarettes from overseas for their own consumption and have paid duty are advised to reproduce their receipts issued by Singapore Customs as proof of payment of duty and GST when checked by Customs officers. Those cig that we buy at kopitiam is already stamped with SDPC, therefore receipt as duty fee paid not required, unless those mentioned above

I believe ALL foreign cig is subjected to duty fee. If the custom officer let u thru is your luck, but don't take it for granted. But if the custom officer were to ask my to pay for my singapore cig, i will tell him go F**K spider. Please show me the Singapore Regulation in black and white. Don't forget custom officer is also like you and me, just that they are working at immgration, doesn't mean what they say is definitely right. If singapore cig stamped with SDPC still need to be taxed again, you want to tax my car again??? since my car is subjected to duty tax as well when i bought it, now drove into malaysia and back into singapore???!!!

Edited by Micebiker

=================

For a very long time already, SG does not have any entitlement for duty-free ciggies. I was told by a senior customs officer that even 1 stick, we sud declare & pay duty, if the customs officer asks us to.

I did go & declare 1 pack at the office b4 but was told nevermind lah & he sent me away. [:p] So it all depends on the customs officer. His mood good, u let go. His mood bad, u pay.

I guess they also got good & bad ones. Some idiots damm ON. Every little thing also want to catch so can score points with their superiors.

The best is to quit. I saved $300/mth.

For some people this monthly instalment for OPC... Imagine... I smoked since 20 yrs old - wasted $80k, got health problems, now I felt so much better after 1 yr 3mths...

As a former Smoker, Its 99% habit and 1% nicotine...

thats what i've been trying to say. the law is the law. its up to custom officer.

today you bring in 1 pack 19 stick left the custom let you go. next time you bring 1 pack 1 stick left you kena fine.

so the law is totally no ciggy are to be brought in untax. period.

Dude...read thru my posting...in which post I said I say can bring in duty unpaid ciggy ?

I check with Customs and they say that even for SG ciggy...you will be ask to pay for duty and GST when you bring it out of Singapore and back in again. The reason is because they say they have no way to identify the ciggy is from Singapore.

IMHO...this is stupid lor...then they print the SDPC on every stick is for fun ? Or maybe Somalia also has the same marking on their ciggy ? (Somalia Duty Paid Cigarette) ??

This rule is kinda out dated...prior to the SDPC marking....I can understand lah...but now with the marking also cannot ID ??

Hianzz...what to do...We are Singapore...Singaporean.

Fark them rah. The SG cigs is already tax included on purchase.

So whats next ? The underwear we wear also must check and pay tax ? KNN!!! [laugh]

I check with Customs and they say that even for SG ciggy...you will be ask to pay for duty and GST when you bring it out of Singapore and back in again. The reason is because they say they have no way to identify the ciggy is from Singapore.

IMHO...this is stupid lor...then they print the SDPC on every stick is for fun ? Or maybe Somalia also has the same marking on their ciggy ? (Somalia Duty Paid Cigarette) ??

This rule is kinda out dated...prior to the SDPC marking....I can understand lah...but now with the marking also cannot ID ??

For some people this monthly instalment for OPC... Imagine... I smoked since 20 yrs old - wasted $80k, got health problems, now I felt so much better after 1 yr 3mths...

Best post for this thread [thumbsup]

Well wat TS say is true..

Dats by rite but by left usually they will close 1 eye...

unless u sibeh suay like me..bring in ard 1/2 pack kena $200.

That's not suay, that's kum lam lor. [lipsrsealed] $200 can buy u 10 packs of sinkie ciggie.

Quit smoking, Its bad for health anyway not to mention its a waste of money. [shocked]

Like dat...can start taxing all cars returning from JB for 1 tank of petrol too !! hahahahaha....

Since they also dunno if the petrol is from Singapore or M'sia !!

Cars too !! They can't tell if the car is you buy in Singapore or M'sia !!!

Is covered under e Customs Duties Order which is related to e customs Act. N pls no give ppl such suggestions as I prefer not having ppl see my underwear when coming back leg. Mine cheap so paiseh. [laugh]

So whats next ? The underwear we wear also must check and pay tax ? KNN!!! [laugh]

Edited by Seabass_sg

spot on. if they ask,show ur ciggies. opened one bo tax.and onli one pack one person.

That is entirely false. There is no cigarette entitlement at all - opened or unopened. It is just that the officers checking you decided to use his discretion and allow you to go when you have a pack of opened cigarettes. Do not assume that it is ok to bring in a pack of opened cigarettes. The officer checking you next time might not use his discretion and tax on the number of sticks you have in the pack. The laws provides that even a stick of cigarette is subjected to customs tax and GST.

Its not a rumor...if you have duty unpaid ciggy, you will be taxed. Customs can tax you based on per packet or per stick. Its not confirm open pack is allowed in...depend on the officer...if he wants you to say you smuggle in....you cannot blame them. The green area where you drive thru is your statement to customs that you have nothing to declare. Anything that they find on you....they can take action.

On the SDPC ciggy....confirm BS...you can bring back a entire pack of SDPC ciggy and you will not be taxed as only Singapore ciggy has the SDPC marking. If they tax you again its double taxation.

Yes .... tats consider re-importing .. SDPC cig will still need to tax .

I kana lao x 6cig so i know.

==============

Ya I also thinking of quitting but always say later. [blush]

I know the savings is [thumbsup] but more important is good health.

But than what wil I do after some great sex? [confused] Maybe a strong cup of coffee? [laugh]

BTW Ive been smoking since I was 12. Thats a very long time. [:/]

===========

Somalians dont smoke ciggies.

They put a stick of dynamite in their mouth & light it. [shocked]

==============

If our gharmen loses any more $$$ in investments, they wil make all of us wear a mask over our heads with a meter to measure how much air we breathe. Then every month we go to a place & they check how much air we breathe & bill us a clean air tax. [:(]

Ya. Actually, i think nobody knows exactly what is considered safe. So, safest is don't bring. Apparently everyone who kena before has a slightly different version of what is allowed, and what is not allowed. I think they themselves cannot make up their minds..

============

I guess it all depends on the individual customs officer.

In SG almost everything cannot, but if they like your face, close 1 eye. If they see u not happy, whack until bankrupt. [sweatdrop][lipsrsealed]

bro, think u r lucky to meet some kind officer... I kena $500 for 1 open pack of Ciggy...

=============

I pass tru cway abt twice a week & always have at least 1 pack opened ciggies in my pocket & so far, never kenna fined for that.

If they ask, I show them. If they dont ask, I also keep quiet.

boh pian .............. their hair colour different ....... [sly][:)]

===============

Or maybe they scared cos ang moh tor kee? [laugh]